SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 167 (OOP Vogue Couturier Dress)

Viewed 1936 times 
Reviewed by:SBanks
photo

 
 
About SBanksstar
NH USA
Member since: 12/13/05
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/06 8:03 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
I saw this on the sidebar today. Absolutely gorgeous dress! Great review of vintage dress.
4/4/08 12:13 PM
goldenthreads said...
A lovely dress and a very nice and detailed review,
11/20/07 6:55 AM
Grammy Gin said...
How stunning!!! Repeat what others have said but want to add that you remind me of Audrey Hepburn in your outfit. I'm sure your husband enjoys all the turning heads when you go out!
6/7/07 5:28 PM
Heatherrique said...
Classy, trendy, elegant.....
3/19/07 9:09 AM
linny14 said...
fabulous dress (and shoes)
1/14/07 6:37 PM
CarolynD said...
Wow! this dress is stunning. What an accomplishment. You wear it so well. How absolutely great!
8/27/06 10:51 AM
Modiste Madness said...
What a treat that you would share this with us. Excellent everything!
8/24/06 11:27 AM
carnelian said...
Brava!!
8/22/06 9:47 PM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous! Well worth what was obviously a lot of work!
8/22/06 9:23 AM
ACB said...
Absolutely breath-taking, straight off the runway!
8/21/06 7:34 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Lovely. Simply lovely!
8/21/06 7:02 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh I just love that color on you! -Ann
8/21/06 3:07 PM
Queendom said...
Love it, Love it, Love it!
8/21/06 2:26 PM
OP Gal said...
You look magnificent. What a lovely dress. Thanks for the detailed review.
8/21/06 1:42 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Lovely dress: stunning on you: For sure heads will turn whenever you wear this. Thanks for posting such a fine review.
8/21/06 12:10 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Extra special; vintage pattern and vintage pink wool! It's lovely.
8/21/06 11:23 AM
cmarie12 said...
That is a beautiful dress, lovingly made!
8/21/06 9:10 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful dress and what a great vintage look this is! Gosh, those shoes are gorgeous with that dress as well!
8/21/06 7:45 AM
hongkongshopper said...
absolutely stunning! Loved your blog as well. Will bookmark!
8/21/06 4:38 AM
brrmm said...
Woo woo !!! Gorgeous dress, love that vintage style to it. Colour is pretty and the shoes - just wow. Great work.
8/20/06 9:38 PM
cindyann said...
Just beautiful.
8/20/06 7:03 PM
Anne S said...
I love your dress. I had to go to your blog to read the entire adventure. How fun!! You look beautiful in your creation. Thank you for sharing.
8/20/06 4:41 PM
drsue said...
what fun! lovely vintage dress, a classic.
8/20/06 4:15 PM
Stephanie C. said...
A stunning dress!
8/20/06 3:55 PM
maryfrana said...
This is very beautiful and wearable. Thanks for the wonderful review.
8/20/06 2:41 PM
CSM--Carla said...
AHHHHHHH! Thanks for sharing this gorgeous pink outfit--with shoes! You are a beautiful woman! Carla
8/20/06 2:19 PM
SBanks said...
Thanks for your kind compliments! Lusya - Thanks for the pics on the belt - it was still clear, even though I can't read Russian/Ukraine? Now that's the *right* way to cover a buckle. KayY - The finished hips measure about 40", so there's about 4" of ease built in. There are no finished garment measurements on the pattern, either, except for finish hem circumference of 49". I completely understand that "wiggle dress" can strike fear in the hearts of many.
8/20/06 2:11 PM
PhyllisC said...
The vintage fabric is really perfect - that color pink is pretty rare these days!
8/20/06 1:11 PM
deesdee said...
Beautiful dress, you look so chic!!
8/20/06 12:59 PM
AngieC said...
All I can say is WOW! Thanks for sharing.
8/20/06 12:22 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful dress & very elegant. I had forgotten about notches being numbered! ETA, just viewed your blog - very interesting and nice to see a close-up of the shoes.
8/20/06 11:43 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Absoloutely stunning dress. Love that 50's elegant style. Great informative review. Enjoy wearing!
8/20/06 11:38 AM
Linda F said...
What a beautiful dress. And you have a fantastic blog. I have added it to my must visit list.
8/20/06 10:52 AM
cecelia said...
Thanks for an excellent review--the dress looks like it came from Paris, and you matched your accessories so perfectly. I too remember when you could actually buy patterns in actual sizes--I really miss that!
8/20/06 10:50 AM
Riordan said...
Beautiful--and your collar is just lovely--what a perfect dress for a portrait!
8/20/06 10:43 AM
oracle said...
Golly, that looks just "fine"! LOVE the pink ribbons at the ankles, too! Congratulations! Oh -- And I remember numbered notches and the kinds of details you describe on patterns that my mother used to sew when I was a little girl (born 1957). As she was laying the groundwork to teach me to sew, she used to point the notches out to me and explain that the numbers showed the order in which they had to be matched!
8/20/06 10:33 AM
Carolyndh said...
Exquisite dress! I enjoy seeing a "designer/"couturier" outfit such as yours. Thanks for providing us with such a "treat" to view! I know I can't wear that kind of style with my body type, but I really enjoy seeing it on someone who can carry it off well. Very nice!
8/20/06 10:18 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Fabulous! Thanks so much for sharing this with us!
8/20/06 10:09 AM
Kay Y said...
That is one beautiful dress, and a great look for you too (love the shoes!!). I was interested in your comment about the amount of ease in the hip area of the pattern as designed. How much "extra" was built in? And check out the URLs in Lusya's comment re covering a buckle. It's too bad I can't read Russian but the illustrations are clear.
8/20/06 9:55 AM
Olivia Sews said...
Wow! That's a very beautiful dress! I've heard the vintage patterns run smaller. Your pastor's wife will be thrilled to see how great that fabric looks made up.
8/20/06 9:48 AM
MaryBeth said...
Very interesting to see this style brought into our current era! You've accessorized it very well. Absolutely stunning.
8/20/06 9:41 AM
Sharon M said...
Wow! You're going to see jaws drop when you walk by wearing this - it is stunning! Oh, love the shoes too.
8/20/06 9:41 AM
Lisette said...
Very beautiful!
8/20/06 8:57 AM
Tiner W said...
Drop-dead gorgeous!
8/20/06 8:48 AM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful! Enjoy wearing it. I like your choice of shoes, too.
8/20/06 8:47 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress, you look wonderful. Thanks for the review.
8/20/06 8:39 AM
els said...
Gorgeous dress.
8/20/06 8:36 AM
Lusya said...
Very beautiful dress! It is useful for sewing? http://b.foto.radikal.ru/0608/4da3570701bb.jpg http://b.foto.radikal.ru/0608/b5acd39b8f33.jpg http://b.foto.radikal.ru/0608/ab504dd3aac0.jpg
8/20/06 8:29 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Thanks for the informative review, sounds like you enjoyed making this vintage outfit. It looks very elegant in pink and stylish even to today's eyes.
8/20/06 8:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

McCall's 6612

photo
by: j Renee De...

Review

Pattern

New Look 6735

photo
by: poppykettl...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now