Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7919 (Vintage Vogue blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 994 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynD
photo
About CarolynDstar
NJ USA
Member since: 12/31/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/06 11:22 PM
Last Updated:8/25/06 11:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the review. I always like to hear about vintage patterns. You should check out the Threads article on grading from June/July 2002. Its very informative.
8/25/06 11:35 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I used to laothe back neck facings, which always flopped out no matter how much understitching I did. Then I read that RTW facings are much deeper - 6-8", and started cutting mine that way too. What a difference - the weight (and probably friction) of the extra fabric keeps them totally in place.
8/26/06 2:52 AM
bunz said...
If you don't already have David Coffin's book on shirtmaking, I highly recommend it.
8/26/06 4:31 AM
SBanks said...
Your shirt is cute! It's nice to see others sewing vintage. I think your review is accurate and a lot of us who sew vintage do make changes in construction based on ease of construction or personal preference. I know it keeps me fresh and learning something new.
8/26/06 5:58 AM
OP Gal said...
Your shirt certainly looks pretty. Too bad it doesn't fit well. I think the key is to select a size that fits the upper bust measurement and then make any adjustments from there. Because if it doesn't fit through the upper chest, it isn't going to look good. You're not alone, Carolyn, we all learn something every time we sew a garment. That's what is so great about sewing, every garment is different and there's aways a new challenge.
8/26/06 7:52 AM
carolynw said...
It looks so nice - too bad it isn't a good fit but am sure as you say it will look cute with jeans - how about belting it over a long straight skirt?
8/26/06 8:51 AM
Erica B. said...
its a very cute top.
8/26/06 8:56 AM
drsue said...
Interesting pattern and it looks like you did a nice job on construction. It's harder to alter something with fewer pattern pieces like this blouse than something with more.
8/26/06 12:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 3629
photo
Review by Princess A... on 12/5/10
Read Review

Burda 6923 Pattern
Burda 6923 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8925 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8925 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Can Make This No Tie Apron No Tie Apron
photo
Review by Pj3g on 4/5/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us