SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Wedding Chuppah Cloth (Wedding Chuppah Cloth)

Viewed 1952 times 
Reviewed by:slee
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sleestar
VA USA
Member since: 9/27/02
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/06 11:50 PM
Last Updated:8/17/08 11:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
luvzdogz said...
That is really gorgeous - maybe it is something they can keep after the wedding. The reds are very rich - great job!
9/2/06 0:06 AM
daff said...
That is SO GORGEOUS! What a special, heirloom piece for a wedding!
9/2/06 0:08 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Such a wonderful and beautiful memory for your special day!! Mazeltov!
9/2/06 0:28 AM
beth5646 said...
I think it is very pretty, but what is a chuppah cloth used for?
9/2/06 1:19 AM
patsijean said...
You must have felt a little extra special standing underneath the Chuppah Cloth knowing that you and your aunt made it. It is beautiful. For Holidays you could use the Cloth on your buffet (I would protect it with a piece of glass cut to the table's size), or you could hang or drape for display on holidays. It could hang like a canopy within a frame, but may not hang well if hung vertically. However you use it, it will be lovely.
9/2/06 1:51 AM
slee said...
Thanks everyone. Beth5646, a chuppah cloth tied to 4 poles is used as a canopy in a Jewish wedding. The bride and groom stand underneath the cloth during the ceremony. My husband is Jewish and I am Chinese. The color red is very prominent in Chinese weddings, it symbolizes love, joy, good luck, & happiness, so I incorporated both of our backgrounds together in our wedding.
9/2/06 6:29 AM
MaryBeth said...
Another great "Ritual Cloth"!
9/2/06 8:35 AM
Merry G said...
Beautiful...do hang it... : )
9/2/06 8:41 AM
cathy45 said...
THis is so beautiful. What a wonderful way to bring part of both your cultures into the ceremony.
9/2/06 9:37 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful chuppa cloth. Very creative and ingenious. May you have many years of wedded bliss.
9/2/06 10:02 AM
Modiste Madness said...
The picture opened and I thought, "That is absolutely beautiful." I love the red and flowers on the poles. I think you couldn't help be extra happy standing under it.
9/2/06 10:46 AM
bunz said...
OMG - that is soooo gorgeous!! Mazel-tov:-) Thank you for sharing it with us.
9/2/06 2:48 PM
Nancy K said...
This is so beautiful. My son is getting married next summer, perhaps this is something they would like. Thanks for sharing this with us
9/2/06 3:10 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is so lovely!
9/2/06 3:32 PM
Linda E. said...
beautiful red.. love the Chuppah Cloth...
9/2/06 9:14 PM
blue mooney said...
What a great idea!
9/3/06 7:20 AM
kv said...
that is a gorgeous chuppah! why not loan it out to other kallahs for their weddings? It would make a nice canopy over your bed, too.
9/3/06 11:34 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful!!!
9/3/06 8:25 PM
Annette1 said...
What a WONDERFUL keepsake you now have from your wedding. It's GORGEOUS! I would have never thought of hanging it over the bed, but that WOULD be really pretty. On another note, about a year ago I was at a surprise birthday party, and the lady who was sitting at the table next to me had one of those seatbelt purses. It was SO nice! I've wanted one ever since -- ha! And on ANOTHER note (you're probably thinking, is she ever going to shut up?), I wish you'd post a picture of you in your wedding dress, too!
8/17/08 3:16 PM
Nancy K said...
I sent this on to my dil last year and her mother made this in the silks that dil had brought back from China. It was just wonderful. Thank you so much for posting this. They just lent it to a friend for her wedding yesterday and they use it as a wall hanging. A wonderful piece of art for the wall. My sil ended up finishing the edges and she sewed in loops to hang this on the wall.
8/18/08 8:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Other 102497641

photo
by: Terri A

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-135

photo
by: Merche

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now