Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Wedding Chuppah Cloth (Wedding Chuppah Cloth) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 1952 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:slee
photo
Friend of PR
About sleestar
VA USA
Member since: 9/27/02
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/06 11:50 PM
Last Updated:8/17/08 11:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
luvzdogz said...
That is really gorgeous - maybe it is something they can keep after the wedding. The reds are very rich - great job!
9/2/06 0:06 AM
daff said...
That is SO GORGEOUS! What a special, heirloom piece for a wedding!
9/2/06 0:08 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Such a wonderful and beautiful memory for your special day!! Mazeltov!
9/2/06 0:28 AM
beth5646 said...
I think it is very pretty, but what is a chuppah cloth used for?
9/2/06 1:19 AM
patsijean said...
You must have felt a little extra special standing underneath the Chuppah Cloth knowing that you and your aunt made it. It is beautiful. For Holidays you could use the Cloth on your buffet (I would protect it with a piece of glass cut to the table's size), or you could hang or drape for display on holidays. It could hang like a canopy within a frame, but may not hang well if hung vertically. However you use it, it will be lovely.
9/2/06 1:51 AM
slee said...
Thanks everyone. Beth5646, a chuppah cloth tied to 4 poles is used as a canopy in a Jewish wedding. The bride and groom stand underneath the cloth during the ceremony. My husband is Jewish and I am Chinese. The color red is very prominent in Chinese weddings, it symbolizes love, joy, good luck, & happiness, so I incorporated both of our backgrounds together in our wedding.
9/2/06 6:29 AM
MaryBeth said...
Another great "Ritual Cloth"!
9/2/06 8:35 AM
Merry G said...
Beautiful...do hang it... : )
9/2/06 8:41 AM
cathy45 said...
THis is so beautiful. What a wonderful way to bring part of both your cultures into the ceremony.
9/2/06 9:37 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful chuppa cloth. Very creative and ingenious. May you have many years of wedded bliss.
9/2/06 10:02 AM
Modiste Madness said...
The picture opened and I thought, "That is absolutely beautiful." I love the red and flowers on the poles. I think you couldn't help be extra happy standing under it.
9/2/06 10:46 AM
bunz said...
OMG - that is soooo gorgeous!! Mazel-tov:-) Thank you for sharing it with us.
9/2/06 2:48 PM
Nancy K said...
This is so beautiful. My son is getting married next summer, perhaps this is something they would like. Thanks for sharing this with us
9/2/06 3:10 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is so lovely!
9/2/06 3:32 PM
Linda E. said...
beautiful red.. love the Chuppah Cloth...
9/2/06 9:14 PM
blue mooney said...
What a great idea!
9/3/06 7:20 AM
kv said...
that is a gorgeous chuppah! why not loan it out to other kallahs for their weddings? It would make a nice canopy over your bed, too.
9/3/06 11:34 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful!!!
9/3/06 8:25 PM
Annette1 said...
What a WONDERFUL keepsake you now have from your wedding. It's GORGEOUS! I would have never thought of hanging it over the bed, but that WOULD be really pretty. On another note, about a year ago I was at a surprise birthday party, and the lady who was sitting at the table next to me had one of those seatbelt purses. It was SO nice! I've wanted one ever since -- ha! And on ANOTHER note (you're probably thinking, is she ever going to shut up?), I wish you'd post a picture of you in your wedding dress, too!
8/17/08 3:16 PM
Nancy K said...
I sent this on to my dil last year and her mother made this in the silks that dil had brought back from China. It was just wonderful. Thank you so much for posting this. They just lent it to a friend for her wedding yesterday and they use it as a wall hanging. A wonderful piece of art for the wall. My sil ended up finishing the edges and she sewed in loops to hang this on the wall.
8/18/08 8:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 7871 dresses
photo
Review by Toozie on 4/16/08
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8648 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by NVK on 12/18/12
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1660 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1660 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us