Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4109 (Built By Wendy Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2168 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/06 11:22 PM
Last Updated:10/6/06 9:08 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
I like it, especially those pockets, your use of ultrasuede & the cuffs. Great style on you and nice fit. Did you make a muslin or any alterations?
9/2/06 11:33 PM
Seaspur said...
Love your jacket! I have the pattern cutout and am thinking about making it in cream corduroy. Thanks for the review.
9/2/06 11:36 PM
lmg said...
mClones: I did not make a muslin or alter other than to petite it at the waist and narrow the back which I do to every pattern.
9/2/06 11:43 PM
touran said...
What a good looking jacket. I love the ultrasuede details.
9/3/06 0:57 AM
Patzee said...
This is just the type of jacket I could use. Thanks for the helpful review!
9/3/06 1:51 AM
CarolynGM said...
Perfect casual jacket. I like your buttons and contrast cuffs.
9/3/06 6:50 AM
OP Gal said...
A great review. I love the use of the contrasting fabric for the cuffs and the contrasting topstitching.
9/3/06 8:23 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Looks like the perfect casual jacket, and I love the details you added. Re: the facings. One of Nancy Zieman's books suggests cutting the front facings in an unlined jacket so that they are shoulder width at the top, above the bustline. That way they are included in the armhole seam and won't flap. Maybe next time this change would work. There is a next time, isn't there? This jacket is too cute and versatile to make only once.
9/3/06 8:24 AM
carolynw said...
Nice jacket - looks really good on you - am adding pattern to my "coats to make" stash - can't have too many of them!!
9/3/06 9:13 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Thanks for making this up in denim! My mom bought a jacket recently at Gap that has a similar style and wanted to make one up like this. Your version looks great.
9/3/06 12:09 PM
Sharon M said...
I like it! I passed on this pattern previously, but I've changed my mind after seeing yours.
9/3/06 2:15 PM
cathy45 said...
Love the lines on this jacket! I've passed it by many times seeing only to cropped jacket in the pattern pics foreground. But this jacket is wonderful! Love your large buttons.
9/3/06 2:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
So stylish for a fun casual jacket. love those buttons.
9/5/06 10:47 AM
SarahWeb said...
I love your jacket. I'm going to have to check out the "built by Wendy" patterns.
9/6/06 11:43 AM
casken said...
Very nice jacket! I love your details. Thank you for your review.
10/7/06 0:13 AM
candyo said...
I like yours much better than the envelope photos.
10/7/06 9:07 AM
sewkal said...
Wow, I really like your boucle jacket. It looks just like the ones that are in all the fashion magazines right now!
10/7/06 9:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
It's amazing what a difference fabric makes. Same jacket pattern, two different views and they totally look like two different jackets. Great job.
10/7/06 10:50 AM
bunz said...
Gorgeous!!!!
10/7/06 6:33 PM
cindy-lou said...
That is one hip jacket. Beautiful!
12/7/06 1:58 PM
Athene said...
Your green jacket picture popped up on the side bar when I was reading reviews tonight . It looked so pretty I had to read the review. Great results with both jackets - the newer green version and the older denim version.
11/12/08 2:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Burda 7825 Skirt and top
photo
Review by JenHSchill... on 8/27/10
Read Review

Vogue 1152 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1152 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5507 Pattern( Size One Size )
Butterick 5507 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6000
photo
Review by nothy lane on 2/23/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us