SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4109 (Built By Wendy Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 2171 times 
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/06 11:22 PM
Last Updated:10/6/06 9:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Your green jacket picture popped up on the side bar when I was reading reviews tonight . It looked so pretty I had to read the review. Great results with both jackets - the newer green version and the older denim version.
11/12/08 2:47 AM
cindy-lou said...
That is one hip jacket. Beautiful!
12/7/06 1:58 PM
bunz said...
Gorgeous!!!!
10/7/06 6:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
It's amazing what a difference fabric makes. Same jacket pattern, two different views and they totally look like two different jackets. Great job.
10/7/06 10:50 AM
sewkal said...
Wow, I really like your boucle jacket. It looks just like the ones that are in all the fashion magazines right now!
10/7/06 9:25 AM
candyo said...
I like yours much better than the envelope photos.
10/7/06 9:07 AM
casken said...
Very nice jacket! I love your details. Thank you for your review.
10/7/06 0:13 AM
SarahWeb said...
I love your jacket. I'm going to have to check out the "built by Wendy" patterns.
9/6/06 11:43 AM
Elemenopeo said...
So stylish for a fun casual jacket. love those buttons.
9/5/06 10:47 AM
cathy45 said...
Love the lines on this jacket! I've passed it by many times seeing only to cropped jacket in the pattern pics foreground. But this jacket is wonderful! Love your large buttons.
9/3/06 2:56 PM
Sharon M said...
I like it! I passed on this pattern previously, but I've changed my mind after seeing yours.
9/3/06 2:15 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Thanks for making this up in denim! My mom bought a jacket recently at Gap that has a similar style and wanted to make one up like this. Your version looks great.
9/3/06 12:09 PM
carolynw said...
Nice jacket - looks really good on you - am adding pattern to my "coats to make" stash - can't have too many of them!!
9/3/06 9:13 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Looks like the perfect casual jacket, and I love the details you added. Re: the facings. One of Nancy Zieman's books suggests cutting the front facings in an unlined jacket so that they are shoulder width at the top, above the bustline. That way they are included in the armhole seam and won't flap. Maybe next time this change would work. There is a next time, isn't there? This jacket is too cute and versatile to make only once.
9/3/06 8:24 AM
OP Gal said...
A great review. I love the use of the contrasting fabric for the cuffs and the contrasting topstitching.
9/3/06 8:23 AM
CarolynGM said...
Perfect casual jacket. I like your buttons and contrast cuffs.
9/3/06 6:50 AM
Patzee said...
This is just the type of jacket I could use. Thanks for the helpful review!
9/3/06 1:51 AM
touran said...
What a good looking jacket. I love the ultrasuede details.
9/3/06 0:57 AM
lmg said...
mClones: I did not make a muslin or alter other than to petite it at the waist and narrow the back which I do to every pattern.
9/2/06 11:43 PM
Seaspur said...
Love your jacket! I have the pattern cutout and am thinking about making it in cream corduroy. Thanks for the review.
9/2/06 11:36 PM
mClones said...
I like it, especially those pockets, your use of ultrasuede & the cuffs. Great style on you and nice fit. Did you make a muslin or any alterations?
9/2/06 11:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

More Info
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

More Info