SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4109 (Built By Wendy Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 2169 times 
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/06 11:22 PM
Last Updated:10/6/06 9:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
I like it, especially those pockets, your use of ultrasuede & the cuffs. Great style on you and nice fit. Did you make a muslin or any alterations?
9/2/06 11:33 PM
Seaspur said...
Love your jacket! I have the pattern cutout and am thinking about making it in cream corduroy. Thanks for the review.
9/2/06 11:36 PM
lmg said...
mClones: I did not make a muslin or alter other than to petite it at the waist and narrow the back which I do to every pattern.
9/2/06 11:43 PM
touran said...
What a good looking jacket. I love the ultrasuede details.
9/3/06 0:57 AM
Patzee said...
This is just the type of jacket I could use. Thanks for the helpful review!
9/3/06 1:51 AM
CarolynGM said...
Perfect casual jacket. I like your buttons and contrast cuffs.
9/3/06 6:50 AM
OP Gal said...
A great review. I love the use of the contrasting fabric for the cuffs and the contrasting topstitching.
9/3/06 8:23 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Looks like the perfect casual jacket, and I love the details you added. Re: the facings. One of Nancy Zieman's books suggests cutting the front facings in an unlined jacket so that they are shoulder width at the top, above the bustline. That way they are included in the armhole seam and won't flap. Maybe next time this change would work. There is a next time, isn't there? This jacket is too cute and versatile to make only once.
9/3/06 8:24 AM
carolynw said...
Nice jacket - looks really good on you - am adding pattern to my "coats to make" stash - can't have too many of them!!
9/3/06 9:13 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Thanks for making this up in denim! My mom bought a jacket recently at Gap that has a similar style and wanted to make one up like this. Your version looks great.
9/3/06 12:09 PM
Sharon M said...
I like it! I passed on this pattern previously, but I've changed my mind after seeing yours.
9/3/06 2:15 PM
cathy45 said...
Love the lines on this jacket! I've passed it by many times seeing only to cropped jacket in the pattern pics foreground. But this jacket is wonderful! Love your large buttons.
9/3/06 2:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
So stylish for a fun casual jacket. love those buttons.
9/5/06 10:47 AM
SarahWeb said...
I love your jacket. I'm going to have to check out the "built by Wendy" patterns.
9/6/06 11:43 AM
casken said...
Very nice jacket! I love your details. Thank you for your review.
10/7/06 0:13 AM
candyo said...
I like yours much better than the envelope photos.
10/7/06 9:07 AM
sewkal said...
Wow, I really like your boucle jacket. It looks just like the ones that are in all the fashion magazines right now!
10/7/06 9:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
It's amazing what a difference fabric makes. Same jacket pattern, two different views and they totally look like two different jackets. Great job.
10/7/06 10:50 AM
bunz said...
Gorgeous!!!!
10/7/06 6:33 PM
cindy-lou said...
That is one hip jacket. Beautiful!
12/7/06 1:58 PM
Athene said...
Your green jacket picture popped up on the side bar when I was reading reviews tonight . It looked so pretty I had to read the review. Great results with both jackets - the newer green version and the older denim version.
11/12/08 2:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

My Image Magazine M1152

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Other Hospital Doll

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now