Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4124 (Knit tunics) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1462 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/06 3:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Great-looking top! Do you think this pattern would work if one has a large rib cage? I see it's a bit fitted there.
9/7/06 4:05 PM
Carol Ch said...
I love your top, very pretty especially the color. Thanks so much for reviewing this pattern. It is sitting on my cutting table where it has been waiting for a couple of weeks because I have been a little afraid of the front band.
9/7/06 4:09 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
I love how coordinate the color of the top with the flowers underneath in your photo.Composition is clearly one of your strengths! I just got this pattern and I'm ready to give it a shot very soon.
9/7/06 4:13 PM
Linda F said...
stunning! I love it! I always love your photos taken in the garden. What will you do for the winter shots?!
9/7/06 4:17 PM
jnamcd said...
I like yours better than the pattern photos! Turned out beautiful and great review!
9/7/06 4:42 PM
Dale C said...
That's a cute top. I wouldn't have thought an empire line would work here, but it came out great.
9/7/06 5:30 PM
frame said...
Your top looks great. The color is beautiful. Thanks for this review.
9/7/06 5:46 PM
squirrellypoo said...
That's really nice, and it would be soooo versatile! I could see about five of these making their home in my wardrobe, in various colours and contrasting bands!
9/7/06 5:52 PM
rosephreak said...
Someone else beat me to it - i was going to comment on how you chose your clothing to coordinate with your roses - that's something I'd do! Lovely top.
9/7/06 6:08 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Really nice top Lori.
9/7/06 6:30 PM
carolynw said...
Lori - beautiful top - am going to go for this as with the gathers in the front it should enhance my 'ahem' lack of frontage LOL. Love the colour you chose - should be dynamite on you.
9/7/06 6:42 PM
sewfan said...
Beautiful top! I agree that yours looks much better than the pattern photo.
9/7/06 7:00 PM
christine A said...
beautiful top. I too have this pattern and have yet to make it. I am glad to see it looks so nice in a plain knit!
9/7/06 7:15 PM
Nata said...
Lori, your tunic is lovely.
9/7/06 7:29 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking tunic.
9/8/06 0:02 AM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the wonderful comments. I am enjoying taking the pictures outside. time2sew - winter, oh, don't want to think about it! Maybe save all my pictures and do them in the snow, that would be pretty.
9/8/06 7:04 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top. It doesn't need embellishment--it looks beautiful the way it is.
9/8/06 7:09 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I like you unembellished verson and the shade of red you used. I don't think it needs anything to make it look striking. Your top looks really good.
9/9/06 9:55 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Ohhhh, I like that. I think dd's would like it too! Another example of someone here creating something more attractive than the pattern envelope!
9/9/06 2:16 PM
KAB said...
Very stylish knit top (hardly a tunic, with its great fitting). I too like the front plain as it emphasizes your precise needlework.
9/9/06 3:27 PM
Kinesis said...
Wow, fabulous top. Yours looks much better than the one illustrated on the pattern sleeve! The finish around the band on the front is impeccable - very professional-looking. You've done a brilliant job.
9/10/06 9:20 PM
Stacy Sews said...
This is a fantastic looking top - much better than the pattern photo! Thanks for doing a review on this, I'm going to have to check it out now!
9/12/06 9:06 AM
*Jessica* said...
nice. i like this style. i think it looks lovely.
10/29/06 10:16 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I really like your top Lori! I just bought this pattern yesterday and I look forward to making it up (hopefully this week).
11/12/06 6:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick 5348
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 8/14/09
Read Review

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4634 year 1958
photo
Review by Kellie R. on 1/31/10
Read Review

Butterick 5883 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5883 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6029 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 6029 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us