Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8411 - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 969 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/06 2:24 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
I think these pants are more than "pretty OK." They really look sharp. When I saw your picture I thought "darn, I'm going to have to go off my pattern diet again!" The fit really looks great. Nice work despite being in a bad mood.
9/13/06 2:44 PM
Elona said...
Nice-looking pants! One wouldn't guess this was your first pair of Burdas. About your questions concerning the crotch fit ("I found the back crotch came forward quite a bit more than I am accustomed to - "), this is indeed a characteristic of Burda pants, and I think it is part of the reason that you so seldom see "camel-toe" or "smiles" with Burdas: That forward extension of the back crotch curve aids with the nice, smooth, "skirting" effect so evident on your pants front. Your back view, btw, looks fine--not in the least too tight, but you are correct in that Burda pants generally fit more snugly everywhere from waist to below the hip, even when one scrupulously follows their measurement chart.
9/13/06 3:09 PM
Erica B. said...
those pants are wonderful and they look great on you. I love the wider legs (I'm making a pair right now), they balance out my hips.
9/13/06 3:10 PM
Physics Girl said...
From the pics, and if it's comfy, I'd say it's GREAT! Don't take this the wrong way, but I really thought -- "What a nice-looking crotch... :)... I need to pull out my untried OOP Burda pants patterns!"
9/13/06 3:33 PM
Mermie said...
Your pants look great! I'd be very happy with the fit of these. They look great on you.
9/13/06 3:36 PM
moushka said...
Your pants are fantastic - wonderfully flattering. I agree with Elona about the Burda forward crotch point: it's what makes for such a great fit over the rear. Most women carry a little more behind than front; Burda's pattern draft, based on European styling, reflects this. Burda's jackets usually have a slightly higher-cut armhole than American patterns, as well, again reflecting their European cut. Great work :-)
9/13/06 3:49 PM
carolhope said...
The fit of your pants looks perfect! I also wear flats mostly, so am reluctant to wear wide leg pants too. So afraid of looking even more "hippy". Yours look great, but try this pattern next time with a slimmer leg to see if you like it. I am jealous of your great fit. Will have to try Burda one of these days!
9/13/06 4:19 PM
Vonnevo said...
Clin, these are stylish and well fitted pants. I am thrilled that you had such success with your first Burda pants.
9/13/06 4:19 PM
Kay Y said...
I am in agreement with the others - you have achieved a great fit. I much prefer Burda trousers with their forward inseam and now look for this and would not willingly make a big 4 pants. Part of the thinking has to do with increasing the bias, therefore give or flexibility, in the fabric of the inseam. Not sure I understand it all, but it seems to work.
9/13/06 8:43 PM
jewelea said...
The picture made me read the review; I agree that they look terrific.
9/13/06 10:16 PM
Danvillegirl said...
My first thought when clicking on you pants was "What a nice fitting pair of pants". I don't see the problem you see with the back either. But fit is really a personal thing. I think the pants are way more than OK, I think they are very flattering and fit you very well. If you were selling, I would buy!
9/14/06 5:27 AM
sarahb said...
i think your pants look great partly because the fit is so great--that is how well-fitting pants are supposed to look over the derrierre! A looser fit would look too big. I wish I could sew such a great fitting pair of pants. :-)
9/14/06 7:39 AM
slanden99 said...
Great pants and great fit
9/14/06 9:38 AM
cathy45 said...
Perfect fit! Lousy neighbors should wake you more often-LOL.
9/14/06 11:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4138 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by kristinlal... on 7/25/10
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other The New Handmade
photo
Review by AlisonK318 on 6/6/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2281 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2281 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us