SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8411 

2 more reviews
Viewed 969 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/06 2:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
I think these pants are more than "pretty OK." They really look sharp. When I saw your picture I thought "darn, I'm going to have to go off my pattern diet again!" The fit really looks great. Nice work despite being in a bad mood.
9/13/06 2:44 PM
Elona said...
Nice-looking pants! One wouldn't guess this was your first pair of Burdas. About your questions concerning the crotch fit ("I found the back crotch came forward quite a bit more than I am accustomed to - "), this is indeed a characteristic of Burda pants, and I think it is part of the reason that you so seldom see "camel-toe" or "smiles" with Burdas: That forward extension of the back crotch curve aids with the nice, smooth, "skirting" effect so evident on your pants front. Your back view, btw, looks fine--not in the least too tight, but you are correct in that Burda pants generally fit more snugly everywhere from waist to below the hip, even when one scrupulously follows their measurement chart.
9/13/06 3:09 PM
Erica B. said...
those pants are wonderful and they look great on you. I love the wider legs (I'm making a pair right now), they balance out my hips.
9/13/06 3:10 PM
Physics Girl said...
From the pics, and if it's comfy, I'd say it's GREAT! Don't take this the wrong way, but I really thought -- "What a nice-looking crotch... :)... I need to pull out my untried OOP Burda pants patterns!"
9/13/06 3:33 PM
Mermie said...
Your pants look great! I'd be very happy with the fit of these. They look great on you.
9/13/06 3:36 PM
moushka said...
Your pants are fantastic - wonderfully flattering. I agree with Elona about the Burda forward crotch point: it's what makes for such a great fit over the rear. Most women carry a little more behind than front; Burda's pattern draft, based on European styling, reflects this. Burda's jackets usually have a slightly higher-cut armhole than American patterns, as well, again reflecting their European cut. Great work :-)
9/13/06 3:49 PM
carolhope said...
The fit of your pants looks perfect! I also wear flats mostly, so am reluctant to wear wide leg pants too. So afraid of looking even more "hippy". Yours look great, but try this pattern next time with a slimmer leg to see if you like it. I am jealous of your great fit. Will have to try Burda one of these days!
9/13/06 4:19 PM
Vonnevo said...
Clin, these are stylish and well fitted pants. I am thrilled that you had such success with your first Burda pants.
9/13/06 4:19 PM
Kay Y said...
I am in agreement with the others - you have achieved a great fit. I much prefer Burda trousers with their forward inseam and now look for this and would not willingly make a big 4 pants. Part of the thinking has to do with increasing the bias, therefore give or flexibility, in the fabric of the inseam. Not sure I understand it all, but it seems to work.
9/13/06 8:43 PM
jewelea said...
The picture made me read the review; I agree that they look terrific.
9/13/06 10:16 PM
Danvillegirl said...
My first thought when clicking on you pants was "What a nice fitting pair of pants". I don't see the problem you see with the back either. But fit is really a personal thing. I think the pants are way more than OK, I think they are very flattering and fit you very well. If you were selling, I would buy!
9/14/06 5:27 AM
sarahb said...
i think your pants look great partly because the fit is so great--that is how well-fitting pants are supposed to look over the derrierre! A looser fit would look too big. I wish I could sew such a great fitting pair of pants. :-)
9/14/06 7:39 AM
slanden99 said...
Great pants and great fit
9/14/06 9:38 AM
cathy45 said...
Perfect fit! Lousy neighbors should wake you more often-LOL.
9/14/06 11:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Papercut Patterns 1005

photo
by: Blooms

Review
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Contest 187297-1015

photo
by: Aroura

Review