Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2006-118 (unlined jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 989 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:KatieN
photo
Friend of PR
About KatieNstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/16/05
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/06 8:57 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yummymummy38 said...
looks great, nice to know it went together well. I'm interested in the jacket v similar to this in the May issue.
9/13/06 9:10 PM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations on a beautiful jacket Katie and using your first BWOF pattern :) It's nice to see an inseam buttonhole on a jacket. Your fabric choice is ideal for this design.
9/13/06 9:10 PM
AngieC said...
Love your suit!
9/13/06 9:50 PM
carolhope said...
Love your jacket! You did a beautiful job sewing it. Now........make it up in a bright print to match your beautiful smile! It is a great style on you.
9/13/06 10:26 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Oooh, I love it. Great jacket, great fabric, great color, well done.
9/14/06 1:47 AM
martinanne said...
That is a very interesting jacket, and you did a lovely job with it! I am very impressed that this was your first Burda WOF project. Way to go!!!
9/14/06 3:59 AM
Patzee said...
Really nice jacket! I'm looking forward to when I can make a three circle jacket -- yours looks terrific.
9/14/06 4:16 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You did a great job, it looks very good on you. Thanks for pointing out the good parts of this pattern!
9/14/06 5:01 AM
Jane S said...
I loved this jacket when I saw in in that issue and am so impressed with your lovely version. Thanks for your review and useful comments.
9/14/06 7:18 AM
Nancy K said...
Congratulations on a lovely and flattering jacket. Now, the skirt is where an underlining in silk organza would really be a big plus. It would reduce that wrinkling significantly. It doesn't add that much time or money to the project and the skirt would last longer and look better at the end of the day. Threads did an article a few years ago showing skirts with and without underling and there is a major difference.
9/14/06 8:15 AM
Patti B said...
I had admired this jacket in the magazine and I really like it on you. Great job. Some of us have "circle avoidance" in Burda -- nice to know that 3 circles is do-able!
9/14/06 9:08 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking suit.
9/14/06 9:23 AM
ribbit2jen said...
I love how it turned out, thanks for the tip about the snap. I have this one on my to do list :)
9/14/06 8:06 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, the suit looks very professional. WEll done!
9/14/06 9:27 PM
OP Gal said...
When I read your comment about adding a snap at the level of the button to keep the front band from flipping up, I looked at the Burda model again to check. That must be shy she's twisted at an angle, to make it look like the front band is turned up because her shoulders aren't even. You were smart to add the snap. Beautiful jacket, BTW.
9/15/06 7:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-113 Shorts
photo
Review by Kbenco on 2/21/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8151 Todays Fit
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/7/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1395 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1395 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us