SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1476 Coat only (Miyake coat pattern)

10 more reviews
Viewed 2057 times 
Reviewed by:Sanibelle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sanibellestar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 5/27/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/06 5:41 AM
Last Updated:9/17/06 5:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chriscot said...
Thanks for an excellent review. Your coat looks great.
9/17/06 6:56 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Excellent review - you offered a new perspective and some encouragement to beginners. Thanks!
9/17/06 8:56 AM
pterion said...
Your coat looks fantastic! I'm impressed that a beginner would take on such a potentially confusing project. It sure doesn't look like a 'muslin.'
9/17/06 9:29 AM
Linda E. said...
Excellent reveiw.. Your coat looks great.. I made this coat a few years ago and wear it alot every winter.. I agree about the top stitching.. I don't believe mine is very straight. I have the fabric to make another one for my daughter..
9/17/06 9:39 AM
Tonya said...
Kudos to you for stepping out of your comfort zone and trying something new. And then more kudos for sharing your experience to help other beginners do the same!

I think the coat looks pretty good, honestly, because it's going to look oversized on anyone. The style is just that - oversized and voluminous. And you are not kidding - that model has some linebacker shoulder pads under that coat! Shame that they thought home sewers are too stupid/unfashionable to make that part of the pattern. We can see that stuff, thank you!

Glad you had the experience, I'm sure you learned a lot!
9/17/06 9:54 AM

fuzzygalore said...
Good for you, tackling this as a beginner. But even advanced people can get overconfident with Miyake and omit markings :-). I second the thought that it's going to be ginormous on everyone, so don't fret about it. At least you're being overwhelmed with stylishness :-).
9/17/06 10:00 AM
cecelia said...
I think your coat looks wonderful because it just seems to "flow" well. The colors you chose are stylish too. Good job! I guess Miyake patterns always require extra good marking.
9/17/06 10:06 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW - it's huge! Good job.
9/17/06 10:19 AM
bunz said...
Don't know how much you've sewn, but it's fantastic that you tried this. Great job!!
9/17/06 10:46 AM
AliceB said...
You are a brave woman...congratulations on your challenging project...looks great!! :)
9/17/06 10:58 AM
oracle said...
I think your coat looks just great. In fact, I think it looks so great on you that I feel more confident about the one I made for myself. I always worried that I was too short for mine at 5'4'' -- but if yours looks that good on you, then mine must be okay, too! A note about the shoulder pads -- this pattern is at least 20 years old. When it came out in the '80s, shoulder pads were common under just about everything -- even T-shirts! In that era, it would have been normal to see them appearing under a coat like this -- the wearer probably would have had massive ones showing through under her blouse! This may well be why Vogue didn't include them as part of this coat pattern.
9/17/06 11:05 AM
PegL said...
Your coat is the first version of this pattern that I've liked! It looks wonderful on you! Good for you in tackling a challenging project. Sewing instructions can make the most advanced sewer confused at times so don't take that part too personally. ;>) I sometimes think pattern companies set out to make things as confusing as possible. Great first review! I look forward to seeing more from you.
9/17/06 12:17 PM
Elona said...
Terrific-looking coat! You took on a Miyake, for goodness' sake, thinking yourself a beginner, and produced such a nice finished garment--well, I think you have natural talent and no longer qualify as a beginner!
9/17/06 12:22 PM
Sanibelle said...
You've all really made my day! You have NO idea. Thank you so much for such thoughtful comments and feedback, what a wonderful community this is. Linda E. and fuzzygalore, your reviews of this coat were so helpful to me; thank you for the inspiration! I have learned so much from everyone here at PR. Thank you!
9/17/06 1:34 PM
SewLimited said...
I agree with Oracle - I'll have to pull mine out of the closet again now! My aunt has made this thru the years for all her friends for gifts. It is very versatile depending on the fabric, etc.
9/17/06 3:18 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
I commend you for trying this pattern. I would not have thought it would have worked for anyone but a tall thin person. I can see how this would be practical for certain lifestyles. And, if you decided it wasn't for you, you have plenty of yardage to convert into smaller jackets and other items. Great job!
9/17/06 7:53 PM
Skymom said...
I think this looks fantastic, even if oversized. In fact, I like the oversized-ness of it, especially in black. It's really got attitude. Using fleece was a good idea--can you imagine wearing 5 yds of heavy wool? Great job!
9/17/06 9:49 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Beginner? huh! This is fantastic!
9/18/06 4:01 AM
Nancy K said...
I have had this pattern sitting in my file cab for years and never made it. You look great in it and all these oversize coats where you can layer are very in. I thought that I would be overwhelmed by all the fabric, but I am 5'6 and you don't look overwhelmed at all. I think the key to this is a very drapey fabric. I also commend you for trying something difficult. It is the only way to improve your skills and having made some Miyake patterns, they are challenging, Brava!
9/18/06 8:17 AM
cathy45 said...
The coat is beautiful and in no way looks like a beginner's work. Congratulations for stepping beyond your comfort zone--it's how we all learn.
9/18/06 11:22 AM
tweedcurtain said...
I actually like this with the sleeves rolled up - it gives it an artsy look. Well done!
9/18/06 11:54 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW. Beginner?! This is lovely. Keep up the good work.
11/2/06 9:54 AM
ceedee said...
I have had this pattern for a while and came upon your review while perusing the new photo format. Loved your comments, they encourage me to attempt this project. Also, I think your coat looks great! A very helpful review to a person starting the sewing hobby over again.
11/28/06 1:02 PM
pterion said...
double post
6/29/07 11:55 PM
vivian darkbloom said...
Excellent writeup! And the finished product is fantastic--great job!
11/18/08 11:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Burda 7232

photo
by: juliamorle...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now