SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-131 (elastic waist pants)

Viewed 899 times 
Reviewed by:dvazz
photo

 
 
About dvazzstar
MO USA
Member since: 8/15/03
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/06 4:19 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
Most beige pants ... LOL! But good on you for making good on your promise to review something today. The pants look great, and so does you hair with the longer length. :-)
9/17/06 4:31 PM
USMCMom said...
Thanks for the review. I'm overcoming my fear of sewing pants by starting with the now discontinued Burda one seam pants, which don't have pockets. They went well, so maybe it's time to step up to a "big girl" pair like these. Baby steps! They look so comfy...
9/17/06 4:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
I don't know about the record -- I sew an awful lot of beige/tan/khaki pants. Are these your first project on your new machine? They do look nice and comfy.
9/17/06 5:15 PM
drsue said...
they look cute and comfy. don't look like a plus size though.
9/17/06 5:29 PM
PegL said...
Cute pants! Fun review to read.
9/17/06 5:40 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Dana, these look exactly like your order, comfortable, baggy, and easy to sew. I like the fit for this style on you. How do you shorten just the front crotch? I cut away from the top center front returning to zero at the sides, but if there is a better way. . . . please share.
9/17/06 7:00 PM
dvazz said...
Thanks for the comments, everyone! Carolyn, these are actually the last project with my old machine...I made them about a month ago. Sherril, I pretty much end up shortening as you describe, but I do it by the method in a Threads article where you tie elastic around to hold up the unfinished waistband, pull up and down to adjust the fabric so that it hangs nicely, and then run a chalk wheel around to mark the seamline. I've used this method on every pair of pants I've made since I read about it and it is a huge help for me!
9/17/06 8:44 PM
martinanne said...
Nice review! I made these pants in capri length and I found they ran big. Well baggy. But they certainly are comfy, as you mentioned. I made the separate waistband as called for in the directions, but I think I like your method better. It would have been faster.
9/18/06 3:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

StyleArc Becky Yoga Pant

photo
by: lyndle

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com Sew Fearless Pajama Eater

photo
by: khurtdvm

Review