SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1945 (Jacket)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1712 times 
Reviewed by:SarahWeb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SarahWebstar
MT USA
Member since: 11/24/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/06 2:11 PM
Last Updated:9/23/06 1:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 39 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Reggies Mom said...
Well, "winging it" obviously worked. Beautiful jacket and stunning fit. That's a very classy outfit.
9/23/06 2:30 PM
mlt said...
Great jacket and useful review.
9/23/06 2:34 PM
Dee2 said...
What a beautiful jacket! You look wonderful in it. Love the choices you made for fabric & buttons. Thank you for this very helpful review.
9/23/06 2:40 PM
Carolyndh said...
Very professional looking and excellent fit! The longer fitted jacket style is one that I don't remember seeing too many of on PR, and therefore it makes your entry a valuable example of a tailored longer jacket with great styling details. You look so great in it that it would seem like you could make this one of your tried and true favorites, perhaps with variations for different looks.
9/23/06 2:41 PM
Kay Romo said...
Sarah, this is the most professional looking garment I have seen on this site. WOW!
9/23/06 2:45 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I love the long, lean lines of this jacket. You did a superb job sewing it and got a great fit. well done!
9/23/06 2:50 PM
Englebert said...
Very Impressive!! Thank you for a great review!
9/23/06 2:52 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow! What a beautiful fit! Seems more like an "Advanced" level to me. Congratulations for all your efforts. Enjoy the outfit and the compliments.
9/23/06 3:06 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful jacket and beautiful fit.
9/23/06 3:29 PM
Riordan said...
Truly beautiful jacket!! It has lovely lines, the fabric is exquisite, the fit is excellent, and the sewing is professional. Wow!!!
9/23/06 3:32 PM
fiberfanatic said...
Really beautiful, great-fitting jacket!
9/23/06 3:39 PM
LoriB said...
Beautiful job on this jacket. It looks wonderful.
9/23/06 3:45 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very professional jacket. Lucky you to get such a great fit with so few alterations. Your sewing skills got a challenge, but the results were worth it.
9/23/06 3:57 PM
CarolynGM said...
I think this pattern was designed especially for you -- it looks that good. Congratulations on your beautiful work and an outstanding review.
9/23/06 3:59 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfection. You can sew for me any time! ;-) Thanks for the helpful review. The jacket is gorgeous.
9/23/06 4:10 PM
LBJ said...
Very, very, nice! Thanks for the great review.
9/23/06 4:13 PM
melgosews said...
Very nice outfit! The welt pocket instructions alone tempts me to try the pattern. Nice review, thanks Sarah!
9/23/06 4:42 PM
Nancy K said...
It fits you perfectly. A major accomplishment. Don't be so hard on yourself, you did a great job and it looks better than rtw.
9/23/06 4:49 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful jacket and fit!
9/23/06 4:59 PM
sewsue said...
Your jacket looks beautiful and fits perfectly! It's hard to believe it is your first attempt at a project like this.
9/23/06 5:05 PM
casken said...
Very well made looking jacket. Thank you for your great review.
9/23/06 5:06 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Very beautiful coat!! Hard to believe you are new at this kind of project! Congratulations on your success!! Carla
9/23/06 5:14 PM
Peggy L said...
This is stunning. You did a beautiful job!! Nancy's jacket book is wonderful. Looks like you have your basic TNT jacket pattern.
9/23/06 5:21 PM
PegL said...
Beautiful jacket! Very professional looking with designer details. This is definitely one of the most attractive garments I've seen reviewed on PR! Thanks for a very informative review.
9/23/06 6:07 PM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations, Sarah. This is a beautifully tailored and very flattering jacket that rivals anything at Neiman's or Saks. I bet Nancy Ericsson would be thrilled with your resullts. And you've inspired me to go ahead and attempt 1945c as my next jacket project. Thank you for your review.
9/23/06 6:26 PM
Doris W. in TN said...
Sarah - Echoing all the other comments here, your jacket is gorgeous. You did a good job with the fit and the construction. The length looks great on you, too.
9/23/06 6:48 PM
BjP said...
Stressful as it was, you have a very lovely jacket as a result. Kudos! And do make it again because it is quite a stunner!
9/23/06 7:04 PM
Erica B. said...
beautiful... what a well tailored jacket!
9/23/06 7:29 PM
blue mooney said...
That is one sharp outfit! "Sleek" is exactly the word for that jacket on you!
9/23/06 7:30 PM
Lori V said...
Stunning jacket.
9/23/06 7:55 PM
Nata said...
Jacket fits you perfectly. You look very sharp in it.
9/23/06 9:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Chic and elegant! Nice job on this!
9/23/06 10:03 PM
christine A said...
Beautiful jacket. Very sleek!
9/23/06 10:04 PM
dreamdesigner said...
"But the end result was fine"????????? Just a Gorgeous jacket, and it fits you like a glove! "Course it helps that you're so thin.
9/24/06 1:38 AM
PixieCat said...
Absolutely stunning! Your jacket looks very professional and fits perfectly. Great job!
9/24/06 5:11 AM
beth5646 said...
Your jacket is gorgeous. I have some beautiful wool stored in a cedar chest that I picked up on a trip to NYC a couple of years ago. I have been saving it for the "perfect" pattern. Your review has just showed me that pattern. That jacket looks absolutely beautiful on you. You are an inspiration. Thanks for the wonderful review.
9/24/06 6:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a great review, so very informative. Thank you. Your jacket is stunning. It fits you very well. I love the whole look of it and it is flattering on you. The buttons are truly lovely. What nice service from Sawyer Brooks.
9/24/06 7:40 AM
carolynw said...
Cannot believe you have not done a tailored jacket before - this is such a WOW!! Absolutely positive there is nothing in RTW that could match. Congrats on a job perfectly executed and thanks for such a helpful review.
9/24/06 7:44 AM
Loualibar said...
Fantastic jacket
9/24/06 8:44 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice jacket!
9/24/06 9:18 AM
jbrewer said...
I am so impressed! Your jacket looks perfect to me. Great job! Now I want to run upstairs and start making a wool blazer!
9/24/06 9:19 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful, sleek jacket that fits you like a glove. Congratulations on such a successful project.
9/24/06 10:10 AM
cecelia said...
Amazing--you can come sew for me anytime--definitely looks better than RTW, and isn't Sawyer Brook wonderful for their matching service? This outfit can go anywhere and be worn with anything, terrific wardrobe builder.
9/24/06 10:12 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Your jacket is magnificent. It looks as if you have been tailoring for years. Congratulations, and thanks for the good review and great photo.
9/24/06 10:23 AM
Linda F said...
stunning!
9/24/06 10:32 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Beautiful fit! Wonderfu job of construction! Judging from the picture I wouldn't change anything in your next version. I looks marvelous on you.
9/24/06 11:31 AM
SheriF said...
Love, love, love your jacket. Looks very smart on you. Excellent job.
9/24/06 12:15 PM
SansSouci572 said...
I never tried that pattern for the same reason, trying to figure out the size by measuring a garment instead of me. If you were winging it and that's Walmart fabric, You have some talent!
9/24/06 1:02 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Absolutely impeccable in every way. You 'nailed' this jacket! Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.
9/24/06 2:51 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Your jacket fits you beautifully. Excellent workmanship.
9/24/06 4:35 PM
Donna H said...
Absolutely Beautiful. Thanks for this review.
9/24/06 5:21 PM
cathy45 said...
Wow--Your jacket is a knock-out.
9/25/06 11:19 PM
Tee Jay said...
What an awesome jacket! Perfect fit. Thanks for sharing the photo--great motivator to see it all come together.
12/1/06 8:40 AM
davin said...
very encouraging, since I've just purchased my first Nancy Erickson pattern. Thanks. Davin
1/26/08 1:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Other 102497641

photo
by: Terri A

Review
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now