SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-112 (Twist Top)

41 more reviews
Viewed 1364 times 
Reviewed by:celeste
photo

 
 
About celestestar
ID USA
Member since: 6/21/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/06 10:23 PM
Last Updated:9/21/08 10:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
I think this is a fitting issue. Perhaps you need a FBA. The downside to a lovely figure.
9/23/06 10:47 PM
sewbehind said...
That's too bad! I am just trying to fit this pattern and having issues with the shoulders. Apparently I'm built like a football player! Do you happen to remember which sleeves you used. They look nice. Hope your next project works out better for you.
9/23/06 11:11 PM
Mel.J said...
Thanks Celeste, your review pic gave me the idea to use only the upper section of this top to turn into a wrap style jacket. I've done that modification to add long sleeves, so this would be interesting to try. (I've been looking at jackets/wraps that can go above a pregnant belly.) I'm sorry that you don't like it on you after that effort. From what you describe you probably do need an FBA, Jackie Ms review of this top would be a good one to read as she gives good instructions on that.
9/23/06 11:16 PM
dreamdesigner said...
About time they create a pattern that makes us small cup size ladies look larger! I need all the help I can get!
9/24/06 1:09 AM
OP Gal said...
It's so cute on the dress form! It's too bad it didn't work out.
9/24/06 10:18 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Yes, sounds like a FBA would help. Good review though!
9/24/06 11:45 AM
Frosty772 said...
nick.com
9/24/06 1:15 PM
Nancywin said...
Celeste, this is the same problem I'm having with another BWOF dress with a similar underbust seam (but no twist.) I have altered te pattern several times and still can't get the bust to go low enough. I think what has to be done is to slash and spread the bust piece horizontally below the bust point and then redraw the curve and center front curve. BTW, I always leave a bra on my dressform - it's the only way I can get even close to my unusual proportions.
9/24/06 3:10 PM
Nancywin said...
Thaks for the fitting link. I think that will help with the other pattern I'm trying to solve!
9/24/06 5:19 PM
sewbehind said...
Celeste, thank you for the information about your sleeves. So sorry that you are having fitting issues with this top. It is very flattering even for larger busts, but I would wear it in a darker colour. (dark colours recede, lighter colours do not) I wear a 38C and the top part fit my bust perfectly with the exception of the shoulders, which I will fix. I did not do a FBA and the top fit very snug against the body.(no gaping) Personally, I wouldn't want it to be low cut and it wasn't on me. Thanks so much for your review. You have tenacity, that is for sure.
9/24/06 6:30 PM
Silvie said...
Thanks for your review and sorry for all the trouble you experienced with this style. I have been sewing with BWOF all of my "sewing life" and in general I find the fit pretty good. Anyhow, they do recommend not to alter the sizes to much because it will change the proportion and the fitting . The Burda patterns are designed for an average B cup bust size up to size 40. Not sure about the larger ones . Unfortunately most of us European women are not blessed with a nice "upper size" and like to apply tricks to make us appear larger like the twist tops:) I admire all of you ladies for your patience altering patterns to make your garments fit perfectly. perfectly..........
9/26/06 3:46 AM
katlew03 said...
Had to comment on your Halloween costume -- picture of dog. Is he a dachshund? He has the same expression my dog used to have when I put a sweater or reindeer ears on him. Sorry this pattern didn't work out. Just wasn't the pattern for you.
9/22/08 1:47 AM
kim*brown said...
HeeHee! Love it, reminds me of my two min pins!
9/22/08 2:20 PM
Beek said...
I absolutely love our dog's Halloween costume! Precious!
9/23/08 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 2282

photo
by: blessedtos...

Review
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now