Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2006-126 (Coat 126 A) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2099 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:LMH
photo
About LMHstar
Member since: 7/5/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/06 3:48 PM
Last Updated:2/23/07 4:35 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
This coat looks totally RTW and your review is so helpful. You make me glad a coat is not on my menu though!
10/9/06 4:01 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Thanks for reviewing this coat - I'm in the processing of making this one myself! I love your new coat, it turned out beautiful!.
10/9/06 4:14 PM
jnamcd said...
Wow--I think this coat looks great! I think the buttons look great, and I love the lining! Excellent review!
10/9/06 4:38 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking coat - very thorough review and the fact that it fits better than any RTW makes all the difference in the world.
10/9/06 4:38 PM
Seaspur said...
What an awesome coat! And your review is fantastic, thank-you. I have been thinking about making this one and the review will help me so much.
10/9/06 4:46 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've never made a coat before, and this review has confirmed that my first one will not be from BWOF. You got a beautiful result, but I don't think I have your patience. No, I know I don't have your patience. Great coat, though, and you'll enjoy wearing it all the more knowing how much effort you you put into it.
10/9/06 5:02 PM
sewingfordolls said...
and it looks lovely on you...great looking coat.
10/9/06 5:09 PM
PegL said...
Your coat looks wonderful -- button placement and all! I wouldn't change a thing! Wear it with pride! You earned it!
10/9/06 5:25 PM
minieme said...
It looks great for all your hard work.
10/9/06 5:30 PM
Lori V said...
Your coat is gorgeous
10/9/06 5:44 PM
Janice C. said...
Inspirational. (btw - interested in your comments on tissue fitting - some people have great success with this method, but I've never managed to get the hang of it - I too prefer muslins. )
10/9/06 5:48 PM
bunz said...
It looks great! Cant' even see the buttonhole "problem". Thanks for reviewing this -- I'm serging my green nylon (fraying) raincoat pieces like crazy.
10/9/06 5:57 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
A great coat enhanced by a fabulous lining. Wear it with pride. Kudos to you for not letting it get the better of you. Thanks for the helpful advice.
10/9/06 5:57 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Your coat is incredible. I love, love, love the lining! Beautiful work and great review.
10/9/06 6:03 PM
AliceB said...
Fantastic coat. Bravo, Bravooo!! Very thorough review, thank you for this.
10/9/06 6:38 PM
Susan M said...
You did a wonderful job! Thanks for the details on how you conquered the pitfalls. They will be very useful for anyone making this coat. I love the lining! Rayon feels so good.
10/9/06 6:43 PM
LBJ said...
Beautiful coat, and I wouldn't have noticed anything about the buttons if you hadn't mentioned them and I still think they look nice. I love the lining, and yes Rayon does indeed grow. Thanks for the great review!
10/9/06 6:49 PM
Carolyndh said...
For all the difficulty that making this coat held for you--WOW! The results are spectacular. Thanks for your information on preparing wool.
10/9/06 7:08 PM
candyo said...
Love your coat, and the review!
10/9/06 7:10 PM
jewelsfashions said...
Very nice! I think it looks great on you. Thank you for the very informative review!!! As I look at more rtw I realize we all are way too hard on ourselves. I have seen more mistakes on things I have bought lately.
10/9/06 7:29 PM
Rhoda K said...
Your coat looks great and a wonderful review - what patience!! I tried to find your tip on sewn lining corners, but can't locate it.
10/9/06 7:58 PM
Vonnevo said...
Totally fabulous !!! The fit is terrific and I love the lining albeit being problematic. Bound buttonholes work well in coats, specially when you can't get a thread match :) Thanks for sharing your coat with us.
10/9/06 7:59 PM
bunz said...
Would you pls add a link to your tip on lining corners? Thanks.
10/9/06 8:53 PM
Tonya said...
Well there have been plenty of comments already, but I can't help but add to them. Great great job!

I didn't notice the buttonholes until you talked about them, and I agree, they are a touch too far away from the overlap. However, I would imagine most observers wouldn't notice either. I completely understand how things like that can eat away at you until they just have to be fixed - I think your frog idea is a good one. I was thinking bound buttonholes like Vonnevo said - you could sew together one side of the buttonholes to make them look like a design element while moving the actual hole opening towards the center at the same time.

Anyway, you are inspiring. I was thinking about backing out of the coat sew-along on the boards because I haven't had time to even start, but yours looks so good that I just have to start on my own. Thanks for the excellent review!
10/9/06 9:01 PM

milwaukee_kelly said...
Beautiful! Despite all the glitches, your coat really looks fabulous. I have had the hardest time finding the "right" plum color thread too. There's only like 4 different purple shades out there. What's up with that?
10/9/06 9:53 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a fabulous review and coat. I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary about the buttons until you mentioned it. If you hadn't mentioned it, I would probably never have noticed at all! I'm with you on tissue fitting -- muslins rule.
10/9/06 10:16 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful coat. Beautiful fit and fabric too. It turned out nicely despite all your issues.
10/9/06 10:45 PM
LMH said...
Thanks for all the comments! Rhoda & bunz: I put the tip url in the appropriate place above in the review. Vonnevo & Tonya: yep, bound buttonholes would have been perfect, but I didn't plan far enough ahead. I looked in my books last night to see if I could do them, but apparently you can only put them in before you've sewn the facings etc. on. If I put them in now, the turned-through bits would show on the back, right? Hmm. Next time, I'm sampling buttonholes as part of the preliminary fitting/adjusting stage. I definitely shouldn't have waited till the end to work out what I wanted to do. Everyone: make coats! It's not that hard; this was just one of those "everything goes wrong" projects. But I've certainly learned an incredible amount, that's for sure.
10/9/06 11:20 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
THANK YOU for this wonderful, informative and funny review! This coat is on my short list, and I will print out your review to have as reference. Thanks again!! Your coat turned out lovely, great fabric for it!
10/10/06 0:03 AM
ElsaD said...
The coat looks really good.
10/10/06 0:09 AM
martinanne said...
Great review! I really learned a lot. And I think your coat looks fab!
10/10/06 2:22 AM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you so much for such a thorough review. Your coat turned out beautifully, very RTW, except that if fits much better!
10/10/06 3:55 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You probably would have done well to watch Sandra Betzina's video on handwovens before making this... Very good advice on loose tweeds, like the fact that interfacing won't stay fused :-). Also, forget matching buttonhole threads in the future - coats should have bound buttonholes anyway. Looks way more professional, wears better, and in the end much easier to do ;-). But yes, rayon does creep. Even Ambience, which is rayon, does a bit. That's why you have all those techniques with the fussy little overhangs at the hem, it's just acknowledging that you can't lay wool and rayon together and have a hope of stability. And I hope you pre-washed that rayon brutally, or you'll have the Incredible Shrinking Lining! Dry clean absolutely if it's the case. But you know what? This looks really great. You should listen to your husband and just drop it about the buttons, they're fine. When nobody but yourself minds something, it's time to move on to the next project :-). You can meanwhile look gorgeous all winter...
10/10/06 4:27 AM
ACB said...
Absolutely fabulous, great job!
10/10/06 7:44 AM
Deborah L said...
Very good job. Love the lining
10/10/06 8:52 AM
Lynngray said...
Beautiful job. Looks great on you also
10/10/06 9:22 AM
blue mooney said...
looks great! well worth your labor.
10/10/06 10:22 PM
mrspenguin said...
I'm making this coat now and cringed when you said to follow the pocket and collar instructions. Neither make sense to me. I have my muslin hanging and I fiddle with it here and there to see if I can make sense of it. I also find that I've got these extra wings at the top of the front princess line--have to take it up a bit. Your coat looks fabulous, btw. I hope I can get mine to look as well once I get past my confusion.
11/12/06 1:01 PM
LMH said...
mrspenguin: well, to put the pockets on, you could try what I did, which was to attach each lining piece to its respective coat piece, then stitch down the side seam to the pocket piece, around the pocket piece back to the side seam, then down to the hem. In practice, this isn't quite as easy and straightforward as it sounds, which is why I thought following the pocket instructions might be better. But apparently those are as kooky as they sound? As for the collar, I sewed the darts up first, then treated it like any notched lapel, so maybe try that instead? The dart complicates things, though. If I made this coat again, I would sew the undercollar to the coat, all the way to dart, joining the dart in one fell swoop. Then I would just join the points as per usual with a notched collar. It's much more clumsy to join the darts first and treat them as an inset corner & probably not really warranted, since that isn't a very sharply square corner at the top of the darts. I think, any way. Hope this helps & Good luck with your coat!
11/13/06 10:46 AM
thaiyal said...
Awesome!!!!
11/22/06 2:45 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful coat. I've got this edition of burda, I've got the material. I wasn't going to do a muslin but I will now..thank you for a helpful review.
12/30/06 0:55 AM
JenniferBee said...
Great save, love the snaps and lining bars.
2/23/07 3:07 PM
MissCelie said...
I cannot believe how fabulous this looks!!
2/23/07 4:14 PM
librarylady said...
Wow! I'd be thrilled if I'd come close to your 'bad buttonhole' version. Beautiful.
2/23/07 6:42 PM
Gold said...
Love the coat!!!!
2/23/07 7:01 PM
Tany said...
I did rate this review before... There should be a "Even More Helpful" button but there isn't... ;)
2/23/07 8:13 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, such patience is absolutely awsome... I have to say I really like your idea of a fur belt between the princess seams though :-).
2/24/07 6:08 AM
cecelia said...
It's a very pretty coat--sorry you had so many problems with it. You deserve a medal for "a good save." I feel your buttonhole pain--my DH has put a framed picture of a firebreathing dragon with the caption, "Beware, making buttonholes," on my sewing room door.
2/24/07 3:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1061
photo
Review by Sandi S on 12/5/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Baby 33
photo
Review by movac on 3/8/07
Read Review

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7320 Pattern
Burda 7320 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us