SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Onion> 1032: jacket (Jacket for felted wool and kni)

Viewed 3518 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/06 2:04 PM
Last Updated:12/6/06 4:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
That is "Very high end boutique looking". Lovely combination of technique and color. I hadn't taken notice of that pattern before and I'm really intrigued. Lots of design options. I think your idea of an organza silk tie is fabulous.
10/11/06 2:20 PM
Sew it seams said...
Love it! The wool is wonderful and the seam technique you used is really nice.
10/11/06 2:58 PM
bunz said...
Love the lapped seams - great-looking coat!
10/11/06 2:59 PM
Sanibelle said...
Beautiful! Love the color and the deconstructed seams. I bet the printing presses in Denmark will be humming round the clock to meet the run on this pattern that you and lmg must have started. It's on my list :)
10/11/06 3:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
Very beautiful. I really like the brown top-stitching detailing.
10/11/06 3:20 PM
Izzie said...
Gorgeous! I just re-read a Threads article about lapped seams (#103 pg 58). What a great idea to use SAS and your coverstitch machine.
10/11/06 3:44 PM
lmg said...
Wowzie! Beautiful coat with the lapped seams and topstitching detail!! The back is great too. I just ordered more fabric to make the long version LOL. I think your idea with the obi like version would be stunning. What do you think about lining it?
10/11/06 4:07 PM
drsue said...
Img: I just ordered fabric to make the jacket! I think it could be lined easily. also you could do buttons if you wanted. It just has so many possiblities. Lining would require drafting some facingings.
10/11/06 4:21 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Beautiful coat! I just ordered this pattern. I am using a double faced wool. It would be reversible except the darts would show if I wore it inside out. I like your idea about sewing the dart, then placing your ribbon.
10/11/06 4:32 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous drsue! The coat pattern is a winner and you definitely have a very high end looking coat. Just love the fabric, colour, trim and techniques. Thanks for sharing it with us :)
10/11/06 5:13 PM
jemgirlca said...
Love the jacket and fabric choice!
10/11/06 5:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous coat -- very distinctive in style, details, and color scheme. It sounds like it was a really fun project too. You and Img probably helped sell a boatload of these patterns.
10/11/06 6:35 PM
frame said...
Very nice. The fabric is beautiful. Great review.
10/11/06 6:42 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Yes, it is bery high end boutique looking! Very nice indeed!
10/11/06 8:22 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Why does this jacket have so much appeal for those of us in balmy climates? I bought the pattern, too. It's obvious thatl you really enjoyed making this one. The result is fabulous.
10/11/06 8:27 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Sue - it's brilliant! I had no idea how to make lapped seams - thank you for the great explenation!
Now, if only it wasn't so cold here, I would make this coat too - maybe in spring :-)
10/12/06 2:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love your deconstructed look with this coat. I actually like the pattern very much. When seeing the back, I thought I might want to try this one as us swayback people need flattering back styles and this looks like it would be.
10/12/06 5:13 AM
cindyann said...
I just had to come back and say that I just ordered this pattern. Karla is right about it appealing to us "balmy" weather girls. What's with that? ;)
10/12/06 10:06 AM
OP Gal said...
Fabulous coat. Very chic.
10/12/06 10:45 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wonderful, wonderful...one of these days I will make a jacket--and hope it comes out as good as yours. Thank you for the link to the fabric. Where does one buy Onion patterns?
10/12/06 12:17 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
The back darts are really great. Your contrasting thread really brings them out nicely.
10/12/06 1:15 PM
drsue said...
franatic: click on the merchant tap on the top of this page and find the ShopONION ad. this will take you the the Onion patterns webite.
10/12/06 2:05 PM
SBanks said...
What a unique coat! You've done a fabulous job making it your own. The short jacket with the obi tie would not be weird! I can see it, go for it.
10/13/06 5:08 AM
dvazz said...
And here I thought you had gotten too busy for the coat sew along...turns out you went and sewed the whole thing while the rest of us were still mulling over our directions. :) Beautiful coat!
10/13/06 8:57 AM
solosmocker said...
BEautiful construction. You have left me inspired.
11/10/06 6:34 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - what more can I say. The workmanship is just soooo professional and the result just wonderful. Congrats.
11/10/06 8:38 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love your updated version too drsue ! Beautiful fabric and trim - perfect :))
12/6/06 4:34 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very elegant jacket, very well made.
12/6/06 4:49 PM
Schnauzer said...
Fabulous jacket drsue!
12/6/06 4:58 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Another great rendition! It looks so comfy!
12/6/06 5:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket. The ties and hood may be impractical but I like the look.
12/6/06 5:12 PM
jnamcd said...
Oh my gosh--I absolutely love this 2nd version!!! I don't care how unpractical it my be, it is lovely!!! The silk organza bow is I think what sets it off for me! Love it!!!!!!!!
12/6/06 5:16 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow - what a stunning jacket. This was one of the jackets I was looking at yesterday on the onion site....I may have to get one!
12/6/06 5:31 PM
Lilibet said...
Both versions are gorgeous.
12/6/06 5:54 PM
carolynw said...
Oh this is to die for!! It is beautiful
12/6/06 6:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your new jacket is adorable, and very elfin indeed! There's just something about hoods, in any shape or size, that I love. Your fabric looks beautiful, and how wonderful that it is washable!
12/6/06 6:51 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Impractical - who cares, when a jacket looks like yours! Great job in downsizing the hood. Love the organza ties!
12/6/06 7:06 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So lovely, Susan! Neat idea to trim it with organza. Would love to see a photo of it on you.
12/6/06 7:06 PM
BeckyC said...
I love it! I love it! I love it! Even as impractical as it seems, it would be a thrill to wear such a stunning jacket. The silk organza obi is just the finishing touch. Absolutely gorgeous! Thanks for the inspiration.
12/6/06 8:00 PM
frame said...
Really beautiful.
12/6/06 8:22 PM
Marji said...
Lovely. Isn't it always the case that some of our favorite things are totally impractacle? Love the white with the silk organza.
12/6/06 8:23 PM
mewiththree said...
The tie definitely makes it! Gorgeous!! I wonder if you could fake the fancy bow? Like maybe have some sort of closure disguised under the bow. So you wouldn't have to keep retying the bow when you want to remove the jacket.
12/6/06 8:46 PM
christine A said...
Wow, I really like your short version the best. Really cute!
12/6/06 9:27 PM
lmg said...
Stunning indeed. The hood looks great and the obi belt is TDF. It's gorgeous!
12/6/06 9:45 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Gorgeous!
12/6/06 11:25 PM
MissCelie said...
I love love love the organza!
12/7/06 7:36 AM
cecelia said...
This is very pretty and unusual, and I love white coats even if they are impractical. Good for you having the courage to try something new--the Hong Kong seams.
12/7/06 8:35 AM
cindyann said...
Another lovely version. This is such a great pattern. The obi style tie is terrific! I made the short version without a hood and wear it all the time.
12/7/06 10:28 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful! Nice work on adjusting the hat too.
12/7/06 3:48 PM
PhyllisC said...
That's a great jacket Susan. I love the contrast between the wool/mohair and the organza.
12/7/06 5:02 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Just gorgeous. Would love to see a close-up of the organza binding, and obi wrap -- having a hard time imagining how SAs aren't showing. Also, how can wool/mohair possibly be washable?
12/8/06 12:25 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Just gorgeous. Would love to see a close-up of the organza binding, and obi wrap -- having a hard time imagining how SAs aren't showing.
12/8/06 12:31 PM
drsue said...
dreamdesigner: I didn't go into the binding method specifically, but here's how it works. I folded the binding strips so you have two layers of organza. this cuts down the sheerness of the binding so you can't make out the raw edges of the coat. the raw edges of the binding are on the wrong side. The sa's on the tie do show through, but it doesn't look bad.
12/8/06 1:34 PM
bunz said...
GORGEOUS! - oh yee of tiny waist:-)
12/10/06 10:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now