Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: Sewing for Toddlers Book (T-shirt) thumbsup - Type:Toddlers    printable version
Viewed 843 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:khurtdvm
photo
About khurtdvmstarstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/06 8:04 PM
Last Updated:11/18/06 11:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Toddlers    
Available for sale on PR: $25.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
I think he is adorable! So cute! You did great!
10/11/06 8:18 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Goofy expression?? He's darling!! (The shirt's cute, too.) Rhonda
10/11/06 8:25 PM
Lynngray said...
He's so cute. Like shirt also.
10/11/06 9:12 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Excellent job with the ribbing. Cute outfit--and such an adorable young man.
10/11/06 9:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a sweetie your son is! He looks like he loves his new shirt and you should be proud, it's lovely! As for the twin needle stitching, practice my dear. It can sometimes be frustering. Also make sure your tension isn't too tight as that can cause some grief too.
10/11/06 9:47 PM
marycds said...
He's cute as can be. I have this book as well as the baby one. You've inspired me to trace off some patterns for my granddaughter. With the twin needle you can try some stabilizer underneath, even paper to help.
10/12/06 0:35 AM
Monica G said...
Congratulations on a cute shirt. My tip for knits (caveat here--I am new at knits as well)--but I use fusible web (I think it is Dritz stitch witchery--I got it a JoAnne's). It does 2 things--eliminates needles while hemming and prevents the hem from stretching and puckering while sewing. I have been pleased with the way my knit hems come out using this method.
10/12/06 7:55 AM
Hilary said...
What a cutie pie :o) My kids all make goofy expressions (the oldest is 12 and he still does it sometimes, lol) Great job on the shirt! I love this book too-and recommend the childrens' book too! BTW, stich witchery for hems is wonderful to keep them from puckering. It does tend to make for a non-stretchy hem though. If you can, lowering the foot pressure a bit while hemming can reduce the wave as well.
10/12/06 8:55 AM
pterion said...
What a doll! Love his cute shirt - I'm just about to trace off some pants from this wonderful pattern book (the shorts were a staple for us this summer). I agree about adjusting the tension to avoid hem puckering. Very little tension and if you can find it, put Steam-A-Seam Lite inside the hem. That does the trick for me!
10/12/06 10:49 AM
joyousewing said...
Great review. I like KS patterns. This will be on my wish list for my DD's. I make a KS shirt for myself and had the same effect with my double needle stitching. I 've read or seen a show that said you have to sew with only one needle and sew it twice to avoid the puckering. It's the knits. Thanks for the review. Cute shirt. Your DS seems happy with it.
10/12/06 4:59 PM
slanden99 said...
Cute shirt and cute little boy too. When I hem knits with a twin needle I use a plain straight stitch (3 length), stretching the fabric slightly as I sew. Whenever I use my sewing machine's stretch stitch, the seams and hems get stetched out and puckered.
10/13/06 6:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 7998
photo
Review by Tallahasse... on 11/23/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB025FB Frenchy Bags
photo
Review by SarahSM on 9/3/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2160 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2160 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1564 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1564 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us