Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6860 (6 - 16 Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1358 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/22/06 2:00 AM
Last Updated:10/22/06 5:05 PM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
it looks lovely and not at all home-made looking.
10/22/06 3:18 AM
Marie-Claude said...
I LOVE your fabric! It's gorgeous!! (the dress too, of course ;-)) And no, it doesn't look homemade, if you ask me.
10/22/06 4:25 AM
Sanibelle said...
I agree with the others; absolutely nothing home-made looking about this dress. I'm in awe of your ability to look at a simple pattern and make it special. Your choice of fabric is perfect for your tropical destination. Have a wonderful trip!
10/22/06 6:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very helpful details on the alterations and construction changes. I hope we'll get to see pictures of you wearing your creations when you get back. Love your bright-eyed friend in the background.
10/22/06 6:53 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
O just love your dress, and your necklace is faboo!
10/22/06 7:23 AM
Mermie said...
Your dress is gorgeous and does not look home made to me at all. Great work Leslie!
10/22/06 7:38 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
Your cat seems to be absolutely bedazzled by your hot dress. Congrats on a well-done job and a super-clean house!
10/22/06 8:35 AM
blue mooney said...
I don't detect the home-made look at all! You will look fabulous on your trip!
10/22/06 8:51 AM
carolynw said...
Unbless there is something hidden in your picture I cannot understand why you think it looks home made. It is beautiful and I love the fabric - this is one to show off!!
10/22/06 9:00 AM
Rhoda K said...
Home-made? No way - it's beautiful.
10/22/06 9:06 AM
Stacy Sews said...
It's beautiful - I love the color and the changes you've made. It doesn't look homemade at all!
10/22/06 10:32 AM
PegL said...
Looks just like a classy high dollar boutique shop dress! Great review! You're going to look amazing in your new wardrobe on your trip! Have fun!
10/22/06 11:30 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous dress!!! Defintely doesn't look like a "Made By Happy Hands at Home".
10/22/06 12:18 PM
Lyera said...
Classy and gorgeous - and the fabric is exquisite. I agree with others that there's nothing homemade about this dress, not to mention that your design changes are smart. BTW, it would really be worth the trip to Kerrville to pick up some fabrics there - thanks for the tip. (I'm also lost in Austin).
10/22/06 12:27 PM
Deepika said...
Lovely dress Leslie. Love the necklace too. Happy anniversary!
10/22/06 12:55 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What a great fabric, jewelry combo. Sophisticated! I'll bet this is cute on you. Enjoy your anniversary trip, Leslie! Thank you for sharing. Carla
10/22/06 2:55 PM
BjP said...
I'm curious as to why you feel this is too "homemade" looking. I think we all don't see that so am wondering what you weren't pleased with. It looks great to me - and I am in envy of that waistline of yours! :)
10/22/06 3:06 PM
Ann Smith said...
It looks great to me (and I think the cat likes it too).
10/22/06 3:13 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Wow everyone! Thanks for the overwhelming comments! I think what makes this dress seem "happy hands at home" is the straps. They're not cut on as part of the bodice, just tubes sewn into the bodice edge seam. Also, although it's a really luxurious rayon batik, when I look at the finished dress, it looks like clothing made from quilting fabric. All that said, after one umbrella-adorned adult beverage on the beach, I'm sure I'll love this dress. :-) I've added a few links to the review, including a closeup of the great necklace and another photo of the kitty who attended my mini fashion show.
10/22/06 3:37 PM
CSchiffgens said...
Very cute dress and great necklace. Cute and good taste too - what a guy! I like all the links you added.
10/22/06 5:10 PM
CSchiffgens said...
Very cute and great necklace. Cute and good taste too - what a guy! I like all the links you added.
10/22/06 5:13 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Jezebel loves you, there is not a doubt. Gorgeous dress, and it does in NO way say, "Hi, I'm Leslie, and I make these". :)
10/22/06 7:09 PM
CSM--Carla said...
The saraong sure adds SIZZLE!!! Very nice! Great idea--is it just a rectangle of fabric--or did you use a pattern? Amazing how it adds to the look. Carla
10/22/06 8:00 PM
JDpenelope said...
Yes, the sarong kicks it up a notch. Great outfit. Does Jezebel have a foot fetish, along with that fashion sense?
10/22/06 8:26 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful sundress! It doesn't scream like you think it does. Your outfit and accessories are put together to well to scream homemade! I love the different looks you get with the sarong. I can smell the salt in the air and feel the sand between my toes just looking at your outfits tonight!
10/22/06 10:45 PM
patsijean said...
Straps are done that way all the time... Wear this great dress with a smile.
10/23/06 1:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice dress. Love the sarong idea. Enjoy your trip.
10/23/06 5:14 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
L, what a cute dress. It's simple silhouette is nice, and it gussies up well with the additional wraps. Jezebel is quite adorable, too.
10/23/06 10:26 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
I like this very much Leslie, especially with the sarong worn both ways. This is the perfect outfit for your big 10th! Have a great time: for sure, you'll be the best looking and best dressed woman at the resort.
10/23/06 10:37 AM
Peggy L said...
Great dress! It looks really nice with the new necklace. You'll be the best dressed person at the resort. Please tell me it is not in the path of the hurricane?? DD is going to the west coast of Mexico on her honeymoon so we are watching!
10/23/06 10:52 AM
OP Gal said...
Cute dress. Adorable cat, too.
10/23/06 2:54 PM
JaneH said...
Beautiful dress!!
10/23/06 5:48 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Leslie, I'm so glad you had more of the fabric. The sarong is a great finishing touch. You're going to enjoy having this dress.
10/24/06 9:52 AM
olbiddy said...
Your Jezabel, my Cali - they could be twins. Now only if I was as tall and slim as you.....
10/24/06 7:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2922
photo
Review by karen n on 2/25/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 9586
photo
Review by sewdc on 6/7/11
Read Review

McCalls 6885 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6885 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2526 Pattern( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 2526 Pattern( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us