Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Onion: 2014 (knit wrap dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2058 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/06 11:38 AM
Last Updated:11/5/06 12:26 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
WOW, It's really pretty. I am amazed at you ladies who don't need the instructions that much. It looks great for a wearable muslin. Thank you.
10/29/06 11:48 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous dress Sue! It definitely looks nothing like a bathrobe. I really need to try an Onion pattern, but I've been so busy sewing lots of Ottobre patterns since the kids need clothng worse then me. Sounds like some "mommy" sewing is in order. Enjoy your beautiful new dress! :-)
10/29/06 11:50 AM
Elona said...
What a cute dress, drsue! It looks very trim and sleek, and the ribbon ties give it a nice little kick.
10/29/06 11:55 AM
sewbehind said...
Great dress that doesn't look like a bathrobe! Looks very pretty and I like the crossed ties at the back.
10/29/06 1:06 PM
CarolynGM said...
No way it looks like a bathrobe. Instead, it's very shapely and cute with its crossed ribbon belt and fitted torso. I just received my first order of Onion patterns and can't wait to try one.
10/29/06 3:00 PM
Carolyndh said...
Drsue, Does the pattern of the fabric have a facial image? Couldn't tell for sure, but I really like the effect! For someone with the trim waist such as yourself, no doubt this will be a very flattering style with many compliments!
10/29/06 3:18 PM
Zaneta said...
I love it, looks like a really nice comfortable style...
10/29/06 3:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous dress! Chic and flattering!
10/29/06 3:40 PM
drsue said...
Carolyndh: I'm calling this the Rhorshac (sp?) Inkblot Test dress. There really aren't faces in the pattern but you can "see" such things if you use your imagination. Thank you all for your nice comments. The dress actually looks better on me than it does on the dress form (something that's not always the case.)
10/29/06 3:50 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Dr Sue, that is lovely. The X on the back is cute - must copy that on something :)
10/29/06 4:16 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice job. I'll bet it looks very pretty on you.
10/29/06 4:27 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
It looks very nice. Great drape and great neckline.
10/29/06 4:58 PM
lmg said...
Very pretty. This looks like another great Onion pattern. Thanks for all your tips on altering. They appear to be similar to mine.
10/29/06 7:31 PM
frame said...
It's very pretty. Doesn't look like a bathrobe.
10/29/06 7:53 PM
Lori Sews said...
Very nice. I love the tie.
10/29/06 8:12 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful dress and fabric! Can't wait to see it in the grey -- that will be a classic!
10/29/06 10:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice dress. I like the look of the ties in the back.
10/30/06 5:08 AM
SBanks said...
Great dress and "bathrobe" did not come to mind when I first saw the picture. I've just got into Marfy patterns, and now I'm getting lured to the Onion patterns . . . . could be a worse addiction.
10/30/06 5:14 AM
slanden99 said...
Very pretty--I love the ribbon
10/30/06 11:09 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
That back is really lovely
10/30/06 11:36 AM
MariaDenmark said...
The grey dress is very elegant! I was going to try the collar on my next (winter) version - so thank you for the heads up!
11/5/06 12:35 PM
Ann Smith said...
Your end result looks excellent. I love the black stitching that really sets this dress off.
11/5/06 2:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
The black coverstitching really makes the new version very special. The collar sounds tricky, but it looks very, very nice.
11/5/06 2:26 PM
dreamdesigner said...
I really like this Sue. What is the grey fabric? And the black "trim", is that the coverstitching? I'm not familiar with this, and considering I already have 3 SMs, 1 serger, and 1 EM (sort of), I'm definitely NOT in the market for a machine that only accomplishes what looks like double needle topstitching, but I DO like it!
11/5/06 3:11 PM
drsue said...
dreamd: the fabric is rayon lycra (EOS). Yes, the "trim" is the underside of a coverstitch. So in this case the straight double needle look is on the inside of the dress. You could probably do somthing similar with a regular double needle if the bobbin tension is really low.
11/5/06 3:16 PM
lmg said...
This new version is quite elegant. Another Onion pattern for my list
11/5/06 4:12 PM
Erica B. said...
What an adorable wrap dress!
11/5/06 4:50 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Gorgeous. The collar is just fantastic.
11/5/06 7:08 PM
AnneM said...
Good info, Susan! I like the subtlety of the grey dressn.
11/5/06 8:07 PM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you so much for such a detailed review and for showing us both versions. I love the black stitching on grey. A very elegant dress!
11/6/06 8:18 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your comments about the collar are interesting, because it looks so special in this photo. Thanks for your detailed instructions.
11/6/06 7:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 4668 Bag
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 5/15/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6357
photo
Review by lovenicky on 8/21/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us