Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2005-111 (Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2156 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/06 2:41 PM
Last Updated:12/29/06 3:22 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
62 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Perfection!
11/6/06 2:51 PM
Seaspur said...
So you've just insprired me to dig out this BWOF issue. Love the top, great review, thanks!
11/6/06 3:20 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Super lovely!!
11/6/06 3:21 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Debbie that's just lovely. I was all prepared so see another muslin saga! Glad to see you didn't have to go thru that again. I see LOTS of women wearing RTW tops where the underbust seam hits them about mid-boob (definitely NOT a problem for me, but my dd has this problem) and I have to say I always think that if they could sew, they wouldn't have this problem, but again, I have just the opposite problem! Fortunately, I generally don't have to make any adjustments.
11/6/06 3:41 PM
Lynngray said...
Look great on you. And wonderful review.
11/6/06 3:44 PM
carolynw said...
I just love the top and the fabric is gorgeous.and it looks wonderful on you. Don't wear this while cooking - wear it out on the town - that's where it belongs!!
11/6/06 3:55 PM
mrspenguin said...
I love that print fabric. And I am very jealous of the stash I saw in the background of one of your photos!
11/6/06 3:59 PM
Skymom said...
Looks nice on the dress form, but so much better on you. Whatever steps you had to go through to get the fit right, it was worth it--this is really flattering!
11/6/06 4:15 PM
Levone said...
Lovely top!
11/6/06 4:21 PM
AngieC said...
I love the style and the fabric!
11/6/06 4:24 PM
vespabelle said...
ooh I love it. I've been afraid of sewing an empire waist top but this gives me more confidence to do it. (I saw a slender small-breasted woman on the cover on a magazine and her empire waist top hit her across the breasts so it's not just a problem for the endowed! )
11/6/06 5:28 PM
Ann Smith said...
Looks great. I love that color and print on you.
11/6/06 5:39 PM
Moxie said...
Another winner. The inside of your garments look as good as the outside. Thanks for the detailed review.
11/6/06 5:40 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Great top, Debbie! I love the fabric's colours. What did you use for the trim?
11/6/06 5:53 PM
Donna H said...
As usual, ALL your hard work/determination pays off. Looks great!
11/6/06 6:00 PM
Rhoda K said...
As always, a great looking top and a great review. Your reviews are always so helpful. Thanks.
11/6/06 6:15 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Love it, love, love it! The fit, fabric, style, beads and of course those cuffs. I recognised them instantly when I saw the pattern pieces. :)
11/6/06 6:22 PM
Dale C said...
I will have to come back to read this again! I saw this top and thought about making it too, but I don't have a nice woven. I'll try it in one of the nice knits I have too! Thanks for the review Debbie. Looks great.
11/6/06 6:44 PM
Vonnevo said...
Another fabulous top and excellent review. I wish there was a 5***** category and a VERY VERY helpful button for your reviews :) I love the sleeves too.. great inspiration from Belinda there.
11/6/06 6:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is one of my favorite tops that I've seen you make. It is extremely flattering on you -- make about 25 more.
11/6/06 6:52 PM
Kay Y said...
Wow - great timing for me as I just pulled this issue of WOF out with a view to tracing the same top. This looks wonderful. So nice of the sewing goddesses to cut you some slack.
11/6/06 6:59 PM
JDpenelope said...
I LOVE IT! (Sorry about shouting.)
11/6/06 7:35 PM
tlmck3 said...
That looks wonderful! That mid-boob seam thing makes me NUTS. I really think lots of women think that's the way it SHOULD be. Empire tops make me nervous because I am large busted, but you have made this one look very tempting. It's beau coups flattering!
11/6/06 7:40 PM
moushka said...
Debbie, you're a real inspiration to us +size sewists. The fit is impeccable and I just love the beads and contrast binding. Beautiful, beautiful work. Sue
11/6/06 7:46 PM
Jacqui315 said...
The top looks fab on you!!! Who are those mid boob seams made for anyway? I have the same problem.
11/6/06 8:03 PM
christine A said...
Deb, I love your tutorials and reviews for these styles especially. Did you do a FBA with you pattern software? Did you use you normal size?
11/6/06 8:41 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely top. Love the fabric, looks rather fallish and perfect for Florida.
11/6/06 9:04 PM
Lori V said...
Fabulous, Debbie. Love the empire detailing, the tie and the beads. It is all just grand, I can see why this is your new favorite.
11/6/06 9:06 PM
BeckyW said...
Debbie, your top is just beautiful. If it were me, I would make one in every color!
11/6/06 9:43 PM
OP Gal said...
Adorable top, Debbie, and you look great in it. I'll rest easy knowing you won't ignite yourself with your cuffs. Great detailed review. Thanks.
11/6/06 9:49 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous top. You lok great in it. Thanks for terrific review!
11/6/06 9:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I have had my eye on the pattern in my Burda WOF magazine since it was published. I'm not sure why I have yet to make it, but you've inspired me. The top looks gorgeous on you and I adore your fabric choice. I'm also happy to know the knit fabric worked out so well. I appreciate the very helpful review!
11/6/06 10:25 PM
PVA said...
Wow, do I love that fabric! The top is absolutely beautiful & your construction techniques are awesome! The review is so detailed Burda should consider having you write their instructions. (If that ever happens I might decide to try some of their patterns!) (Fat chance!)
11/6/06 10:35 PM
kremmer said...
Thanks for a great review. Very inspiring.
11/7/06 0:30 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Fabbo
11/7/06 1:57 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Ooh, I really like this one! The combo of the fabric, beads and cuffs - very noice! I like what I see...
11/7/06 5:11 AM
PixieCat said...
It's beautiful! I love the beads and style.
11/7/06 5:22 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Very nice - perfect fit and fabric. Your ties are impeccable looking, and the beads on the ends are just fabulous.
11/7/06 6:12 AM
Nancy K said...
As usual a great and informative review. I love seeing your reviews because I too have to do an fba and seeing how you do it is a big incentive to tackle tops like this. I too can't buy off the rack tops like this either but it is extremely flattering on you and you encourage all of us with 'goddess bodies' to try new things too.
11/7/06 8:31 AM
KinDE said...
Thank you for such a helpful and detailed review of this style and its construction.
11/7/06 8:34 AM
dvazz said...
I love it! The fabric is really gorgeous, and the style and color look great on you!
11/7/06 8:55 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Wow! Thanks so much everyone! I can see that I must make more of these.

christine A, the pattern software drafts to my measurements so no manual FBA is needed. There is no "size" except custom for my measurements. HTH

Lorna, The trim is a lightweight/silky rayon/Lycra knit. It's very slippery and gave me a bit of a fit in my binder so I cut the strips a bit wider for a little more "beef" as it fed through.
11/7/06 9:57 AM

AndreaP said...
I love your top. It's so flattering! It's my new favorite, too.
11/7/06 10:20 AM
Carolyndh said...
I just echo what everyone else has said--totally awesome top. Did you say somewhere which BWOF this pattern came from?
11/7/06 11:16 AM
ACB said...
You look great!
11/7/06 11:40 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Very nice!
11/7/06 12:15 PM
slanden99 said...
Wow!
11/7/06 1:13 PM
lmg said...
I agree. This is a VERY flattering top for you. I have always wanted to see this top made up. Excellent helpful tips too.
11/7/06 4:45 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Debbie, this is my new favorite top too. Too bad I don't have that issue. (Now I'm feeling sorry for myself, boohoo) You did a great job and thanks for all the pics. I love that fabric too.
11/12/06 12:30 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow! another winner. Love the fabric.
12/29/06 3:59 PM
sewbehind said...
Looks good...again! You have wonderful tutorials and reviews. So helpful.
12/29/06 5:19 PM
Vonnevo said...
Debbie, love your "mad dash" top. The colour is perfect for you, coordinates beautifully with your new jeans amd looks fabulous.
12/29/06 5:29 PM
Nancy K said...
This top is nice too. I have to get around to making one Since you obviously have a lot of fabric, (The background of your photo} I am assuming you buy because it looks wonderful and you can't resist it, not necessarily for a specific project. Do you have specific amounts that you order for tops?
12/29/06 5:47 PM
Lori V said...
Another great new top, Debbie.
12/29/06 6:58 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Debbie, once again lovely. You create such professional looking things, and I LOVE the combo of the sheer fabric over the fleshtone knit. I've often thought about doing this, but was unsure about how to go about it. I'm curious as to HOW you used the glue stick. I've seen some fabric very similiar to this at Hancocks and everytime I see it, I'm intrigued, but unsure about what to do with it. Off to look at you jeans review.
12/29/06 8:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty top! I also enjoyed your blog, Debbie! ~ Louella
12/29/06 10:36 PM
Debbie Cook said...
dreamdesigner, I use the glue stick to "baste" the two fabrics together in the seam allowance area, with a line of glue dots. This works great for washable fabrics/garments since the glue stick is water soluable. It dries quickly and doesn't gum up the needle because it's dry and it's in the seam allowance, not the seam.
12/30/06 0:31 AM
34state said...
I love this pattern! How do you obtain the pattern now if you don't have that issue?
12/30/06 8:28 AM
JDpenelope said...
Sewing fast doesn't "slow down" your professional results. This top is simply amazing.
12/30/06 9:52 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I LOVE these tops! I was wondering how the "drawstring tie" detail worked. Thanks so much for your great informative review. fabulous style. can't wait to make some too out of knits. Contrast knit binding looks so cool. AND the beads.
12/30/06 12:11 PM
cmarie12 said...
Debbie ~ can I just add my gushing comments to the rest! It is an absolutely stunning top! I saw it on your blog and thought how cool. You did a great job interpreting it and made me look twice at this pattern.
12/30/06 5:59 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
I love it! You did a great job bring this to 'life' in a knit.
12/30/06 6:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

New Look 6626
photo
Review by maridunn on 12/14/07
Read Review

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6022
photo
Review by MarianS on 8/27/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6508 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6508 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6019 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 6019 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us