SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> Groovy Guitars (Groovy Guitars)

Viewed 952 times 
Reviewed by:PegL
photo

 
 
About PegLstar
MO USA
Member since: 2/18/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/06 0:54 AM
Last Updated:11/22/06 1:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
That's a truly beautiful quilt. Your nephew is bound to love it.
11/22/06 1:32 AM
Tov said...
Wow!
11/22/06 1:33 AM
CarolynD said...
What a beautiful quilt. I love the colors. It is just great.
11/22/06 1:53 AM
Pam Z said...
I don't think the Quilt Police will come after you! Gorgeous quilting on a fun quilt. I'm sure he'll love it.
11/22/06 2:05 AM
e_e_thomas said...
That's marvelous!
11/22/06 5:40 AM
JDpenelope said...
To an avid non-quilter, this is truly an amazing project. Since quilting is somewhat of a mystery to me, I enjoyed reading your details and seeing the photos of the entire process. The recipients will surely enjoy this awesome creation for years to come, but I wonder if they'll realize how much time, talent and devotion went into it.
11/22/06 6:38 AM
Peggy L said...
It's wonderful! I loved seeing all the pictures "along the way"!! Your nephew is going to love this.
11/22/06 6:56 AM
noreend said...
WOW! That is fabulous. What a truly unique and heartfelt wedding gift!
11/22/06 7:04 AM
Sherril Miller said...
You've made a stunning piece of art. The applique work is beautiful and I love the FMQ you've done. You've inspired me to get that baby quilt done sooner rather than later as the baby's due soon.
11/22/06 7:22 AM
kmouse said...
Get outta town! This is fabulous! Great review! Congrats to your nephew and his new wife. What more can I say?
11/22/06 7:31 AM
BeckyC said...
Your quilt for your nephew and his bride is unique and beautiful. A true gift made of love!
11/22/06 7:42 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful ... wow YOu did a marvelous job I love it..
11/22/06 7:42 AM
ACB said...
Cute, cute, cute!
11/22/06 7:51 AM
moss said...
That is incredible. So gorgeous. Thanks for taking us "behind the scenes". What a fascinating read.
11/22/06 8:37 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
This is so great! Love the design and the colors you chose. What an incredible gift. Making something like that must really make your soul sing. To steal Joanne's phrase, I, too, am an avid non-quilter and am mystified by the quilt process. Your behind-the-scenes photos and description were fascinating.
11/22/06 8:52 AM
Jayme said...
WOW! Love your quilt! I have only ventured into the world of rag quilts, yours is a piece of art, created by loving hands!
11/22/06 8:52 AM
BjP said...
What a fabulous quilt! Truly a work of art. Love it!
11/22/06 9:20 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Brilliant! I just love, love this quilt. Your pictures are a fabulous story of all the hard work and love that went into this wonderful gift. Thank you so much for sharing your quilt story.
11/22/06 9:22 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow! This is such a beautiful quilt - you did a fantastic job!
11/22/06 9:39 AM
pterion said...
What a cool quilt! And what a thoughtful gift...can I be in your family? ;-)
11/22/06 10:13 AM
Mini said...
That's the nicest quilt I've seen in a long time, and I know it will be treasured by the recipient. You are right about the borders-the guitars definitely need to be the star attraction.
11/22/06 10:27 AM
Sanibelle said...
What an incredibly special gift. And 94 separate pieces to trace -- that's a loving aunt! Thank you so much for taking the time to share the process with us.
11/22/06 11:13 AM
sherri2sew said...
Another WOW!
11/22/06 1:19 PM
PegL said...
Oh my! I've been busy getting ready to go out of town and just popped in and feel overwhelmed by all the sweet responses from everyone! Thank you so much!!
11/22/06 1:47 PM
Irene Q said...
Great quilt - and thanks for the detailed review!
11/22/06 3:22 PM
Pyrose said...
Awesome looking quilt! I love guitars. You did a wonderful job describing the process to us.
11/22/06 4:03 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Yr nephew will be very pleased with your gift. That's truly is a good looking quilt. I luv the color combo too ! Sigh.. Only wish I had yr talent.
11/22/06 9:51 PM
Stephanie C. said...
Stunning! I am a non quilter, but I truly appreciate all the work that you put into this.
11/23/06 3:07 AM
PixieCat said...
What an incredible quilt! Your nephew is going to love it. Thank you for all of the photos.
11/23/06 6:14 AM
carolynw said...
From a fellow quilter - wow!! This is so beautiful and original. You obviously put a lot of thought and effort into producing such a beautiful quilt!! A real heirloom for your nephew.
11/23/06 8:34 AM
lilhoney57 said...
The quilt is absolutely fantastic! My dh would LOVE it!
11/23/06 9:42 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a great quilt, a real piece of art. Excellent job, thanks for sharing this.
11/23/06 11:38 AM
SewLimited said...
This is much better than the original picture!! My Mom, before she had Alzheimer's, would make a quilt for family members weddings and birthdays to match what they were interested in. She also made baby quilts for all the new babies at her church. Sadly, she could never get me to catch the quilting bug but I love the devotion and dedication others give to it. The last quilt she made me is my favorite treasure.
11/23/06 7:59 PM
RuthieSews said...
Absolutely gorgeous! What a great wedding gift.
11/24/06 1:06 PM
SarahSews said...
Just Lovely, and your directions for making your quilt were wonderful. Thank-you for sharing your expertise with us.
11/25/06 11:10 AM
AnneM said...
Nothing I'll ever make (94 pieces, good grief) but it looks great. I'm sure they will love it.
11/27/06 9:40 AM
candyo said...
That is an awesome quilt! I bet someone would pay big money for that. It's truly art.
11/27/06 7:06 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Stunning gift. I know enough about quilting to really appreciate your talent. Wow!
11/28/06 4:20 PM
Lois Henegar said...
The quilt is beautiful and made perfectly, so the couple should be pleased, if not give him a punch, ha! Grandmothers would be so proud of you, and I know they were but did not know how smart you would become in their loved art.
11/30/06 11:54 AM
eyveneen said...
Hi PegL, You do such beautiful work, and it all looks so professional. Your mitered corners look so precise. I am inspired.
12/2/06 0:55 AM
eyveneen said...
Hi PegL, You do such beautiful work, and it all looks so professional. Your mitered corners look so precise. I am inspired.
12/2/06 0:56 AM
anna mermaid said...
Peg, This is a wonderful quilt and gift! I do the same thing you do - I consider washing my quilts as the last step in the process. I want people to know exactly what they are getting!
12/2/06 10:11 AM
anna mermaid said...

12/2/06 10:21 AM
texas quilter said...
Great info about the construcion of this quilt. I have been searching for this Groovy Guitars pattern, Robbi Eklow & Quilting Arts do not carry it anymore. Anyone know where I can buy it?
7/28/07 11:19 AM
daylilies said...
Your quilt and quilting is beautiful! I just discovered this pattern and find it is not available. Does anyone know how or where I can get one? Thanks!
5/9/10 7:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns V8804

photo
by: redside

Review
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Other Gertie\'s NBBS

photo
by: Cashrhymes

Review