SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5210 (Bergman Blouse)

9 more reviews
Viewed 2257 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynD
photo

 
 
About CarolynDstar
NJ USA
Member since: 12/31/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/06 2:30 PM
Last Updated:11/25/06 2:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 46 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Your blouse looks beautiful and it looks like you did a very nice job on it. I like your idea of using something sheer to show off the seaming.
11/25/06 2:59 PM
Seaspur said...
That is very pretty. I dn't generally care for LH patterns but your review has made me think I might get this one, thanks.
11/25/06 3:21 PM
RuthieSews said...
lovely neckline finish, and nice detailed review
11/25/06 3:22 PM
Sewshot said...
Very pretty blouse, and nice comments on the pattern. I like the change you made, using the narrow facing on the neckline. One question - did you use a bias strip for the facing, or cut a facing matching the shape of the pattern neckline?
11/25/06 3:38 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty blouse on you!
11/25/06 4:03 PM
drsue said...
Great review!! Nice to know what you are in for on a new pattern.
11/25/06 4:10 PM
CarolynD said...
I cut a facing that matched the pattern. I have tried using bias binding in the past and have stretched out my necklines. There is probably a technique to properly sewing bias on that I don't know about, so this is how I do it and it seems to work.
11/25/06 4:14 PM
ACB said...
Looks great, lovely work!
11/25/06 4:17 PM
dvazz said...
Very nice! I was hoping someone would review this so I could check it out. Thanks for the warning on the neckline!
11/25/06 5:33 PM
Susan R said...
Thanks for this very helpful review. I have ordered this pattern from PR, am looking forward to trying it. I think that it might make into a pretty dress, just by adding a gathered or pleated skirt.
11/25/06 5:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really like the way you did the neckline. Your facing makes a very smooth, professional finish. The clean simple lines on this top are just lovely.
11/25/06 6:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really like the way you did the neckline. Your facing makes a very smooth, professional finish. The clean simple lines on this top are just lovely.
11/25/06 6:01 PM
fuzzygalore said...
The average head is 22"! So it's not just you that'd have a problem getting it over your head. Love your fabric though :-).
11/25/06 6:39 PM
tlmck3 said...
LH patterns and taller women can be a definite issue. I always have to lengthen them by astounding amounts and tweak the neck and shoulder fit which I find odd. I'm 5'8" and just find them very difficult to fit properly, especially considering how relatively unfitted they are. Yours looks great.
11/25/06 8:06 PM
Diane E said...
Carolyn, this is a really pretty blouse. Thanks for your terrific review; it'll definitely help me when I make mine.
11/25/06 8:30 PM
Mini said...
The proportion of this top looks really good on you because of your adjustments, but these patterns do seem to run small unless made up in knits or stretch fabrics. Thanks for reviewing this, and for your helpful observations on the fit and neck size. Judging from the line drawings and your description, this seems like the Textile Studio Basic Top (designed by LH when she was with Textile Studio), but with princess seams added. Most reviewers found the neck opening too small on that one too.
11/25/06 9:27 PM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous !!!
11/25/06 9:34 PM
kathleenb said...
Carolyn, thanks for the helpful review. I actually have the pattern on order, and will make a S instead of my usual XS based on your observations (I'm 5'8" and always add lots of length to LH patterns too). Even though you think it looks snug, I think your top looks better than the pattern photo!
11/25/06 11:23 PM
Elona said...
Pretty, pretty top! As others have mentioned, the neckline on this top and others of the same type seems to be small. I think it would be a simple matter in the case of the Bergman to use a center back seam and just put the keyhole opening there, instead of in front. That way, you'd get the tidy jewel neck, and could even make it higher if you wanted, while still being ble to get it over your head.
11/25/06 11:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty blouse! The neckline issue was a concern I had and glad you addressed this in your review. I had the same problem with the Bianca Sweater and that was made in a knit. I had to scoop out the neckline with that one, so will remember this should I decide to make this one.
11/26/06 7:29 AM
AnneM said...
Love your shirt! I wear pull-over blouses a lot and haven't round a pattern I like yet. This one looks like it has real possibilities for me.
11/26/06 9:43 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Nice looking blouse! I like your idea to use a sheer fabric to accentuate the seams.
11/26/06 10:28 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Looks adorable on you. Very helpful review.
11/26/06 2:56 PM
SusiM said...
Thank you for your very thoughful review. I especially appreciate the detailed information you shared about the sizing in relation to your height and measurements. That helps me a lot! It is a very attractive blouse on you.
11/26/06 4:12 PM
OP Gal said...
Pretty top. Thanks for the review.
11/26/06 6:33 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for great review: all the suggestions are very helpful. Your top looks perfect on you, and now that you know the pitfalls of pattern, you'll be able to whip up many more of these: it's a very attractive pattern for you.
11/27/06 11:16 AM
AuntieShel said...
Just want to add my thanks for your review. I have been waiting for someone to review this, it looks like a great pattern. Thank you also for the tip about the too-small neckline. I will be sure to measure this when I make it. (I'm pretty sure my head is about 22-23".) Your top looks terrific on you!
11/28/06 12:48 PM
Liana said...
Very nice. I always have trouble visualizing her designs from the pattern photos. Yours is so much nicer.
11/28/06 2:34 PM
Wilbur said...
So helpful to get the skinny on a pattern before trying it. Thanks.
12/31/06 2:12 PM
LornaJay said...
Just wondering if you've had another go at it? I'm surprised you could get a woven on with that little ease!
1/23/07 2:21 AM
Karine said...
I appreciated the detailed comments on fit. The resulting blouse is beautiful.
2/7/07 5:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
Many thanks for a really useful review. Your blouse looks lovely on you.
3/9/11 6:33 PM
velma42 said...
I pulled this pattern out for the first time yesterday and wondered if anyone else had these issues: What is drawn on the pattern as View A and View B are reversed in the sewing instructions. The back pattern piece says "Cut 1 on Fold" but the instructions indicate sewing a back seam. So which is it - fold or seam? The pattern line drawing indicates a fold.
12/2/13 3:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 7845

photo
by: canyonlady...

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
McCall's 5860

photo
by: Byrdie

Review