SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4885 (Dog Coats)

10 more reviews
Viewed 3391 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/06 7:01 PM
Last Updated:12/8/06 3:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pets    Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ceedee said...
Nice! Love the color choices. Smart decision to change out the wool and I like your idea of making it reversable. Timely review with Xmas around the corner; you make it sound so easy I just might try one for my little guy.
11/26/06 8:00 PM
khurtdvm said...
Very cute! And practical. Hope your sister appreciates it! :)
11/26/06 9:11 PM
Sharon M said...
Oh, I'm such a sucker for dog clothes! This is adorable and I'm sure your sister will be very appreciative. Good choice to not make something with the "sleeves" as it is almost impossible to get the dogs legs into the sleeves if they don't want them there (ask me how I know!) The embroidery if very cute too.
11/26/06 9:23 PM
luvzdogz said...
This is adorable! I love the embroidery embellishment on it - did you get that from a website? By the way, I looked hrough your gallery and you've made some adorable items. I love the hat and scarf set too.
11/26/06 10:03 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That's very nice! I love the green. My dog is 28 inches, and I've never found a pattern big enough. Thanks for sharing how you were able to grade it larger.
11/26/06 10:05 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute. Something makes me think that this won't be the last dog coat you will make!
11/27/06 0:11 AM
mewiththree said...
First of all, I'm an engineer too! Computer engineer by trade, sewer by choice. I love this dog coat! I have been thinking about making a dog coat for my little puppy! She is a beautiful labrador. She's only five months and already big. Although, I live in the south, and we really don't get too cold, I just love dog clothes! Thanks for the helpful review!
11/27/06 6:31 AM
AnneM said...
What a cutie. He will look very fashionable. I particularly like the plaid side.
11/27/06 9:20 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I love plaid dog coats and the fleece choice is perfect. That green looks like it may even be good for night time dog walking.
11/27/06 12:14 PM
Frogstitcher said...
I love plaid dog coats and the fleece choice is perfect. That green looks like it may even be good for night time dog walking.
11/27/06 12:17 PM
ACB said...
Absolutely adorable, lucky little pooch!
11/27/06 8:36 PM
Jenilee said...
I am sooooo excited I just purchased this pattern and I am glad that it went together well. I have 4 chihuahua and a min. pincher and they love to get dressed when its cold out side. Thanks for the review.
11/28/06 7:43 PM
Stephanie C. said...
I love the new photo! Your coat is perfect and the dog is cute.
12/8/06 4:17 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your coat is great -- glad I didn't miss your review. This pattern looks better than most that I have seen. I made a similar reversible coat with collar like yours from a pattern I got free on a web site. You definitely *don't* want any sleeves in a dog coat! I made a welt buttonhole in my coat, to attach the leash to my dachshund's harness, worn underneath.
12/8/06 7:38 PM
CarolynGM said...
I think I want a dog so I can make it adorable coats like this one.
12/8/06 9:20 PM
Skymom said...
He's so handsome in his coat. I love dog clothes as long as they don't look too silly, and this one doesn't. Oh, I might as well admit it, I even enjoy silly dog clothes!
12/8/06 9:50 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Nădao does indeed look very dapper in his new coat. Looks like a perfect fit.
12/9/06 10:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-107

photo
by: lbreton

Review
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now