Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Fundraising Sampler Quilt - Type:Quilts    printable version
Viewed 690 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/06 11:46 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dale C said...
What a wonderful idea for fundraising. I think I will offer this suggestion up to the Band Booster Board next year. This year, they are raffling off a koa rocking chair, beautifully handmade by one of our boosters. I think this would be a great way to bring more parents together to support the group. Wonderful review. Do you mind if I print it up and bring it to one of our meetings? Lovely quilt too!
11/30/06 0:19 AM
AnitaJ said...
Beautiful quilt and inspirational review! Thanks for sharing the "how to's" and "learnings" from this project.
11/30/06 1:05 AM
Donna H said...
A truly amazing story. Thank you for sharing it. God bless.
11/30/06 1:35 AM
ElsaD said...
It's so good to have something concrete to do as we grief. And sewing gives us a great way to do that. This is an amazing project that you led, not just in raising money for the children which is wonderful but also in that this was a way to help so many deal with their grief in the process.
11/30/06 1:39 AM
OP Gal said...
What a wonderful idea. And, as a non-quilter, I'm always in awe of anyone who can do it. Beautiful quilt.
11/30/06 7:03 AM
BeckyC said...
What an extraordinary way to touch the lives of so many grieving co-workers and friends. I look at this beautiful quilt as not only for the benefit of the surviving children, but as a beautiful way for so many people to work through the pain of loss. You had a great idea and your efforts really paid off. Thank you so much for sharing the whole process.
11/30/06 7:50 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thanks for all the kind comments. Dale C (and others) by all means print this review and share it. I'm hoping that this review will give others some ideas for using theirs skills, as well as the talents of others, to benefit whatever causes they feel are worthwhile.
11/30/06 10:41 AM
Peggy L said...
What a wonderful project! The quilt is beautiful and the border is really pretty.
11/30/06 11:00 AM
PegL said...
What a beautiful quilt -- in more ways than one! Great review and wonderful example for the rest of us.
11/30/06 12:08 PM
Debbie Cook said...
What a wonderful and inspirational story, plus a great quilt too! Thanks for sharing it, and for having a big heart to help those in need.
11/30/06 12:29 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Your review is exceptionally inspirational and encouraging. I know just how much time and effort you put into this project and I'm in awe of your quilting and organisational skills as well the amount of compassion you showed so many people by taking on the project. This is beautifully executed, thank you for sharing.
11/30/06 12:48 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful quilt and a wonderful story. Bless you.
11/30/06 12:57 PM
khurtdvm said...
That is so incredible! Great review, and amazing story.
11/30/06 1:44 PM
Janime said...
The quilt is beautiful and your story is an inspiration. Thank you for sharing both with us.
11/30/06 2:02 PM
martinanne said...
That is fantastic! I am absolutely blown away! Wonderful!
11/30/06 2:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Amazing and inspiring!!!
12/1/06 5:23 AM
ACB said...
That's a work of art!
12/1/06 3:24 PM
carolynw said...
I am inspired by this - as Program Chair for our Quilt Guild we do make many, many "charity quilts" every year. However, the reason behind this and your way of getting it done is somethign I hope you won't mind my copying. Am shortly embarking on a "Comfort and Remembrance" Quilt - made for families of those who have lost a son/daughter in Afganistan - this is being done by several women but there have been many others made for the same reason by other groups. It is heart warming to know our skills can at times be used to help those in distress.
12/1/06 5:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Folkwear 270
photo
Review by Bushbunny on 5/1/11
Read Review

Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4598
photo
Review by Maree P on 1/9/10
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

By Hand London Georgia Dress
By Hand London Georgia Dress

Details
Price: $23.39
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us