SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Fundraising Sampler Quilt 

Viewed 690 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/06 11:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
I am inspired by this - as Program Chair for our Quilt Guild we do make many, many "charity quilts" every year. However, the reason behind this and your way of getting it done is somethign I hope you won't mind my copying. Am shortly embarking on a "Comfort and Remembrance" Quilt - made for families of those who have lost a son/daughter in Afganistan - this is being done by several women but there have been many others made for the same reason by other groups. It is heart warming to know our skills can at times be used to help those in distress.
12/1/06 5:23 PM
ACB said...
That's a work of art!
12/1/06 3:24 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Amazing and inspiring!!!
12/1/06 5:23 AM
martinanne said...
That is fantastic! I am absolutely blown away! Wonderful!
11/30/06 2:47 PM
Janime said...
The quilt is beautiful and your story is an inspiration. Thank you for sharing both with us.
11/30/06 2:02 PM
khurtdvm said...
That is so incredible! Great review, and amazing story.
11/30/06 1:44 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful quilt and a wonderful story. Bless you.
11/30/06 12:57 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Your review is exceptionally inspirational and encouraging. I know just how much time and effort you put into this project and I'm in awe of your quilting and organisational skills as well the amount of compassion you showed so many people by taking on the project. This is beautifully executed, thank you for sharing.
11/30/06 12:48 PM
Debbie Cook said...
What a wonderful and inspirational story, plus a great quilt too! Thanks for sharing it, and for having a big heart to help those in need.
11/30/06 12:29 PM
PegL said...
What a beautiful quilt -- in more ways than one! Great review and wonderful example for the rest of us.
11/30/06 12:08 PM
Peggy L said...
What a wonderful project! The quilt is beautiful and the border is really pretty.
11/30/06 11:00 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thanks for all the kind comments. Dale C (and others) by all means print this review and share it. I'm hoping that this review will give others some ideas for using theirs skills, as well as the talents of others, to benefit whatever causes they feel are worthwhile.
11/30/06 10:41 AM
BeckyC said...
What an extraordinary way to touch the lives of so many grieving co-workers and friends. I look at this beautiful quilt as not only for the benefit of the surviving children, but as a beautiful way for so many people to work through the pain of loss. You had a great idea and your efforts really paid off. Thank you so much for sharing the whole process.
11/30/06 7:50 AM
OP Gal said...
What a wonderful idea. And, as a non-quilter, I'm always in awe of anyone who can do it. Beautiful quilt.
11/30/06 7:03 AM
ElsaD said...
It's so good to have something concrete to do as we grief. And sewing gives us a great way to do that. This is an amazing project that you led, not just in raising money for the children which is wonderful but also in that this was a way to help so many deal with their grief in the process.
11/30/06 1:39 AM
Donna H said...
A truly amazing story. Thank you for sharing it. God bless.
11/30/06 1:35 AM
AnitaJ said...
Beautiful quilt and inspirational review! Thanks for sharing the "how to's" and "learnings" from this project.
11/30/06 1:05 AM
Dale C said...
What a wonderful idea for fundraising. I think I will offer this suggestion up to the Band Booster Board next year. This year, they are raffling off a koa rocking chair, beautifully handmade by one of our boosters. I think this would be a great way to bring more parents together to support the group. Wonderful review. Do you mind if I print it up and bring it to one of our meetings? Lovely quilt too!
11/30/06 0:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1332

photo
by: miausiau

Review
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

More Info
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

More Info