Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4068 (Threads Perfect Fit Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 3745 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 42 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/06 10:23 AM
Last Updated:12/29/06 3:13 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
65 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
Woo Hoo!! Look at the fit on the back of those pants!!! Congrats on your persistence and your success. Thanks for sharing the details of your fitting adventures. I've learned a lot from your trials. Hey, any chance you could post a side view photo too?
11/30/06 10:54 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Debbie, I have followed your trip down this road and have learned a lot from your experience. Have you tried the Jalie jeans yet? Being a bit fluffy myself, I found them to fit well with few adjustments even though I made them a few years ago (before I started fine tuning my pants). There are lots of sizes in the pattern as well. These pants are very nice indeed!
11/30/06 10:57 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Okay, that side view has me sold. I'm coming to Florida for a pants fitting workshop with you. Hope the Money Pit's guest room is ready!
11/30/06 11:11 AM
RuthieSews said...
Thank you for the review. I shall go and read up further on your blog about the fitting alterations. I have bought this pattern but not yet tried it. I wanted it for a slacks pattern but would not wear it as tight as the model on the picture. I think the photos show the tops tucked in so you can see the man's style waistband.
11/30/06 11:18 AM
Carolyndh said...
Looks like your research and hard work on perfect-fitting pants paid off! Very nice! Yeah, I agree about the photos of the models on the pattern--I remember thinking that the aesthetic effect of the fitted and tucked in tops was not a pleasing one.
11/30/06 11:19 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lorna, good idea! I think I even have that pattern. If so, I'm definitely going to see how it compares.
11/30/06 11:19 AM
RuthieSews said...
Just had a read of your blog and it makes my head hurts, but I will give it a go with a muslin at some point.
11/30/06 11:27 AM
PVA said...
Debbie, thanks for another great review! I will have to try this pattern. I'm still not quite satisfied with the one I'm currently using as a "TNT". Your pants look awesome & if you're going to be doing a pants workshop I do want in!
11/30/06 11:30 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the updated info on wedge alteration in your blog! I've done the FED and it didn't work for me - and I think the wedge isn't quite it either - but your statement to add fabric where it is needed has me going hmmmm. I'll take another look. As always, terrific, extremely helpful review!
11/30/06 11:43 AM
sewbehind said...
Wow, Debbie, those pants look good. I bet this will go in your tried and true bunch. I am going to read your blog. Thanks for the review.
11/30/06 11:56 AM
touran said...
Debbie, I learn so much from you. And these pants fit *incredibly* well. I'm wowed.
11/30/06 12:06 PM
blue mooney said...
Thanks for all the details, Debbie! Your pants look great. I may need to purchase this, if only to read about the menswear waistband.
11/30/06 12:12 PM
Liane M said...
Thanks for this great review. I have this laid out to make. I'm looking for slacks so maybe I'll have an easier time with the pattern. I agree that the model needs to "untuck"
11/30/06 12:17 PM
JudyP said...
Debbie, Your jeans look great! Have you tried S. Betzina's jeans pattern? alos a great fit for us plus size girls!
11/30/06 12:42 PM
Mermie said...
Your review is so helpful. I think the pants look great on you. You have inspired me to make myself a pair of pants that fit. Now I'm determined.
11/30/06 1:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your perseverence is very inspiring. I need to lock myself in the house and churn out muslins like you did until I figure out how to alter for bowlegs. Your pants are darn near perfect.
11/30/06 1:43 PM
Sewshot said...
Wow, what a wonderful review. I've book-marked your fisheye dart instructions for the day when I finally begin working on fitting pants for myself. Great pictures, wonderful markings for the pattern changes.
11/30/06 2:05 PM
Sewliz said...
Wow, nice fit, Debbie! I have recently come to a similar pants fitting conclusion, interesting.
11/30/06 2:12 PM
redsquid said...
Thanks Debbie - I've been reading PP FFRP and tuning into the idea that a wedge may be the way to go for some "additive" alterations rather than just moving out beyond the seam allowance - your pattern pieces marked up for alterations and photos really show how well this can work. Thanks for figuring this out, now I need to get some "cat whisker" (rather than fish eye) pants going! ~Linda
11/30/06 2:14 PM
LBJ said...
I'd make a million of those if I were you!
11/30/06 2:25 PM
Donna H said...
What's to add??? These are GREAT! Congratulations...You've done it!! They're not perfect...but then only Jesus was perfect. Great job, Debbie. Please post whenever you schedule that pants fitting workshop, ok?
11/30/06 2:32 PM
Donna H said...
What's to add??? These are GREAT! Congratulations...You've done it!! They're not perfect...but then only Jesus was perfect. Great job, Debbie. Please post whenever you schedule that pants fitting workshop, ok?
11/30/06 2:32 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Fabulous fit Debbie!
11/30/06 2:34 PM
mlt said...
Your bum looks awesome! You've mastered that fisheye!
11/30/06 2:44 PM
KristenI said...
Wow, they look great! Thanks for all the detailed steps,explanation and photos. I'm learnin'!
11/30/06 3:19 PM
Levone said...
Debbie, great looking pants that look fabulous on you.
11/30/06 3:37 PM
Marie_P. said...
WOW! You look like such a skinny little twig in those. Your pants are an excellent example of how the proper fit in a garment can be so flattering to the wearer!!!!
11/30/06 3:56 PM
woggy said...
Wow - terrific! Here is a thought. In viewing your blog, I noticed you cut down your front at the waistline. Could it be that you are a "petite" in the front and a regular size in the back. I am beginning to think that is my problem. On the "Petite Plus Patterns" webiste a satisfied customer of Pant Pattern 601 wrote that this pattern fit her petite front and regular back. Can hardly wait for the weekend so I can try your alterations on my pattern.
11/30/06 4:19 PM
BeckyC said...
Great looking pants Debbie! Thanks for sharing all the helpful adjustments you made on these pants. You've helped out a lot of us today.
11/30/06 4:36 PM
Vonnevo said...
Debbie, your pants are fabulous. Your perseverence is to be admired and your kindness in sharing your pants fitting journey with us, is very much appreciated. Thank you :)))
11/30/06 5:00 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Awesome fit Debbie! Woohoooooo! It was worth all the emails and head scratching. :)
11/30/06 5:05 PM
bunz said...
You really nailed it on these, Debbie. They look great! Hope whatever jeans you try will be easier because of this journey:-)
11/30/06 5:21 PM
OP Gal said...
Love those pants. I'll have to study up on that tutorial you linked before I tackle a "master" pants pattern. Thanks for doing all the work for the rest of us. :-)
11/30/06 7:23 PM
mClones said...
You have got incredible patience and stick-to-it-tiveness. I wish my butt looked like yours--I mean my pants butt! ;) Thanks so much for your generosity in sharing your process so meticulously. I have to go meditate on this...I'm going to soak in the bath.
11/30/06 9:37 PM
drsue said...
You are a fit master!!!
11/30/06 10:13 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I'm bouncing at this review Debbie ... I completely missed this pattern before, and I'm after slacks not jeans patterns. My britches road is severely potholed as well.
11/30/06 10:20 PM
KarmenG said...
That fit is awesome! Beautiful job - thank you so much for all the info and the time you spent giving us the detail.
11/30/06 10:39 PM
mastdenman said...
These are some great looking pants. You've nailed. it.
11/30/06 11:00 PM
keelyb1 said...
Oh Wow, Debbie! I've followed the tale on your blog as well. I'm in awe. Please come to NZ......please, please.....
12/1/06 4:47 AM
keelyb1 said...
Oh Wow, Debbie! I've followed the tale on your blog as well. I'm in awe. Please come to NZ......please, please.....
12/1/06 4:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job! One day I want to visit you and work on fitting pants for me! Great and helpful review. Photos are soo helpful!
12/1/06 5:22 AM
Elaray said...
Your work paid off! The fit is great. Thanks for all the detail in this review. It's very helpful.
12/1/06 5:40 AM
Erica B. said...
Great looking pants Debbie... I read all of the details on your blog... great review!
12/1/06 12:41 PM
sideseams said...
Debbi, I think Vonnevo has summed this review up perfectly. I agree 100%. Thank you for sharing all your knowledge with us. The pants fit you so well!
12/1/06 3:05 PM
ACB said...
Great review and a nice fit.
12/1/06 3:23 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debbie, the "slacks" look great! You have really perfected the fit. With all the trials and tribulations you and Belinda go through, I think I will stick to skirts ;)
12/1/06 5:35 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Well, you've just invented 'jean slacks'. I really like the look! Beautiful fit and beautiful construction details.
12/1/06 6:41 PM
LauraM62 said...
Those pants look great Debbie! You amaze me at the determination - you are motivation for me!
12/1/06 10:00 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Wow Debbie, what an awesome fit you have acheived!!!
12/1/06 10:00 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Fantastic looking fit! You look great. Thanks for all the great information.
12/2/06 9:08 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow!!! Great looking pants. Thanks for sharing your tips on fitting. I always enjoy reading your reviews. Very informative. Hint, hint, hint: I think if you have a fitting class...people will come. :)
12/3/06 4:54 AM
AnneM said...
It's nice when a plus pattern has a plus model! Those look great on you. You really have this pants thing down. I'm following Leslie down for the fitting workshop. :)
12/6/06 4:47 PM
Jane S said...
Debbie, Wow, your detailed instructions are jst what I needf since I have exactly the same issues in pants. Thank you, thank you, these area great Christmas present. And yes, I'm in Florida for the winter so I would gladly come for any fitting workshop from you!
12/8/06 9:35 AM
Nancy K said...
I do admire your perserverence or should I say obsession? Congratulations on your success and I hope that you wear your pants proudly.
12/29/06 4:49 PM
sewbehind said...
Those are so flattering on you, Debbie. Jazzy pocket bags too. May I ask what the Magic Wardrobe is? Curious....
12/29/06 5:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Debbie, looks great! Your top and pants are exceptional knock offs of the sky high priced Neimy Marky outfit!
12/29/06 10:31 PM
carolynw said...
Very nice Debbie and I love the pretty little touches with the pocket lining and so on. Great fit.
12/29/06 10:48 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Sewbehind, the "Magic Wardrobe" is a fun nickname given to just setting aside a garment for a few days after completion. A bit of time and distance seem to work "Magic" on garments that may have frustrated or underwhelmed during the construction process.
12/29/06 11:12 PM
Athene said...
Dear Debbie, thank you so much for the detailed FED explanation and diagrams on your blog - I wish I was taking a pant workshop in person from you - you are a Master indeed, I'm going to give this FED a try in the new year. Once again thank you so much.
12/30/06 0:23 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Great fit, execution as always. I have ask about the 'Magic Wardrobe" also.
12/30/06 0:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Debbie, I'm green with envy with the way you can just whip out a pair of jeans. I think I'm just too oddly shaped for pants. Yours look fantastic. Keep those reviews coming.
12/30/06 10:27 AM
cecelia said...
Debbie, thanks so much for all your work and especially for sharing it with us all--awesome fit and wonderful photos.
12/30/06 11:38 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Debbie, absolutely perfect...again! Your hard work and determination show! You're a great teacher and take lots of pictures (my favorite way of learning)
1/5/07 9:09 AM
Nancy Peters said...
I too decided to sew a pair of jeans over the holidays. After doing a Google search on jeans sewing, I gave up. Too bad I didn't find your blog. Google has gone downhill. And didn't you take apart a pair of Walmart RTW jeans and make a pattern. What happened? Did they go the way of the never-ending-search-for-the-PERFECT-pant-pattern. AND I would LOVE to see how you incorporate SB zipper installation with fly facings. I use it but know there has to be an easier way than my cut, fiddle, sew, cut, fiddle technique. I am sure you have found it.
1/8/07 1:57 PM
Nancy K said...
Very nice Debbie. YOur blog is a great resource and congrats on sewing pants that fit.
3/5/07 10:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4568
photo
Review by Lori V on 3/2/06
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5354
photo
Review by Gelbean on 6/3/10
Read Review

McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )
McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us