SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2006-131 (Tee w/vertical seaming)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1486 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/06 8:50 AM
Last Updated:12/15/06 8:50 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
Debbie, I just caught a glimpse of your T on the sidebar. Love it. Do you know how I can get this issue?
1/21/07 12:01 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Very flattering. I like the vertical lines going in at the mid-section. It's slenderinzing, but still shows off the feminine cuves of the bust.
12/23/06 11:58 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Cute T. I like the seaming with the bust shaping. Wish I had that pattern.
12/18/06 6:48 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
This is a great top. Love the print, and now am lusting after a coverstitch machine!
12/18/06 10:27 AM
KiwiWendy said...
Lurv the fabric ... and thank goodness you had enough to recut the back. Now I'm going to have to hunt down a back issue of this issue. They're so fashion forward, that I counted on that when I got WoF every month.
12/17/06 5:17 PM
candyo said...
This is a great style! And no FBA- fabulous!
12/17/06 7:52 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Debbie, do you think this pattern would lend itself to panels of different fabric? or even just the contrast side panels?
12/16/06 4:21 PM
mrspenguin said...
If that's your fabric stash in the background of your muslin, I am envious! I like how you "topstitched."
12/16/06 12:58 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Carolyndh, Burda WOF reviews follow a naming formula ... if you look at the top of this review, you'll see the pattern "number" is 01-2006-131. That means it's issue 01/2006 and design #131. HTH.

Phyllis, Burda uses CB seams in tees every now and then. This one doesn't have any shaping per se, but the seam would make it easy to incorporate a sway back adj if one needed it. I toyed with cutting it on the fold -- and after the print layout mishap cursed myself for not doing so -- but I do like the seam for the extra bit of detail it adds.
12/16/06 11:08 AM

Carolyndh said...
Debbie, Fantastic top! What BWOF magazine did this top come from? I would like to find a copy of this issue. This is a great top and you look wonderful in it.
12/16/06 10:14 AM
PhyllisC said...
Debbie. the coverstich is a great detail. Also - I'm just curious - why is there a center back seam? Is there shaping on that seam? I can't recall ever seeing a center back seam on a t-shirt.
12/16/06 9:35 AM
Marji said...
Great top and excellent info in your review. Love what you did with the topstitching.
12/16/06 9:25 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, really nice top. The seaming shows perfectly. Makes me wonder if I should get BWOF.
12/16/06 8:56 AM
Nancy K said...
Great review as usual. Lovely top.
12/16/06 8:29 AM
cathy45 said...
Another great top--this one is really flattering to you. Love the coverstitching.
12/16/06 8:12 AM
Deb Fox said...
Deb, as always, you are the sewing Goddess! What a wonderful top. I always look forward to your reviews. I am always so inspired by your willingness to share so much information, and your work is always superb. I am just on the edge of plus size, but I absolutely love the lines of this T and will try it myself. Ditto on the thoughts about Burda. I have magazines from 2000 that I still use because the styles are just so fashion forward.
12/16/06 7:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the top. Great suggestion on checking the paisley print layout, second back photo really shows this. As always great job on the pattern and review.
12/16/06 6:55 AM
Elaray said...
Great review. This style is on my "To Sew" list. I'm going to make sure it gets moved closer to the lop of my list. Your results look great.
12/16/06 5:52 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Debbie, this is a fantastic review. I love hearing now only what you did, but WHY. Thanks for sharing your 'process'!
12/16/06 5:40 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
It's not "just" a T. Very stylish. I learned great tips from your excellently written review. Great pics also.
12/15/06 11:06 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, Debbie.
12/15/06 10:49 PM
Izzie said...
Great top! I love the fabric and the coverstitch detail.
12/15/06 7:50 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful t-shirt! I really like the "topstitching"
12/15/06 7:36 PM
Erica B. said...
an adorable top. I heart the seaming!
12/15/06 7:25 PM
artist1lisa said...
Very nice.Flattering fit.I must try it.
12/15/06 7:12 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top. I like how you did the decorative coverstitching over the seams.
12/15/06 6:05 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top and I love the creative topstitching. Makes me wish I could lay my hands on a copy of that magazine. Also, I love it when you show your finished garment in front of your stash, so I can show the picture to DH and say, "See? I told you my stash is pitiful!"
12/15/06 3:57 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debbie, I really like this top, particularly what you did with the seaming. Very noice touch!
12/15/06 3:54 PM
Liane M said...
Fabulous, just fabulous!! I love reading your reviews. I have this magazine and I never even gave this tee a sceond thought until I read your blog! Now I HAVE to make this. I'm thinking about using a wonder cotton lycra from Timmel with a little contrasting coverstitching for the topstitch embellishment. I can think of so many variations to use with this pattern. Thanks again for bringing to my attention and working out all the bugs! Edited to correct my typos
12/15/06 2:09 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous everything Debbie ! ! ! ! The variations for this top are endless. I have always admired it and plan on tweaking it for me some day..but as you mentioned, the To Sew List for BWOF gets very long.
12/15/06 1:46 PM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking top as I love paisley, too. Ditto all comments above on your stash!!
12/15/06 1:41 PM
Christen said...
Debbie, I always enjoy reading your reviews. However, this time I'm totally envying your stash! My dresser pales in comparison to your closet.
12/15/06 11:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
Once again, you've taken a simple style and made it very, very special. Well done.
12/15/06 11:44 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Debbie, you look beautiful in this top. It fits great.
12/15/06 11:00 AM
PVA said...
Oh, Debbie, that fabric is beautiful -- I love paisleys! Thanks for yet another detailed review. That pattern is great! The reversed coverstitch on the seams is a wonderful touch!
12/15/06 10:56 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Debbie, I love this top! The seamlines are very flattering indeed! I can see this in a plain colour with contrast coverstitch for a very sporty look or even some piping on the outside seams. I've been following on your blog but have been unable to leave a comment since you changed to beta.
12/15/06 10:27 AM
cecelia said...
Debbie, I really like the pattern and your changes to it came out so well. I'm also jealous at how organized your stash is!
12/15/06 10:19 AM
Loreli said...
Wow, I like it. Its on my list to do.
12/15/06 9:45 AM
moss said...
the shirt is beautiful but HOLY COW look at all that fabric in your closet! :)
12/15/06 9:09 AM
kmouse said...
It's a super t-shirt and the seaming is really sharp. As always, your reviews are great. I learn something every time I read your posts. Thanks.
12/15/06 9:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Colette Patterns Pastille

photo
by: littletail...

Review
Kwik Sew 3740

photo
by: CoutureAca...

Review

Pattern

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

More Info
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

More Info