Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5827 (Dress) thumbsup - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 708 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR
About KarmenGstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/06 0:14 AM
Last Updated:12/21/06 0:21 AM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
The colour, style, fabric and sash trim make this a perfect princess dress Karmeng ! The inclusion of bridal tulle in the sash really makes it beautiful too. Your niece will love her dress and you are a wonderful aunt. Thank you for sharing with us :)
12/21/06 3:31 AM
HenriettenDK said...
I would love it for myself...and I am not a young girl - absolutely stunning, love the color, sleeves, sash...you must be the favorite aunt now!
12/21/06 7:31 AM
Cornelia said...
Beautiful dress, and such a lucky niece! You have RTW beat hands down. To find a little girl's dress this nice would be very hard, and only in a beyond upscale boutique.
12/21/06 8:01 AM
PattyU said...
Very pretty. I love the rich looking fabric. Thank you for the great tip about the tulle. I'll use that info. Thanks!
12/21/06 8:02 AM
PattyU said...
Very pretty. I love the rich looking fabric.
12/21/06 8:03 AM
JaneH said...
Very nice!! The simplicity of the dress and the lushness of the fabric really gives it a couture look.
12/21/06 8:24 AM
BeckyC said...
Your nieces dress is so very elegant and royal looking! A look befitting of a princess! I love your suggestion of the tulle in the sash and ties. The extra steps you put into this dress is what makes the dress so beautiful. I'll have to try cutting a sleeve on the bias, that makes so much sense. Thanks for the great review.
12/21/06 8:51 AM
Kay Y said...
Lois this is a really beautiful dress. I am sure your niece will be thrilled (as would I if anyone sent me such a thing!). I love the tip about the tulle - I hope I can store it in the back of my mind for future reference.
12/21/06 8:55 AM
Patti B said...
Wow, what a gorgeous dress! Your lucky niece will feel like a princess in this creation. The color is scrumptious. Thanks for the tip about tulle in the sash to avoid the limp lettuce look.
12/21/06 9:22 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a pretty little dress!! Don't you know she'll be spinning around the house in it on Christmas Day? And she'll probably want to wear it to bed that night, too. :-) Thanks for pointing out this pattern--I like that it has no gathers at the empire line. A *big* thanks for the hint about cutting sleeves on the bias. I'm definitely going to try that!
12/21/06 9:31 AM
SeamRipper said...
Absolutely beautiful! The fabric and the color are stunning. Your niece will love it. Thanks for the helpful suggestions, too!
12/21/06 11:09 AM
BeckyW said...
Your dress is beautiful. I have passed over that pattern many times. The red and plaid version on the front of the pattern does nothing for me. I really like your version better than the envelope picture.
12/21/06 11:33 AM
apple annie said...
Oh to be a princess again and to have a wonderful auntie waiting -in -the -wings to make me such a perfect dress!!! Love the color and the simplicity of the design. Thanks for the tulle tip, it certainly adds a wonderful dimension to the sash/bow. Great job.
12/22/06 8:36 AM
fiddlestick chic said...
I am choosing this dress to make for 3 of my 4 grandaughters for Christmas this year. I like the added points you gave on your review, I would have never thought of cutting the sleeves on a bias! ( or about itchy interfacing!) Or,,,about adding some tulle in the ribbon so it stays pretty... longer than necessary for the Christmas picture! I think the dress is a classic dress and it contains all the sizes I need. Thanks for the great review and the added tips, it will surely help me. Now ,,,,to decide what color to do this year,,,,,,,
6/29/09 10:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Cutting Line Designs 12269
photo
Review by Irene Q on 9/3/11
Read Review

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3764 Jackets
photo
Review by mhoutz on 9/1/13
Read Review

Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6789 Pattern
New Look 6789 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us