SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5827 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 709 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/06 0:14 AM
Last Updated:12/21/06 0:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fiddlestick chic said...
I am choosing this dress to make for 3 of my 4 grandaughters for Christmas this year. I like the added points you gave on your review, I would have never thought of cutting the sleeves on a bias! ( or about itchy interfacing!) Or,,,about adding some tulle in the ribbon so it stays pretty... longer than necessary for the Christmas picture! I think the dress is a classic dress and it contains all the sizes I need. Thanks for the great review and the added tips, it will surely help me. Now ,,,,to decide what color to do this year,,,,,,,
6/29/09 10:46 PM
apple annie said...
Oh to be a princess again and to have a wonderful auntie waiting -in -the -wings to make me such a perfect dress!!! Love the color and the simplicity of the design. Thanks for the tulle tip, it certainly adds a wonderful dimension to the sash/bow. Great job.
12/22/06 8:36 AM
BeckyW said...
Your dress is beautiful. I have passed over that pattern many times. The red and plaid version on the front of the pattern does nothing for me. I really like your version better than the envelope picture.
12/21/06 11:33 AM
SeamRipper said...
Absolutely beautiful! The fabric and the color are stunning. Your niece will love it. Thanks for the helpful suggestions, too!
12/21/06 11:09 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a pretty little dress!! Don't you know she'll be spinning around the house in it on Christmas Day? And she'll probably want to wear it to bed that night, too. :-) Thanks for pointing out this pattern--I like that it has no gathers at the empire line. A *big* thanks for the hint about cutting sleeves on the bias. I'm definitely going to try that!
12/21/06 9:31 AM
Patti B said...
Wow, what a gorgeous dress! Your lucky niece will feel like a princess in this creation. The color is scrumptious. Thanks for the tip about tulle in the sash to avoid the limp lettuce look.
12/21/06 9:22 AM
Kay Y said...
Lois this is a really beautiful dress. I am sure your niece will be thrilled (as would I if anyone sent me such a thing!). I love the tip about the tulle - I hope I can store it in the back of my mind for future reference.
12/21/06 8:55 AM
BeckyC said...
Your nieces dress is so very elegant and royal looking! A look befitting of a princess! I love your suggestion of the tulle in the sash and ties. The extra steps you put into this dress is what makes the dress so beautiful. I'll have to try cutting a sleeve on the bias, that makes so much sense. Thanks for the great review.
12/21/06 8:51 AM
JaneH said...
Very nice!! The simplicity of the dress and the lushness of the fabric really gives it a couture look.
12/21/06 8:24 AM
PattyU said...
Very pretty. I love the rich looking fabric.
12/21/06 8:03 AM
PattyU said...
Very pretty. I love the rich looking fabric. Thank you for the great tip about the tulle. I'll use that info. Thanks!
12/21/06 8:02 AM
Cornelia said...
Beautiful dress, and such a lucky niece! You have RTW beat hands down. To find a little girl's dress this nice would be very hard, and only in a beyond upscale boutique.
12/21/06 8:01 AM
HenriettenDK said...
I would love it for myself...and I am not a young girl - absolutely stunning, love the color, sleeves, sash...you must be the favorite aunt now!
12/21/06 7:31 AM
Vonnevo said...
The colour, style, fabric and sash trim make this a perfect princess dress Karmeng ! The inclusion of bridal tulle in the sash really makes it beautiful too. Your niece will love her dress and you are a wonderful aunt. Thank you for sharing with us :)
12/21/06 3:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

More Info
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

More Info