SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> 23057 (knit dress)

Viewed 1018 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/06 7:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
norma kerr said...
you have done a great job here its not easy to make a simple dress look amazing and you really have
3/10/11 3:25 PM
SewTwin said...
Kudos on the dress adaption.I second the idea of the "Obi" in the Threads article.Think there was a idea online, also. I have found the "Crinkle Knits" to be really soft for scarves, and belts. Since you need so little, should be able to use more expensive materials for your look. Reminds me of some of the Runway looks..Hmm, some Chiffons come to mind??
1/17/07 5:39 AM
Elemenopeo said...
There is a great belt in the newest Nancy's Notions catalog shown on the Madison Avenue dress. Free instructions on her website and she sells the makings of it.
1/6/07 4:13 PM
HenriettenDK said...
Very nice - looks like my favorite (bought) knit dress....An idea for a belt: add bias binding, in a contrasting color or pattern....
1/5/07 6:18 AM
AnneM said...
That came out great, Susan.
1/3/07 10:28 AM
NeedleandThread said...
What a beautiful dress, I really enjoy your reviews. :)
1/3/07 0:38 AM
Physics Girl said...
What a nice "basic" style sure to get lots of use! I usually like contrasting belts... I sometimes like to wear men's neckties as belts (for casual) and nice long rectangular scarves for dressy occasions (usually secured with a brooch of some sort).. or maybe one of the obi-style belts in a recent threads "quick-to-make."
1/1/07 4:23 PM
Nata said...
Great dress!
1/1/07 12:09 PM
carolynw said...
Really like this dress - good thinking putting two patterns together to achieve what you want.
1/1/07 11:07 AM
Marji said...
looks great. Glad you found a way to make it work, and glad you posted the review.
1/1/07 10:49 AM
cecelia said...
Very nice and classy dress. I love the way it turned out.
1/1/07 10:49 AM
PattyU said...
I love your dress. Great review.
1/1/07 9:13 AM
nancy2001 said...
This is a great looking, flattering dress. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it and get many compliments.
1/1/07 8:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice job of morphing the two patterns. Looks like a nice fitting dress.
1/1/07 8:17 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking dress. Very clever of you to create a "Frankenpattern" to get the look you want. Very helpful review.
1/1/07 6:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
Really great review, drsue. I love the way you put elements from different patterns together and made it work. I think a belt that contrasts both in color and texture would look good with this. For example, I have an ivory crochet tie belt that I would wear with a dress like this if I had one.
1/1/07 6:30 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your dress looks great, drsue. Have you ever seen the belts Shirley Adams makes? She has a book and a video called Belt Bazaar with lots of good ideas and instructions for making belts on her website (sewingconnection.com). I'm sure you could get some inspiration there.
1/1/07 2:57 AM
Lhan said...
Very useful review. It is always interesting to note how important the way the fabrics behave is to the finished product. These basic shapes, when successful, lend themselves to lots of decorative/ embellishment or accesorising ideas too. Thanks for the review.
1/1/07 2:22 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous!
1/1/07 1:43 AM
kathi s said...
Great looking dress! Thanks for the informative review. Congratulations on solving your problem.
1/1/07 1:22 AM
Zaneta said...
This is gorgeous!
1/1/07 0:42 AM
touran said...
Very good looking dress. Thanks for the review. I love seeing others' inventiveness.
12/31/06 11:52 PM
BeckyW said...
Very nice dress. Love the way you combined patterns to make the dress you wanted. Your neckline is so smooth. That is what I fear most about sewing with knits.
12/31/06 11:47 PM
Elona said...
Very innovative, drsue, and I'm sure it looks terrific on your little person. The belt looks fine, but I'm with you: It would certainly be nice to have a dynamite belt pattern in the stash.
12/31/06 9:52 PM
jewelea said...
That dress is a winner! And your review is very informative; glad you decided to post it.
12/31/06 8:50 PM
hongkongshopper said...
The dress turned out really well!
12/31/06 8:12 PM
nicegirl said...
Very nice dress--classy and tasteful.
12/31/06 8:07 PM
leigh7911 said...
Wow! Looks great.
12/31/06 7:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info