Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 23057 (knit dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1018 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/06 7:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leigh7911 said...
Wow! Looks great.
12/31/06 7:47 PM
nicegirl said...
Very nice dress--classy and tasteful.
12/31/06 8:07 PM
hongkongshopper said...
The dress turned out really well!
12/31/06 8:12 PM
jewelea said...
That dress is a winner! And your review is very informative; glad you decided to post it.
12/31/06 8:50 PM
Elona said...
Very innovative, drsue, and I'm sure it looks terrific on your little person. The belt looks fine, but I'm with you: It would certainly be nice to have a dynamite belt pattern in the stash.
12/31/06 9:52 PM
BeckyW said...
Very nice dress. Love the way you combined patterns to make the dress you wanted. Your neckline is so smooth. That is what I fear most about sewing with knits.
12/31/06 11:47 PM
touran said...
Very good looking dress. Thanks for the review. I love seeing others' inventiveness.
12/31/06 11:52 PM
Zaneta said...
This is gorgeous!
1/1/07 0:42 AM
kathi s said...
Great looking dress! Thanks for the informative review. Congratulations on solving your problem.
1/1/07 1:22 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous!
1/1/07 1:43 AM
Lhan said...
Very useful review. It is always interesting to note how important the way the fabrics behave is to the finished product. These basic shapes, when successful, lend themselves to lots of decorative/ embellishment or accesorising ideas too. Thanks for the review.
1/1/07 2:22 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your dress looks great, drsue. Have you ever seen the belts Shirley Adams makes? She has a book and a video called Belt Bazaar with lots of good ideas and instructions for making belts on her website (sewingconnection.com). I'm sure you could get some inspiration there.
1/1/07 2:57 AM
CarolynGM said...
Really great review, drsue. I love the way you put elements from different patterns together and made it work. I think a belt that contrasts both in color and texture would look good with this. For example, I have an ivory crochet tie belt that I would wear with a dress like this if I had one.
1/1/07 6:30 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking dress. Very clever of you to create a "Frankenpattern" to get the look you want. Very helpful review.
1/1/07 6:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice job of morphing the two patterns. Looks like a nice fitting dress.
1/1/07 8:17 AM
nancy2001 said...
This is a great looking, flattering dress. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it and get many compliments.
1/1/07 8:48 AM
PattyU said...
I love your dress. Great review.
1/1/07 9:13 AM
cecelia said...
Very nice and classy dress. I love the way it turned out.
1/1/07 10:49 AM
Marji said...
looks great. Glad you found a way to make it work, and glad you posted the review.
1/1/07 10:49 AM
carolynw said...
Really like this dress - good thinking putting two patterns together to achieve what you want.
1/1/07 11:07 AM
Nata said...
Great dress!
1/1/07 12:09 PM
Physics Girl said...
What a nice "basic" style sure to get lots of use! I usually like contrasting belts... I sometimes like to wear men's neckties as belts (for casual) and nice long rectangular scarves for dressy occasions (usually secured with a brooch of some sort).. or maybe one of the obi-style belts in a recent threads "quick-to-make."
1/1/07 4:23 PM
NeedleandThread said...
What a beautiful dress, I really enjoy your reviews. :)
1/3/07 0:38 AM
AnneM said...
That came out great, Susan.
1/3/07 10:28 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Very nice - looks like my favorite (bought) knit dress....An idea for a belt: add bias binding, in a contrasting color or pattern....
1/5/07 6:18 AM
Elemenopeo said...
There is a great belt in the newest Nancy's Notions catalog shown on the Madison Avenue dress. Free instructions on her website and she sells the makings of it.
1/6/07 4:13 PM
SewTwin said...
Kudos on the dress adaption.I second the idea of the "Obi" in the Threads article.Think there was a idea online, also. I have found the "Crinkle Knits" to be really soft for scarves, and belts. Since you need so little, should be able to use more expensive materials for your look. Reminds me of some of the Runway looks..Hmm, some Chiffons come to mind??
1/17/07 5:39 AM
norma kerr said...
you have done a great job here its not easy to make a simple dress look amazing and you really have
3/10/11 3:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Kwik Sew 2852 girl's unitard
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 2/27/11
Read Review

McCalls 6049 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6049 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse New York Dress
Loes Hinse New York Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

EvaDress SE30-6690
photo
Review by DoggyGirl on 12/22/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us