SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2907 (Alice Olivia flared pants)

22 more reviews
Viewed 3397 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/07 0:22 AM
Last Updated:4/15/07 11:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 39 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cheryl Reeves said...
You did a wonderful job on these pants. They fit great and look very nice on you.
1/2/07 0:26 AM
JulieR said...
They look terrific on you and the review is very helpful, thank you.
1/2/07 0:47 AM
KerryB said...
Your pants look great on you! They are so nice and fitted - you did excellent work and should be proud. I have been considering this pattern and now it is for certain one of my future projects.
1/2/07 0:58 AM
FuzzyNavelPeach said...
I just bought this pattern today, so I was thrilled to see your review. Thanks and great job!
1/2/07 1:21 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Wonderful pants. This shape pants is great for *your* shape -- very flattering!
1/2/07 1:36 AM
Zaneta said...
They look like a great pair of pants, your waistband looks better than RTW pants!
1/2/07 3:17 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Nice one! They look very trendy!
1/2/07 4:14 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Belinda. These pants are very flattering for you. I like to cut the yoke front on the fold too.
1/2/07 6:41 AM
Lori V said...
Great looking pants, perfect fit.
1/2/07 7:06 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful fit and very fashionable.
1/2/07 7:17 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fantastic! Wonderful review, too.
1/2/07 7:41 AM
christine A said...
You make it sound so easy and the pants look wonderful on you! I am going to have to get brave and try this pattern oneday!
1/2/07 9:02 AM
minieme said...
Great fitting pants!
1/2/07 9:05 AM
Stacy Sews said...
The fit on these pants looks great! Thanks for the review on these, I have this pattern, but still haven't sewn it up - I may have to bump this up on my 'must sew' list.
1/2/07 9:41 AM
Skymom said...
THese look excellent. I really appreciate your tips on muslin-fitting before sewing a stretch woven. That's always been a problem for me, so I'll be taking your advice on fitting in non-stretch first, then moving to the stretch woven.
1/2/07 9:57 AM
Re Becca said...
HHHm, I had never thought of putting the yoke front on the fold, it makes so much sense though. They fit great and look great. They look like they have just enough stretch to be comfortable.
1/2/07 1:25 PM
Peggy L said...
Great pants and excellant review. Are those snaps?
1/2/07 4:47 PM
Puddin Pop said...
I love the look of these pants. Did you use snaps or is that buttons?
1/2/07 5:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
For the closure I used snaps. Matte black, size 20 snaps, from Snap Source to be precise. :) I love snaps on a wide yoke such as this because it gives a flat finish which is great under knit tops. It's also easier to undo three snaps than three buttons. :)
1/2/07 5:51 PM
Schnauzer said...
Nice fitting pants, they look great!
1/2/07 10:55 PM
krystalkaes said...
Nice helpful review. I think I will try your suggestion on using non stretch woven for my next muslin and see what happens. Thanks.
1/3/07 0:29 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent pair of pants. Great fit!
1/3/07 5:23 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Belinda, I LOVE your pants - great job and perfect fit!
1/3/07 8:18 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a beautiful pair of pants and an awesome fit. Your muslin process makes so much sense!
1/3/07 4:22 PM
PixieCat said...
What a wonderful pair of pants! I'm sure these will be a TNT for you.
1/3/07 4:43 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Wow, great looking pants.
1/3/07 9:57 PM
BeckyC said...
Fabulous pants and fit!
1/4/07 8:31 AM
kim*brown said...
Wonderful workmanship, and great style of pant. Love the fabric too!
1/5/07 7:58 PM
SewPaula said...
Great pants! I appreciate the detailed review as well.
1/18/07 8:27 AM
AnneM said...
Great pants. You still have to come over to my house for a fitting session. Minor issue of a few thousand miles & ocean in-between. Like your fabric choice.
1/24/07 9:25 PM
OP Gal said...
Very professional looking, and they look great on you.
1/25/07 8:02 PM
PattyU said...
Those look great on you. Thanks for the great review. I love all the pics.
1/25/07 8:48 PM
Elona said...
Terrific results! And there's a pocket stay, too! Wow. How unusual is that in the Big Four? About the apparent discrepancy in the hem length, you might just have shifted your weight for the photo, but my physical therapist says it's not unusual for people to have functional leg length differences by 3/8" or so, and, in fact, I usually have to make my right pants leg 3/8" longer than the left.
1/25/07 9:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Elona, I drafted the pocket stay. Sorry I wasn't clear. The Vogue pattern didn't include one.
1/25/07 9:22 PM
gaby said...
VERY good fit. They look well made. It truly shows you are an advanced sewer!
1/25/07 10:21 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Double post. Silly computers. :)
1/25/07 10:58 PM
cecelia said...
Nice review. I really like the wide waistband and they fit you well. I'm sure you'll get lots of use out of this pattern.
1/26/07 9:19 AM
nicegirl said...
Those are really great! Still haven't tackled pants...
1/26/07 1:26 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Belinda, I really like these ones too!
4/15/07 11:17 PM
illinicrna said...
Those are great, especially in that new fabric!
4/15/07 11:26 PM
Vonnevo said...
Wow, these latest pants are fabulous too Belinda !!!
4/15/07 11:50 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Another winner!! I love that piping on the pocket edges.
4/16/07 0:18 AM
Sigrid. said...
Very good pants, now I want this pattern too! Do you think it can be adapted easily from wide hip to small waist?
4/16/07 2:44 AM
Zaneta said...
I love the colour! What a great pattern..I have made my muslin for this pattern I am motivated to get going...thanks for sharing this pair..I can't wait to see other versions you make..
4/16/07 4:40 AM
CherylStillSews said...
Love the fabric on this pair!
4/16/07 4:47 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Sigrid, yes I do think this pattern can be adapted for a wide hip and small waist. How easy it is will depend mostly on your level of ability, however these pants sit below the waist which will make it easier. Sew a muslin first, and pin fit the yoke section.
4/16/07 5:35 AM
motomoda said...
Beautiful!
4/16/07 7:07 AM
KarenUK said...
Thank you for posting and updating this review - I have selected this pattern to make up at a Trouser Fitting course this weekend at my local Husqvarna store here in the Uk. I wasn't sure if this was going to be the right pattern for me but having read this review I'm glad I picked it. Yours look fantastic - so professional - fingers crossed that mine turn out half as good.....!
4/16/07 7:52 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking pants - beats RTW any day!
4/16/07 8:24 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
I love your tan & pink pinstripe pair! I have had these on the must sew list & now I want to even more!
4/16/07 8:42 AM
Levone said...
Wow, these are all great fitting great looking pants. I especially like the pink pinstripe pair with the pink piping. Wonderful review.
4/16/07 8:49 AM
BJ1400 said...
I love your pants. Wish I could make pants that fit like that!
4/16/07 9:26 AM
Linda G said...
I really really like your piping idea and the breast cancer snaps are such a good idea, I did not even know there was such a thing...very nice.
4/16/07 10:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

More Knits
More Knits

Register

StyleArc Abby

photo
by: BeaJay

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now