Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5181 (Misses Shirts and Blouses) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1410 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/07 0:18 AM
Last Updated:1/10/07 2:17 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
A beautiful blouse and fabric ! Congratulations on writing your first review :))
1/8/07 1:52 AM
Tany said...
Your blouse looks wonderful! Excellent first review!
1/8/07 4:24 AM
Lhan said...
Very nice! I would not have thought of this fabric with this pattern - but it looks good - especially with the velvet jacket.
1/8/07 6:40 AM
moss said...
I can't wait to see your jacket review. Your blouse looks WAY better than the pattern drawings. Nice job. :)
1/8/07 8:42 AM
frame said...
Very nicely done. Looks great.
1/8/07 9:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful and bold. I love it.
1/8/07 1:01 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful blouse, so wonderful for the holiday season. Congrats on your first review, can't wait to see the jacket.
1/8/07 7:31 PM
PattyU said...
I really like your blouse. Thanks for the review. I never think of taffeta as a shirting, but it looks great and very festive.
1/8/07 9:05 PM
sewfun4me said...
Beautiful blouse and great first review.
1/8/07 11:50 PM
Larkin said...
Wow! What a beautiful blouse and I love it paired with the jacket. Thanks so much for putting so much time into your review. Your reward is.... a fabulous blouse to wear!
1/9/07 2:56 AM
LornaJay said...
Don't stress about the FBA - I've done a grand total of 2, and the second one was just right!
1/9/07 6:06 AM
Hilary said...
Gorgeous!! You did a wonderful job, it really looks beautiful with the jacket too. I Like your version much better than the pattern cover. Welcome to PR!
1/9/07 8:28 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful blouse!
1/9/07 9:17 AM
Markie1 said...
Thank you all so much for taking the time to comment. (DrLJN, so glad to hear it about the FBA's, I'm very excited to try it now. ) This is such an encouraging community, thanks all.
1/9/07 1:42 PM
Jane S said...
Fun review and wonderful blouse...very festive.
1/9/07 7:38 PM
CarolynGM said...
The blouse is dramatic and beautiful, both with and without the jacket.
1/10/07 6:18 AM
mendospot said...
This is pretty much what I have been looking for to make for myself with some plaid fabric. I don't think I would have found the pattern without your review. Can't wait to see the jacket review--which pattern did you use for that? Cute!
1/10/07 9:49 AM
Debbie Cook said...
What a pretty blouse for the holidays! Welcome to PR. :-)
1/10/07 11:18 AM
Linda G said...
This blouse is awesome as my grandkids would say. I just picked up some plaid taaffeta at JoAnn to have in my stash to have for next year....similar but red and black with a little bit of gold metallic...I am going to keep this pattern in mind....I can't wait until you do the jacket review is that McCalls 5176 without the ruffle??
1/10/07 1:01 PM
Markie1 said...
Hi Linda--Thanks so much for your comments--Red and black taffeta would be gorgeous.The jacket pattern is McCall's 5245. It was a great pattern. I WILL review it soon!
1/10/07 1:21 PM
Kay Romo said...
Hi! When matching plaids I always use one side front as a pattern for other side. This way plaid matches.
1/10/07 10:25 PM
Markie1 said...
Great tip Kay, that makes perfect sense, and so easy! Thanks..
1/11/07 0:39 AM
SewTwin said...
This looks great, and verrry stylish! I envy your jump in attitude. Edited my comment..Thanks for the great review..
1/24/07 4:11 AM
AlexaNJ said...
I'm really impressed with this! I just finished and reviewed View D and now this makes me want to do View B as well! Awesome job!
4/10/07 11:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by BluestRose on 11/5/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1984 Palazzo Pant
photo
Review by Tailypo on 8/22/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us