SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5181 (Misses Shirts and Blouses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1411 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/07 0:18 AM
Last Updated:1/10/07 2:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
A beautiful blouse and fabric ! Congratulations on writing your first review :))
1/8/07 1:52 AM
Tany said...
Your blouse looks wonderful! Excellent first review!
1/8/07 4:24 AM
Lhan said...
Very nice! I would not have thought of this fabric with this pattern - but it looks good - especially with the velvet jacket.
1/8/07 6:40 AM
moss said...
I can't wait to see your jacket review. Your blouse looks WAY better than the pattern drawings. Nice job. :)
1/8/07 8:42 AM
frame said...
Very nicely done. Looks great.
1/8/07 9:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful and bold. I love it.
1/8/07 1:01 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful blouse, so wonderful for the holiday season. Congrats on your first review, can't wait to see the jacket.
1/8/07 7:31 PM
PattyU said...
I really like your blouse. Thanks for the review. I never think of taffeta as a shirting, but it looks great and very festive.
1/8/07 9:05 PM
sewfun4me said...
Beautiful blouse and great first review.
1/8/07 11:50 PM
Larkin said...
Wow! What a beautiful blouse and I love it paired with the jacket. Thanks so much for putting so much time into your review. Your reward is.... a fabulous blouse to wear!
1/9/07 2:56 AM
LornaJay said...
Don't stress about the FBA - I've done a grand total of 2, and the second one was just right!
1/9/07 6:06 AM
Hilary said...
Gorgeous!! You did a wonderful job, it really looks beautiful with the jacket too. I Like your version much better than the pattern cover. Welcome to PR!
1/9/07 8:28 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful blouse!
1/9/07 9:17 AM
Markie1 said...
Thank you all so much for taking the time to comment. (DrLJN, so glad to hear it about the FBA's, I'm very excited to try it now. ) This is such an encouraging community, thanks all.
1/9/07 1:42 PM
Jane S said...
Fun review and wonderful blouse...very festive.
1/9/07 7:38 PM
CarolynGM said...
The blouse is dramatic and beautiful, both with and without the jacket.
1/10/07 6:18 AM
mendospot said...
This is pretty much what I have been looking for to make for myself with some plaid fabric. I don't think I would have found the pattern without your review. Can't wait to see the jacket review--which pattern did you use for that? Cute!
1/10/07 9:49 AM
Debbie Cook said...
What a pretty blouse for the holidays! Welcome to PR. :-)
1/10/07 11:18 AM
Linda G said...
This blouse is awesome as my grandkids would say. I just picked up some plaid taaffeta at JoAnn to have in my stash to have for next year....similar but red and black with a little bit of gold metallic...I am going to keep this pattern in mind....I can't wait until you do the jacket review is that McCalls 5176 without the ruffle??
1/10/07 1:01 PM
Markie1 said...
Hi Linda--Thanks so much for your comments--Red and black taffeta would be gorgeous.The jacket pattern is McCall's 5245. It was a great pattern. I WILL review it soon!
1/10/07 1:21 PM
Kay Romo said...
Hi! When matching plaids I always use one side front as a pattern for other side. This way plaid matches.
1/10/07 10:25 PM
Markie1 said...
Great tip Kay, that makes perfect sense, and so easy! Thanks..
1/11/07 0:39 AM
SewTwin said...
This looks great, and verrry stylish! I envy your jump in attitude. Edited my comment..Thanks for the great review..
1/24/07 4:11 AM
AlexaNJ said...
I'm really impressed with this! I just finished and reviewed View D and now this makes me want to do View B as well! Awesome job!
4/10/07 11:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2011-107

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Candice

Candice

Buy Now