SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7880 (multi-piece skirtshttp://store)

17 more reviews
Viewed 990 times 
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/07 3:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Helen near Sydney said...
Lhan, I have been looking for a layered skirt that I can be creative with. Thanks for spending the time writing a great review.
1/20/07 1:30 AM
Margie T said...
Looks great with the top.
1/19/07 5:03 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the pattern, rather interesting look for this skirt. My first thought was you were doing a muslin to test the fit. I think a darker color would be more flattering. The fawn seems too light but that is my personal opinion. Like Tany I would go with a darker color from the print colors.
1/19/07 5:33 AM
Skymom said...
GOsh, I have this pattern and have been meaning to make it, and I didn't even recognize it as the same, with the two fabrics. Very neat idea--I like the effect. THanks for reminding me about this design.
1/18/07 4:52 PM
Soliel said...
I think the fawn would look more like it belonged if the top was fawnish, too. That way, the print is the little surprise and the fawn definitely belongs there. You did a great job. It's hard to tell from a picture because all I see is color. The texture of the fabric also makes a difference in whether it "goes" or not.
1/18/07 11:51 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very timely review, as I pulled it out just yesterday. I too am contemplating multiple colors, but for me it would be three colors of silk noil - I think moss green, brown and a lighter cafe au lait. Your review gave me food for thought, thanks!
1/18/07 11:08 AM
Linda G said...
I like it the way it is
1/18/07 9:16 AM
carolynw said...
Lhan had a call from my Aussie relatives last night and to use their words "well blow me down" if this isn't the loveliest skirt! Don't know what others will think but I know it is beautiful and combined with the top it is a head turning outfit. Good that you now have invisible zippers mastered - they are nice once you get the hang of putting them in. Have added this pattern to my "must get" list
1/18/07 9:13 AM
moss said...
I like the outfit as is. But, I could totally see the fawn replaced with royal blue or purple and that would be cool too. It looks great!
1/18/07 8:54 AM
Physics Girl said...
I think your multiple fabric version is wonderfully balanced and shows off the skirt lines very nicely. I made up this pattern once too (I got epoxy on it at work, but if I still have it maybe I should review it to post the pics) -- I made it in an old late 60's/70's nylon (semi-sheer) and used ball trim (kinda lampshadey-fun). Using the semi sheer gave the skirt nice drape. However, I had a bit of a problem with the skirt shifting around backward when I walked -- maybe stabilizing the waist/stay might help with that. Based on how short the "stay" is (I also made it of lining fabric), I probably wouldn't use a real sheer, but I think your use of multiple fabrics would lend itself to using sheer in the underskirt pieces. Nice review!
1/18/07 7:49 AM
Mel.J said...
Thanks, this is very useful - I have this pattern & did not realise the construction. It opens up heaps of different options - maybe a fabric-with-holes-cut-out on the overskirt? On the fabric combo, with that top I would personally prefer a darker overskirt.
1/18/07 6:06 AM
sewanista said...
I love this pattern. It's so versatile. Yours is really pretty, but I agree with Tany about a darker colour overlay. One of my students made this skirt in lightweight fake suede in a light brown colour. As you said, it was tricky to get all the layers right, but once it was done it was very elegant. I seem to remember a problem with the flare bit on the back, and I think we may have cut it off. My mum's friend then made it in two matching linens, one plain, one embroidered, using the embroidered one for the underskirt's overlay. Beautiful.
1/18/07 4:42 AM
Tany said...
This pattern seems quite interesting! I think I would use a darker solid colour on the overskirt though, maybe green or blue... But that's a matter of personal taste only.
1/18/07 4:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 9273

photo
by: Mary Themo...

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info