SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 8485 (Mink Lined Leather Vest)

Viewed 1413 times 
Reviewed by:calypso
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About calypsostar
NH USA
Member since: 4/23/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/07 5:58 PM
Last Updated:1/21/07 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
68 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Wow. Gorgeous. Looks like a million bucks!
5/29/12 8:18 AM
Gendun said...
There is nothing wonderful to say about this except that all the praise is true! :) A lovely piece. Any chance of getting the pic links fixed, pls? I'm sure many of us would love to see more! Thanks!
3/23/12 11:10 AM
Toothpickeyes said...
Great review. However, I was disappointed the links for additional pictures, came up as errors.
3/7/10 1:31 PM
novicesew said...
Wow, this is really impressive. Beautiful vest.
4/3/07 6:41 PM
cmarie12 said...
I just found this review through a blog's link...this is an amazing vest! A one of a kind wonderful piece of clothing that really triumphs the art of sewing! Fantastic!
2/10/07 3:49 PM
McKavity said...
Wow! that is absolutely gorgeous!
1/26/07 4:08 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great vest, and wonderful workmanship and creativity!
1/24/07 0:12 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
YOU are SOOOO GOOOOD!!!!! It looks pretty d... great! :-) good review, thanks
1/23/07 11:22 PM
Melody said...
AMAZING!!!
1/23/07 8:20 PM
mistrydesigns said...
Too beautiful for words.
1/23/07 4:57 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
I am speechless. But I do have to ask, you will be entering this in the Designer Knock-Off contest, won't you?
1/23/07 3:55 PM
PearlGirl said...
this is AMAZING!! So beautiful and well constructed. Yuu did a great job in choosing your materials - so inspiring and great details about your construction methods...thank you!!!
1/23/07 1:01 PM
jewelea said...
This is definitely one of the most impressive creations I've seen on Pattern Review! And a very informative review as well.
1/22/07 10:58 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous! Thanks for telling us how you created this beautiful vest. Love the way you reused the fur.
1/22/07 7:44 PM
Kathi R said...
Wow -- what a great project....thanks for sharing with us.
1/22/07 6:32 PM
Lee-Lee said...
Wow!! You rock!
1/22/07 2:16 PM
Markie1 said...
Thank you for you amazing review, your vest is brilliant, from the gorgeoous leather to the amazing hardware. I am inspired!
1/22/07 1:48 PM
Avril said...
I love it. Great designing.
1/22/07 12:37 PM
SueV said...
beautiful, great review. thanks for sharing!!
1/22/07 12:06 PM
Karen said...
Your vest is fabulous, and looks fantastic on you. Nice work.
1/22/07 11:54 AM
joan said...
Wow, everyone has used all my experlitives, so I will just say it is stunning and you look stunning in it. Will you come and hold my hand while I try to use a fur jacket I inherited??
1/22/07 11:02 AM
Irene Q said...
Hmm, your stash is much more interesting than mine! Wonderful garment, wonderful use of the old fur - and the box latch - perfect! - and such a fun and informative review to read!
1/22/07 10:45 AM
apple annie said...
Oh my God, I LOVE IT!!! Fabulous job and it is so you. Thought I recognized the pattern, as I am working on finishing the jacket version. Enjoy wearing this one-of-a kind- beauty!!!
1/22/07 9:27 AM
Henrietta Talfourd-Jones said...
Wow, this is gorgeous. I'm so jealous. Can I get you to make one for me!!!
1/22/07 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
Stunning. Thanks for a very helpful review.
1/22/07 9:04 AM
Kay Y said...
This is lovely in concept and execution. Have fun wearing it - shouldn't be hard because it looks terrific!
1/22/07 8:54 AM
material things said...
What an awesome vest!!! Your resourcefulness to use vintage items for fabric, usage of Marfy, and your detailed review are a real treat. Thanks for the review.
1/22/07 8:53 AM
Nancy K said...
This is fantastic! Great idea and wonderful execution. Brava! It also looks fab on you.
1/22/07 8:45 AM
cecelia said...
My hat's off to anyone who does Marfy's. This turned out so well for you. Thanks for a good review.
1/22/07 7:29 AM
SewVeryTall said...
What a great combo of leather, fur, hardware, and found objects...very innovative!
1/22/07 7:16 AM
MarilynB said...
Wow!!
1/22/07 7:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow! Really great looking vest.
1/22/07 6:48 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Brings a whole new meaning to 'vest' really. Can't imagine grand-dad in this! I doubt I'll ever be clever enough to make something like this but I sure did enjoy your review.
1/22/07 4:32 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a clever girl you are! It looks so cuddly!!
1/22/07 2:59 AM
suzanrossi said...
This is VERY clever and unique.
1/21/07 11:05 PM
Erica B. said...
OMG! I can't even describe how breathtaking that vest is! It looks like a fur piece from Andrew Marc! So Stylish and So Stunning! I'm pretty sure that you'll get a lot of enjoyment out of this piece!
1/21/07 10:47 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!!
1/21/07 10:45 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Amazing vest.
1/21/07 10:43 PM
Gold said...
One day I want to sew just like you. Great job!
1/21/07 10:14 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Awsome!!!!!
1/21/07 10:01 PM
Charlene McGill said...
OUTSTANDING WORK!
1/21/07 9:59 PM
Nancywin said...
absolutely gorgeous!
1/21/07 9:48 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Amazing!!!
1/21/07 9:31 PM
els said...
A creative way to use the mink coat and combining it with the leather, the vest looks gorgeous on you.
1/21/07 8:43 PM
trinicity said...
wow, I can believe how fantastic this is,, just fabulous work!
1/21/07 8:00 PM
pterion said...
A sewing adventure indeed - and a pleasure to look at and read about!
1/21/07 7:41 PM
Susan in Tucson said...
So couture! Spectacular!
1/21/07 7:40 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oooooo - killer! Very very fashion forward, very very cool. I love it! A real inspiration and a great review!
1/21/07 7:37 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is just beyond fabulous! You are amazing! -Ann
1/21/07 7:35 PM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the tips on how you did this. An amazing piece, you look great in it. For me, it might add about 20 lbs to my not so sleek self.
1/21/07 7:34 PM
coloreyec said...
Lovely! The top stitching details, mink lining and trim, the details on the belt loops all adds up to a beautiful garment. But my favorite detail is the belt "buckle". A perfect addition to your creation.
1/21/07 7:33 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oops - duplicate post! But I'll say it again - killer!
1/21/07 7:33 PM
blue mooney said...
A tour de force! What a distinctive vest!
1/21/07 7:32 PM
JM63 said...
OMG, that is truly wonderful...you have created a marvelous vest/jacket!
1/21/07 7:32 PM
touran said...
Wow - that's such fabulous workmanship. Thanks for such a detailed review.
1/21/07 7:29 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oooooo - killer! Very very fashion forward, very very cool. I love it! A real inspiration. Great review also.
1/21/07 7:27 PM
AliceB said...
AMAZING project!!
1/21/07 7:18 PM
sewbehind said...
That is fabulous! You do lovely work.
1/21/07 7:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous garment and outstanding review. Your talent and skill amaze me.
1/21/07 7:10 PM
Tany said...
Exquisite garment, you look terrific! Great review!
1/21/07 7:04 PM
Ann Smith said...
I agree with the others, this is just incredible. Very couture looking. You made my day with your review.
1/21/07 7:04 PM
Seaspur said...
That is incredible! What a huge amount of work but the results are so worth it.
1/21/07 6:48 PM
Berniejh said...
Your vest is fantastic and looks fantastic on you!
1/21/07 6:45 PM
carolw said...
That is unbelievably impressive, a fantastic piece of work!!
1/21/07 6:14 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Beautiful! That will be so much fun to wear.
1/21/07 6:09 PM
Maychi said...
Oh wow! Absolutely stunning! Thank you for a very informative review!
1/21/07 6:06 PM
Linda G said...
Now this is fashion at its best....I love your work. I have a fur coat in my closet that I have always thought could someday be used as trim on something...this is wonderful. I have never used Marfy patterns but I will have to look at them now, and keep your instructions in mind for the how tos thanks.
1/21/07 6:05 PM
Zaneta said...
Stunning!
1/21/07 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2975

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now