Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 8485 (Mink Lined Leather Vest) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 1409 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
Reviewed by:calypso
photo
Friend of PR
About calypsostar
NH USA
Member since: 4/23/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/07 5:58 PM
Last Updated:1/21/07 5:58 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
68 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Zaneta said...
Stunning!
1/21/07 6:05 PM
Linda G said...
Now this is fashion at its best....I love your work. I have a fur coat in my closet that I have always thought could someday be used as trim on something...this is wonderful. I have never used Marfy patterns but I will have to look at them now, and keep your instructions in mind for the how tos thanks.
1/21/07 6:05 PM
Maychi said...
Oh wow! Absolutely stunning! Thank you for a very informative review!
1/21/07 6:06 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Beautiful! That will be so much fun to wear.
1/21/07 6:09 PM
carolw said...
That is unbelievably impressive, a fantastic piece of work!!
1/21/07 6:14 PM
Berniejh said...
Your vest is fantastic and looks fantastic on you!
1/21/07 6:45 PM
Seaspur said...
That is incredible! What a huge amount of work but the results are so worth it.
1/21/07 6:48 PM
Ann Smith said...
I agree with the others, this is just incredible. Very couture looking. You made my day with your review.
1/21/07 7:04 PM
Tany said...
Exquisite garment, you look terrific! Great review!
1/21/07 7:04 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous garment and outstanding review. Your talent and skill amaze me.
1/21/07 7:10 PM
sewbehind said...
That is fabulous! You do lovely work.
1/21/07 7:10 PM
AliceB said...
AMAZING project!!
1/21/07 7:18 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oooooo - killer! Very very fashion forward, very very cool. I love it! A real inspiration. Great review also.
1/21/07 7:27 PM
touran said...
Wow - that's such fabulous workmanship. Thanks for such a detailed review.
1/21/07 7:29 PM
JM63 said...
OMG, that is truly wonderful...you have created a marvelous vest/jacket!
1/21/07 7:32 PM
blue mooney said...
A tour de force! What a distinctive vest!
1/21/07 7:32 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oops - duplicate post! But I'll say it again - killer!
1/21/07 7:33 PM
coloreyec said...
Lovely! The top stitching details, mink lining and trim, the details on the belt loops all adds up to a beautiful garment. But my favorite detail is the belt "buckle". A perfect addition to your creation.
1/21/07 7:33 PM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the tips on how you did this. An amazing piece, you look great in it. For me, it might add about 20 lbs to my not so sleek self.
1/21/07 7:34 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is just beyond fabulous! You are amazing! -Ann
1/21/07 7:35 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oooooo - killer! Very very fashion forward, very very cool. I love it! A real inspiration and a great review!
1/21/07 7:37 PM
Susan in Tucson said...
So couture! Spectacular!
1/21/07 7:40 PM
pterion said...
A sewing adventure indeed - and a pleasure to look at and read about!
1/21/07 7:41 PM
trinicity said...
wow, I can believe how fantastic this is,, just fabulous work!
1/21/07 8:00 PM
els said...
A creative way to use the mink coat and combining it with the leather, the vest looks gorgeous on you.
1/21/07 8:43 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Amazing!!!
1/21/07 9:31 PM
Nancywin said...
absolutely gorgeous!
1/21/07 9:48 PM
Charlene McGill said...
OUTSTANDING WORK!
1/21/07 9:59 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Awsome!!!!!
1/21/07 10:01 PM
Gold said...
One day I want to sew just like you. Great job!
1/21/07 10:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Amazing vest.
1/21/07 10:43 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!!
1/21/07 10:45 PM
Erica B. said...
OMG! I can't even describe how breathtaking that vest is! It looks like a fur piece from Andrew Marc! So Stylish and So Stunning! I'm pretty sure that you'll get a lot of enjoyment out of this piece!
1/21/07 10:47 PM
suzanrossi said...
This is VERY clever and unique.
1/21/07 11:05 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a clever girl you are! It looks so cuddly!!
1/22/07 2:59 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Brings a whole new meaning to 'vest' really. Can't imagine grand-dad in this! I doubt I'll ever be clever enough to make something like this but I sure did enjoy your review.
1/22/07 4:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow! Really great looking vest.
1/22/07 6:48 AM
MarilynB said...
Wow!!
1/22/07 7:03 AM
SewVeryTall said...
What a great combo of leather, fur, hardware, and found objects...very innovative!
1/22/07 7:16 AM
cecelia said...
My hat's off to anyone who does Marfy's. This turned out so well for you. Thanks for a good review.
1/22/07 7:29 AM
Nancy K said...
This is fantastic! Great idea and wonderful execution. Brava! It also looks fab on you.
1/22/07 8:45 AM
material things said...
What an awesome vest!!! Your resourcefulness to use vintage items for fabric, usage of Marfy, and your detailed review are a real treat. Thanks for the review.
1/22/07 8:53 AM
Kay Y said...
This is lovely in concept and execution. Have fun wearing it - shouldn't be hard because it looks terrific!
1/22/07 8:54 AM
carolynw said...
Stunning. Thanks for a very helpful review.
1/22/07 9:04 AM
Henrietta Talfourd-Jones said...
Wow, this is gorgeous. I'm so jealous. Can I get you to make one for me!!!
1/22/07 9:24 AM
apple annie said...
Oh my God, I LOVE IT!!! Fabulous job and it is so you. Thought I recognized the pattern, as I am working on finishing the jacket version. Enjoy wearing this one-of-a kind- beauty!!!
1/22/07 9:27 AM
Irene Q said...
Hmm, your stash is much more interesting than mine! Wonderful garment, wonderful use of the old fur - and the box latch - perfect! - and such a fun and informative review to read!
1/22/07 10:45 AM
joan said...
Wow, everyone has used all my experlitives, so I will just say it is stunning and you look stunning in it. Will you come and hold my hand while I try to use a fur jacket I inherited??
1/22/07 11:02 AM
Karen said...
Your vest is fabulous, and looks fantastic on you. Nice work.
1/22/07 11:54 AM
SueV said...
beautiful, great review. thanks for sharing!!
1/22/07 12:06 PM
Avril said...
I love it. Great designing.
1/22/07 12:37 PM
Markie1 said...
Thank you for you amazing review, your vest is brilliant, from the gorgeoous leather to the amazing hardware. I am inspired!
1/22/07 1:48 PM
Lee-Lee said...
Wow!! You rock!
1/22/07 2:16 PM
Kathi R said...
Wow -- what a great project....thanks for sharing with us.
1/22/07 6:32 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous! Thanks for telling us how you created this beautiful vest. Love the way you reused the fur.
1/22/07 7:44 PM
jewelea said...
This is definitely one of the most impressive creations I've seen on Pattern Review! And a very informative review as well.
1/22/07 10:58 PM
PearlGirl said...
this is AMAZING!! So beautiful and well constructed. Yuu did a great job in choosing your materials - so inspiring and great details about your construction methods...thank you!!!
1/23/07 1:01 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
I am speechless. But I do have to ask, you will be entering this in the Designer Knock-Off contest, won't you?
1/23/07 3:55 PM
mistrydesigns said...
Too beautiful for words.
1/23/07 4:57 PM
Melody said...
AMAZING!!!
1/23/07 8:20 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
YOU are SOOOO GOOOOD!!!!! It looks pretty d... great! :-) good review, thanks
1/23/07 11:22 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great vest, and wonderful workmanship and creativity!
1/24/07 0:12 AM
McKavity said...
Wow! that is absolutely gorgeous!
1/26/07 4:08 PM
cmarie12 said...
I just found this review through a blog's link...this is an amazing vest! A one of a kind wonderful piece of clothing that really triumphs the art of sewing! Fantastic!
2/10/07 3:49 PM
novicesew said...
Wow, this is really impressive. Beautiful vest.
4/3/07 6:41 PM
Toothpickeyes said...
Great review. However, I was disappointed the links for additional pictures, came up as errors.
3/7/10 1:31 PM
Gendun said...
There is nothing wonderful to say about this except that all the praise is true! :) A lovely piece. Any chance of getting the pic links fixed, pls? I'm sure many of us would love to see more! Thanks!
3/23/12 11:10 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. Gorgeous. Looks like a million bucks!
5/29/12 8:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 8/25/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 11/27/09
Read Review

New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6531 Pattern
New Look 6531 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us