SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1409 (Madison Ave Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1333 times 
Reviewed by:Chimene
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Chimenestar
MD USA
Member since: 10/10/03
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/07 1:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fiberlyone said...
The sizing information and the photos were very helpful. And your dress looks great.
3/10/07 7:25 PM
Chimene said...
Thanks so much Lee Ann. I am going to get the tape today!!! I have some Matte Jersey I think I might use. Actually on second thought I just realized I have some I bought in Nov from Judy Barlap. It was sitting in an envelope. Oh boy! Well I don't have to buy it! Haha
1/26/07 4:28 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Hi Chimene, your dress is smashing. I have made this dress twice in matte jersey from Textile studio and love it. Here is a tip for the armholes: serge on some some super-fine fusible bias tape with the sticky side up--then turn under and press, then topstich--it stablizes curves. Go to Judy Barlup's site: Uniquetechniques.com--you can buy the tape there and she has a pictorial tutorial on how to use it called "no gap necklines". Another site to buy this is from Lyla Messinger at LJdesigns (google it and you'll find her). Unless I have a really cooperative firm knit I always use these bias fusibles on armscyes and necklines. I find it easier than clear elastic. HTH and happy sewing!
1/26/07 0:40 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I keep thinking about getting this pattern; I have a stretch velvet that would work great for it. Yours looks great on you.
1/25/07 9:12 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks great on you, very flattering. Back wrinkling may be due to swayback and that is simple adjustment to make. Lovely fabric.
1/24/07 5:33 AM
Chimene said...
Thanks so much for the helpful comments. You all have inspired me to sew it again and try the recommendations for swayback adjustments. The armhole is folded over and topstitched and I believe as I was stitching the fabric twisted. I started at the underarm for that reason and was able to avoid it twisting by the time I got to the top of the shoulder. I will have to practice on another one! Thanks for the flattering comments! You all are a wonderful resource and inspiration!
1/23/07 10:10 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
This is perfect on you, but then, I think you'd look great in almost anything: I'd say you put many models to shame. Thanks for review: wonderful choice of fabric and pattern. By the way, I love the picture of you and the piano and the pattern picture and piano: gave me a good chuckle.
1/23/07 12:38 PM
BeckyC said...
Your dress is so very beautiful on you! The fabric is awesome and I'm totally jealous you went with Peggy fabric shopping in NYC. You've had some excellent suggestions on diagnosing your back wrinkles with swayback. I love how your pic reflects the same stance as the model of the pattern!
1/23/07 7:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
Smashing dress!!! It looks so rich and elegant!
1/23/07 7:35 AM
Sewbe said...
This looks great on you and the fabric is really pretty. I am inspired! Thanks!
1/22/07 10:55 PM
nicegirl said...
Hee! I love that your pic is like the pattern picture! So cute! And I like the dress too. You look great in it.
1/22/07 5:41 PM
Ody said...
This dress is lovely on you and I am jealous that you got to go to NY with Peggy Sagers, who I love. Gorgeous fabric. CarolW has a point about the back. My dd has the same challenge you have, that your waist to hip slope is rather sharp. Pinching out the fabric might work, or putting in a back seam to take more out of that area. The hem---looking at it I think a tip from Cynthia Guffey might work here. She suggests always sewing a seam from large to small with the grain. I realize this is a knit, but if you had sewed it from the top to bottom, it might help. Just some ideas for you. You really did a nice job and I am drooling over the fabric. You have such a gorgeous figure it would be worth tweaking the pattern.
1/22/07 1:20 PM
crisford said...
This looks gorgeous on you! Beautiful fabric! I'm not sure what you mean by the "twist" but you may find that the next fabric behaves differently. anyway.
1/22/07 11:50 AM
Markie1 said...
I think you look amazing. I hope you wear this a lot because you look so good in it. Thanks for the great review.
1/22/07 10:49 AM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful dress. I made this dress last summer and absolutely love it. I had the same problem with the twisting on the sleeve and I also have wrinkles above my behind. I think that's because of the disproportionate ratio between my waist and behind! Your dress looks lovely.
1/22/07 9:48 AM
cindy-lou said...
Okay, this pattern just went to the top of my list. A true stunner. Beautiful work!
1/22/07 8:45 AM
Linda E. said...
beautiful dress love the fabric..
1/22/07 8:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
The dress is beautiful on you, wrinkles and all. Lovely fabric, too.
1/22/07 7:25 AM
carolw said...
The extra fabric at the back makes it looks like you need to do a sway back alteration, the main part of your back is shorter than the pattern and your dressform. You need to pinch out the extra on your pattern before you cut it , FFRP tells you how to do this.
1/22/07 7:18 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow! A total success. Looks like it's not the dress that's twisiting in the armhole, but the binding. Maybe you need to stretch it more in the 'corners'? Maybe you need to incorporate some clear elastic?
1/22/07 5:41 AM
jlg said...
Absolutely gorgeous on you.
1/22/07 5:09 AM
Tany said...
I love your dress! The fabric is gorgeous and you look terrific wearing it!
1/22/07 4:01 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress. It's looks wonderful on you, very flattering!
1/22/07 1:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6038

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now