Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4551 (Fast and Easy) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 747 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:SimsSews
photo
Friend of PR
About SimsSews
TX USA
Member since: 10/27/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/23/07 1:35 AM
Last Updated:1/23/07 1:40 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tany said...
Sorry it didn't work with your dress... I had trouble sewing on this kind of fabric not very long ago... It's not easy to get perfect seams.
1/23/07 4:08 AM
moss said...
well, it's really cute! So I hope you get some use out of it.
1/23/07 8:06 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think it's cute and just think - you learned and perfected two new things, french seams and a rolled hem.
1/23/07 10:19 AM
crisford said...
This looks very cute! I don't think the seam looks bad at all. Think of it as a design feature. You did not mention what color your dress was or why it did not go, but I think your shrug would look great with a black sleeveless dress or tank top.
1/23/07 11:22 AM
Jane S said...
It is frustrating when a sewing project didn't work out as I imagined it. I heard a speaker say one time to think of it as a sewing class you just took and write down what lessons you learned from the experience, don't just toss the garment in frstration. I too think this would look great with a solid color tank dress underneath, however, and think it's a cute little shrug.
1/24/07 6:37 AM
AnneM said...
Well, congratulations on learning how to do French seams. Tha tmakes this top a success, even if you never wear it. Personally I think that this style is very particular and only goes with some things - and you can't always tell in advance!
1/24/07 8:07 AM
SimsSews said...
Thanks for such encouraging comments. It does feel good to have a couple more tricks up my French seamed, narrow roll hemed sleeve. I belive AnneM is right, this garment will only go with certain things, sleevless things in my opinion. I bought this material to go with McCalls 5178, click here to see the finished dress. But I decided not to add the cumberbun of view c, and used this material only for the flower accent. Then the stash reduction contest started and this material was already on my cutting board. It seemed like a good idea at the time. And that's how my French seam class began. Seriously though, I'm not tossing it unless I don't feel comfortable wearing it with tank and spaghettii strap tops, I like something on my arms in public. So it may still fill a niche in my closet after all.
1/24/07 4:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2219
photo
Review by JessicaFer... on 9/23/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-108
photo
Review by Maree P on 1/25/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5626 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5626 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us