SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> Sew U Pants: Built By Wen 

9 more reviews
Viewed 1131 times 
Reviewed by:craftyourclothes
photo

 
 
About craftyourclothesstar
IRELAND
Member since: 1/7/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/23/07 7:17 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
craftyourclothes said...
I actually took them for a "test wear" yesterday and concluded the same thing :-). I also think they need an additional button or a hook closure at the top of the fly- they're fine when I'm standing, but tend to roll over when sitting down. I was afraid when I originally put in the button that if I made the waistband too tight the pants would look too small, but I now see it is causing the pants to wrinkle a bit on top. Also (and this is pretty obvious in retrospect) I think I sewed the button on so the shank is in the middle of the buttonhole, not at the end where it would sit once you had the pants on. I'm making my next pair in stretch twill, so I do wonder how that will change the fit.
1/26/07 6:51 AM
LornaJay said...
It looks like the fly area might sit better if you moved the button on your waistband to make it slightly tighter. Very very nice pants, especially for a first try!
1/26/07 3:05 AM
craftyourclothes said...
Thank you all for the encouraging comments- I feel better about these now that I've had some time to recover from making them :-). Julia- I will have to check out Power Sewing. I've heard it recommended before, but I guess I assumed it was for someone doing a more robust amount of sewing than I. I am definitely interested in making more pants, though (I'm getting ready to move to a colder climate). I've actually got a khaki stretch twill already bought, I just need to decide what to make :-).
1/24/07 4:44 PM
JuliaS said...
These look so great, especially for your first pair of pants! I have been slightly obsessed lately with making pants so this may be more info than you want. :) I have _Sew U_ and really like it for all the pocket ideas and design inspiration. I haven't made the pants yet so I can't vouch the pattern, but I do agree that the directions aren't great. I really recommend finding a copy of _Power Sewing_ by Sandra Betzina for directions on how to construct pants. Her fly directions are awesome and her general pants construction methods is great. I feel like this book has really improved how my pants look.
1/24/07 11:18 AM
krystalkaes said...
Congratulations on your first pair of pants. I agree. . .you are a natural.
1/24/07 11:15 AM
thaiyal said...
The pants look great!!! And yes, you're a natural.
1/24/07 8:16 AM
AnneM said...
Pants aren't as easy as some other items, so you should be pleased. Too bad you didn't feel the directions were clearer, but perhaps with a little clarification you will be more comfortable with them next time around.
1/24/07 7:47 AM
popoagiesmiles said...
Good first effort. Although you're not satisfied, most people would be amazed that you made them. Keep practicing and ask for advice here with the problems you're having. People are very willing to help.
1/23/07 9:08 PM
Levone said...
I agree....these pants look great on you. You did a wonderful job with these being your first pair of pants.
1/23/07 8:03 PM
Lou. said...
This is your first pair of pants? They're fab, you've got a natural talent!
1/23/07 7:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2006-104

photo
by: Lori V

Review
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now