SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1022 (60s style coat)

Viewed 1184 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/07 11:31 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenniferBee said...
Very unusual coat, looks really good. Thanks for the topstitching tip it makes it stand out well.
1/29/07 0:18 AM
gaz-mom said...
that is stunning!
1/29/07 0:42 AM
Tany said...
Stunning indeed! You did a wonderful work!
1/29/07 4:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking coat. Another challenge successfully completed.
1/29/07 5:24 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I think the coat is stunning. You have done a great job (as usual)!
1/29/07 5:40 AM
Marji said...
This looks great. I love how you solved the front closure button dilemma. Thanks for all the info.
1/29/07 6:25 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Another beautiful piece by you. Thanks for the comprehensive summary of your process.
1/29/07 6:43 AM
BeckyC said...
Your coat is beautiful! The velvet collar and the buttons are beautiful on the camel colored fabric. Great review and tips!
1/29/07 7:56 AM
Em's Summer said...
That is a wonderful coat!
1/29/07 8:46 AM
Kay Y said...
It seems this pattern was not up to Marfy's usual high standard, but nevertheless you have made another stand-out coat. I think your solution for the "frog" trim on the front is perfect since it echoes the topstitching on the back seams.
1/29/07 8:48 AM
2muchfabric said...
Wow-- Your coat is absolutely gorgeous! Your tab solution to the pouffy hem creates such charming detail. Thanks for another inspiring review.
1/29/07 8:56 AM
carolynw said...
Well done Debra - very professional work as usual. You never fail to inspire me!!
1/29/07 8:57 AM
washer_woman said...
Just beautiful, Debra! I really like the way you made the buttonholes - very clever!
1/29/07 9:37 AM
Lisette said...
Wonderful coat and review.
1/29/07 9:37 AM
slanden99 said...
Very impressive--especially without instructions
1/29/07 10:10 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous coat. I loved reading your review and the process that you went though to create this.
1/29/07 10:11 AM
Nancy K said...
Another great project. How about a picture on you?
1/29/07 10:18 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Beautiful!
1/29/07 11:16 AM
OP Gal said...
Once again, another beautiful professional-looking garment. I love all the details. Kudos for figuring out all the instructions they don't give. Thanks for another wonderfully detailed review.
1/29/07 11:24 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely coat and great review. It vaguely reminds me of Jackie Kennedy's inauguration coat.
1/29/07 11:26 AM
PhyllisC said...
Boy I love Marfy coats - this is fabulous!
1/29/07 12:19 PM
nicegirl said...
That is definitely a "uniquely attractive coat," as you say! Fantastic job.
1/29/07 1:46 PM
Lori V said...
Stunning coat, love the details.
1/29/07 3:30 PM
jnamcd said...
Beautiful! I love the velvet collar!
1/29/07 4:13 PM
Jan B. said...
Gorgeous coat and terrific problem-solving solutions. A wonderful review--be proud.
1/29/07 5:17 PM
Heatherrique said...
Debra, what a beautiful coat! I always like your interpretation of the pattern - they are always better than what's pictured!
1/29/07 8:10 PM
Ciclista said...
Debra - as always an incredible garment. What did the pattern have instead of the horizontal seam at the button line for the button openings?
1/29/07 10:49 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Debra, this is so beautiful. Have you worn it yet? I would love to see a picture of you wearing it.
1/29/07 11:33 PM
Debra H said...
The pattern was unclear about what it intended for the closures....it showed where buttons would be placed but nothing to indicate buttonholes. Just the word "frog" stamped on the pattern piece.
1/30/07 3:49 PM
cathy45 said...
Exquisite! applause--applause
2/1/07 10:19 PM
Liana said...
How did I miss this review? It looks very nice, and I like your button solution. I've seen frogs like this. They're a long tube of fabric, shaped as shown in the drawing, with a loop at each end. One button is the actual closure, and the other is just for symmetry.
2/5/07 1:31 AM
JaneH said...
I love the detail of the coat. You did a fantastic job!!
2/7/07 12:03 PM
Marie Norway said...
Thank you so much for interesting views on the coat. I have just ordered the pattern myself. Do you think the fullness would work better with another fabric?
8/5/07 7:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1205

photo
by: Ellenatlga

Review