SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4386 (Misses Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 9411 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/07 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 64 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
deeamb007 said...
Excellent
4/4/13 1:24 PM
Christine B said...
Thanks for the detailed review - I'm about to embark on a sheath dress, converting it from unlined to lined, and your construction methods are exactly what I'm looking for - I'm printing them out and putting them with my pattern for future reference!
8/23/10 3:23 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks so much for this review!! I am about to make Butterick 5147 which is similar (I hope!) to your dress. Thanks so much for the great pictures inside. I was trying to figure out how to make without all the handsewing.
1/6/08 10:11 PM
Sewphie said...
Dresses are wonderful, and your techniques make a lot of sense. Since you're using the china silk lining as a facing, do you find that it supports the neck and the armsceyes enough without using an additional facing, or do you sandwich a facing in between the lining and the fashion fabric?
10/4/07 8:04 PM
Lynngray said...
Very nice. I use to wear this style alot also. Looks great on you. I agree Jackie O would be proud Thanks for the great review
9/22/07 8:04 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful dresses, and so classic.
8/26/07 6:04 AM
Liana said...
Darling dresses, and a great review! Love the floral print, especially.
2/1/07 11:06 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful dresses (my fav is the white with the front floral spray), and wonderfully helpful tips for the lining, etc. Very well done!
2/1/07 10:18 AM
jewelsfashions said...
Thanks for the review! I have started my muslin on a sheath dress from Mc Calls. I will be looking back at this review for hints as I keep proceeding with mine. Thanks.
2/1/07 9:41 AM
Kitty Couture said...
What a fabulous dress, it fits you perfectly.
2/1/07 8:44 AM
Nancy K said...
What a wonderful review. That technique is also in Claire Schaeffer's Sewing Secrets book and it really makes a proffessional looking finish as it does on your dresses. Having a good library of sewing books makes sewing so much easier and gets better results. I have always thought that sewing those easy patterns using the patterns instructions ensures a loving hands at home look!
2/1/07 8:23 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your dress is beautiful! Thanks for all of the very helpful info! I have learned a lot from your review.
2/1/07 8:12 AM
AnneM said...
Great classic style. I like how the pattern gives various sleeve options. I might have to get this. (Love your white print version.)
2/1/07 7:55 AM
ryan's mom said...
Looks terrific and what a beautiful fit!!!
2/1/07 6:53 AM
Larkin said...
Marji, thank-you for such a great review. I've got several sheath dresses that I've bought fabric for, but have never tackled. You've inspired me! All 4 are fabulous! I'll come back to this review and the suggestions you make about facings/linings when I finally get there! Congrats!
2/1/07 0:42 AM
Erica B. said...
Great looking dress Marji!
1/31/07 10:50 PM
suzanrossi said...
I really enjoyed reading your review - the results are beautiful.
1/31/07 10:19 PM
Linda E. said...
love the dresses and you review is excellent
1/31/07 10:18 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for a very informative review. I took have bookmarked this. Beautiful dresses!
1/31/07 9:54 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Marji, this is fantastic!! I have been doing facings the old fashioned way - I am tempted to leave work this instance and go home and make one up your way. thanks so much. Oh, and your dresses are all lovely :)))
1/31/07 9:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your review is a mini-class on how to make a lined sheath! I've bookmarked it for future reference. I love all of your dresses, but especially the liberty silk.
1/31/07 8:16 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What a perfect dress. The fit, the details, the fabric, the color. I'm simply green with envy.
1/31/07 7:48 PM
blue mooney said...
This is a great dress on you, and thanks for a super informative review!
1/31/07 5:56 PM
Linda G said...
the review was great and educational....the dress is something I wish I had and I just bought a threads pattern similar..now I must sew...instead of looking at the internet to see what everybody else has sewn...so much fun but can really take me away from sewing oh well I really am not running naked!
1/31/07 5:37 PM
Riordan said...
The fit is wonderful, and the dresses are beautiful. Thanks for the helpful information!
1/31/07 5:24 PM
cecelia said...
Beautiful dresses, and thanks for the tips and all the photos.
1/31/07 3:53 PM
Peggy L said...
They are all beautiful! Very helpful review.
1/31/07 3:46 PM
Tany said...
Perfect, your fit is impecable!
1/31/07 3:27 PM
Levone said...
Lovely dresses.....I loved all of your versions.
1/31/07 2:27 PM
cindy-lou said...
Marji-- thanks for the very educational review! I've made lined kids' jumpers this way and the zipper is still a little baffling, but you've given me hope. I will bookmark your page and try this later in the spring!
1/31/07 2:18 PM
jjwalker said...
I absolutely ADORE the fabrics you used! And the lining looks gorgeous, too. I'm a little JKO obsessed, so of course I love this dress...all you need now is a little pillbox hat and some white kid gloves!
1/31/07 2:10 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Beautiful fit! Jackie O would be proud.
1/31/07 2:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 3, No. 14

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
McCall's 5273

photo
by: lovenicky

Review