Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4386 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 9189 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 64 people   
Reviewed by:Marji
photo
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/07 1:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pinkytoo said...
Beautiful fit! Jackie O would be proud.
1/31/07 2:01 PM
jjwalker said...
I absolutely ADORE the fabrics you used! And the lining looks gorgeous, too. I'm a little JKO obsessed, so of course I love this dress...all you need now is a little pillbox hat and some white kid gloves!
1/31/07 2:10 PM
cindy-lou said...
Marji-- thanks for the very educational review! I've made lined kids' jumpers this way and the zipper is still a little baffling, but you've given me hope. I will bookmark your page and try this later in the spring!
1/31/07 2:18 PM
Levone said...
Lovely dresses.....I loved all of your versions.
1/31/07 2:27 PM
Tany said...
Perfect, your fit is impecable!
1/31/07 3:27 PM
Peggy L said...
They are all beautiful! Very helpful review.
1/31/07 3:46 PM
cecelia said...
Beautiful dresses, and thanks for the tips and all the photos.
1/31/07 3:53 PM
Riordan said...
The fit is wonderful, and the dresses are beautiful. Thanks for the helpful information!
1/31/07 5:24 PM
Linda G said...
the review was great and educational....the dress is something I wish I had and I just bought a threads pattern similar..now I must sew...instead of looking at the internet to see what everybody else has sewn...so much fun but can really take me away from sewing oh well I really am not running naked!
1/31/07 5:37 PM
blue mooney said...
This is a great dress on you, and thanks for a super informative review!
1/31/07 5:56 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What a perfect dress. The fit, the details, the fabric, the color. I'm simply green with envy.
1/31/07 7:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your review is a mini-class on how to make a lined sheath! I've bookmarked it for future reference. I love all of your dresses, but especially the liberty silk.
1/31/07 8:16 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Marji, this is fantastic!! I have been doing facings the old fashioned way - I am tempted to leave work this instance and go home and make one up your way. thanks so much. Oh, and your dresses are all lovely :)))
1/31/07 9:10 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for a very informative review. I took have bookmarked this. Beautiful dresses!
1/31/07 9:54 PM
Linda E. said...
love the dresses and you review is excellent
1/31/07 10:18 PM
suzanrossi said...
I really enjoyed reading your review - the results are beautiful.
1/31/07 10:19 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking dress Marji!
1/31/07 10:50 PM
Larkin said...
Marji, thank-you for such a great review. I've got several sheath dresses that I've bought fabric for, but have never tackled. You've inspired me! All 4 are fabulous! I'll come back to this review and the suggestions you make about facings/linings when I finally get there! Congrats!
2/1/07 0:42 AM
ryan's mom said...
Looks terrific and what a beautiful fit!!!
2/1/07 6:53 AM
AnneM said...
Great classic style. I like how the pattern gives various sleeve options. I might have to get this. (Love your white print version.)
2/1/07 7:55 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your dress is beautiful! Thanks for all of the very helpful info! I have learned a lot from your review.
2/1/07 8:12 AM
Nancy K said...
What a wonderful review. That technique is also in Claire Schaeffer's Sewing Secrets book and it really makes a proffessional looking finish as it does on your dresses. Having a good library of sewing books makes sewing so much easier and gets better results. I have always thought that sewing those easy patterns using the patterns instructions ensures a loving hands at home look!
2/1/07 8:23 AM
Kitty Couture said...
What a fabulous dress, it fits you perfectly.
2/1/07 8:44 AM
jewelsfashions said...
Thanks for the review! I have started my muslin on a sheath dress from Mc Calls. I will be looking back at this review for hints as I keep proceeding with mine. Thanks.
2/1/07 9:41 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful dresses (my fav is the white with the front floral spray), and wonderfully helpful tips for the lining, etc. Very well done!
2/1/07 10:18 AM
Liana said...
Darling dresses, and a great review! Love the floral print, especially.
2/1/07 11:06 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful dresses, and so classic.
8/26/07 6:04 AM
Lynngray said...
Very nice. I use to wear this style alot also. Looks great on you. I agree Jackie O would be proud Thanks for the great review
9/22/07 8:04 PM
Sewphie said...
Dresses are wonderful, and your techniques make a lot of sense. Since you're using the china silk lining as a facing, do you find that it supports the neck and the armsceyes enough without using an additional facing, or do you sandwich a facing in between the lining and the fashion fabric?
10/4/07 8:04 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks so much for this review!! I am about to make Butterick 5147 which is similar (I hope!) to your dress. Thanks so much for the great pictures inside. I was trying to figure out how to make without all the handsewing.
1/6/08 10:11 PM
Christine B said...
Thanks for the detailed review - I'm about to embark on a sheath dress, converting it from unlined to lined, and your construction methods are exactly what I'm looking for - I'm printing them out and putting them with my pattern for future reference!
8/23/10 3:23 PM
deeamb007 said...
Excellent
4/4/13 1:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8020
photo
Review by CissieW on 11/3/12
Read Review

Burda 7170 Pattern
Burda 7170 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6538 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6538 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-14 Pants
photo
Review by Sandi S on 7/13/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us