Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> AD (Funky Cuffed Culottes)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1055 times 
Reviewed by:ryankckids
photo

 
 
About ryankckidsstar
Member since: 1/3/06
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/07 11:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (4/6/07 11:43 AM) Reply
The end product is very nice, and looks much nicer on your than their stick-figure IMO. But it sounds like another pattern might be easier to have started with! You know, this might work for me - I have thick front legs and skinnier back legs.
Marji said... (2/19/07 7:30 PM) Reply
Sorry they didn't work out, but aren't you glad you know now? I tell my dh and kids re cooking, if you don't get a flop now and then, then it means you aren't expanding your horizons at all. Hopefully your next effort yields really great benefits.
runnerchicki said... (2/19/07 2:56 PM) Reply
I think your pants look great!
Soliel said... (2/19/07 12:30 PM) Reply
You are so right, the illustration makes it look more wide legged. Errrrr....don't like that! That's why I like pictures of real people in the clothes to see how they fit. You did good, though and I am sure learned a lot. Maybe you could widen the legs? That wouldn't be too hard, no?
Nancywin said... (2/19/07 10:22 AM) Reply
Well, from the pictures, these look great on you. I am working on a hot patterns jacket right now and it's giving me fits. I've posted on the help board, but no replies yet. I'm not sure its worth all the extra effort. I've purchased 2 HP pants patterns and now I don't know that I'll even open them. Yours look great though
cindy-lou said... (2/19/07 8:25 AM) Reply
Ya know, these pants ARE great as you made them! But I bet this pattern was based on its fit on a waif-like 'slinky girl' who hasn't eaten in 3 days-- thus the back-waist length. Like you, I have muscular thighs and calves and really dislike when clothes fit like my legs are somehow abnormal. I'd ditch this pattern too-- life's too short. BTW: if you can make these pants, with all the alteration you had to do, then you're NOBODY'S advanced beginner-- give yourself a raise! :)
Angie said... (2/19/07 8:11 AM) Reply
I understand that you were wanting a "swingier" cuff, but the current width with the current length are very flattering on you -- especially with those pumps! I think a wider cuff might take away visual leg length.
JuliaS said... (2/19/07 7:52 AM) Reply
I've spent a good bit of my sewing time in past months on various HP pants and I had similar issues. That back crotch length is SO SHORT! :) I too thought the crotch curve was good, that the straight waistband doesn't work for me, and that I needed quite a bit of tinkering. I've now moved on and am working with a Burda pants pattern, and I have to say that it is a bit more foolproof.
Leora said... (2/19/07 0:28 AM) Reply
Sorry to hear you aren't thrilled with the pattern but you ended up with a nice looking pair of pants from what I can tell :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 9021

photo
by: gabc

Review
Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick SB300

photo
by: susandf

Review
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Pattern Details
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Pattern Details