Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: AD (Funky Cuffed Culottes) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1046 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:ryankckids
photo
About ryankckidsstar
Member since: 1/3/06
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/07 11:34 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Sorry to hear you aren't thrilled with the pattern but you ended up with a nice looking pair of pants from what I can tell :)
2/19/07 0:28 AM
JuliaS said...
I've spent a good bit of my sewing time in past months on various HP pants and I had similar issues. That back crotch length is SO SHORT! :) I too thought the crotch curve was good, that the straight waistband doesn't work for me, and that I needed quite a bit of tinkering. I've now moved on and am working with a Burda pants pattern, and I have to say that it is a bit more foolproof.
2/19/07 7:52 AM
Angie said...
I understand that you were wanting a "swingier" cuff, but the current width with the current length are very flattering on you -- especially with those pumps! I think a wider cuff might take away visual leg length.
2/19/07 8:11 AM
cindy-lou said...
Ya know, these pants ARE great as you made them! But I bet this pattern was based on its fit on a waif-like 'slinky girl' who hasn't eaten in 3 days-- thus the back-waist length. Like you, I have muscular thighs and calves and really dislike when clothes fit like my legs are somehow abnormal. I'd ditch this pattern too-- life's too short. BTW: if you can make these pants, with all the alteration you had to do, then you're NOBODY'S advanced beginner-- give yourself a raise! :)
2/19/07 8:25 AM
Nancywin said...
Well, from the pictures, these look great on you. I am working on a hot patterns jacket right now and it's giving me fits. I've posted on the help board, but no replies yet. I'm not sure its worth all the extra effort. I've purchased 2 HP pants patterns and now I don't know that I'll even open them. Yours look great though
2/19/07 10:22 AM
Soliel said...
You are so right, the illustration makes it look more wide legged. Errrrr....don't like that! That's why I like pictures of real people in the clothes to see how they fit. You did good, though and I am sure learned a lot. Maybe you could widen the legs? That wouldn't be too hard, no?
2/19/07 12:30 PM
runnerchicki said...
I think your pants look great!
2/19/07 2:56 PM
Marji said...
Sorry they didn't work out, but aren't you glad you know now? I tell my dh and kids re cooking, if you don't get a flop now and then, then it means you aren't expanding your horizons at all. Hopefully your next effort yields really great benefits.
2/19/07 7:30 PM
AnneM said...
The end product is very nice, and looks much nicer on your than their stick-figure IMO. But it sounds like another pattern might be easier to have started with! You know, this might work for me - I have thick front legs and skinnier back legs.
4/6/07 11:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Oliver + S OS001TP
photo
Review by Cristinagf on 11/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2896
photo
Review by reethi on 5/18/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2154 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2154 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1360 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1360 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us