SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> AD (Funky Cuffed Culottes)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1047 times 
Reviewed by:ryankckids
photo

 
 
About ryankckidsstar
Member since: 1/3/06
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/07 11:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Sorry to hear you aren't thrilled with the pattern but you ended up with a nice looking pair of pants from what I can tell :)
2/19/07 0:28 AM
JuliaS said...
I've spent a good bit of my sewing time in past months on various HP pants and I had similar issues. That back crotch length is SO SHORT! :) I too thought the crotch curve was good, that the straight waistband doesn't work for me, and that I needed quite a bit of tinkering. I've now moved on and am working with a Burda pants pattern, and I have to say that it is a bit more foolproof.
2/19/07 7:52 AM
Angie said...
I understand that you were wanting a "swingier" cuff, but the current width with the current length are very flattering on you -- especially with those pumps! I think a wider cuff might take away visual leg length.
2/19/07 8:11 AM
cindy-lou said...
Ya know, these pants ARE great as you made them! But I bet this pattern was based on its fit on a waif-like 'slinky girl' who hasn't eaten in 3 days-- thus the back-waist length. Like you, I have muscular thighs and calves and really dislike when clothes fit like my legs are somehow abnormal. I'd ditch this pattern too-- life's too short. BTW: if you can make these pants, with all the alteration you had to do, then you're NOBODY'S advanced beginner-- give yourself a raise! :)
2/19/07 8:25 AM
Nancywin said...
Well, from the pictures, these look great on you. I am working on a hot patterns jacket right now and it's giving me fits. I've posted on the help board, but no replies yet. I'm not sure its worth all the extra effort. I've purchased 2 HP pants patterns and now I don't know that I'll even open them. Yours look great though
2/19/07 10:22 AM
Soliel said...
You are so right, the illustration makes it look more wide legged. Errrrr....don't like that! That's why I like pictures of real people in the clothes to see how they fit. You did good, though and I am sure learned a lot. Maybe you could widen the legs? That wouldn't be too hard, no?
2/19/07 12:30 PM
runnerchicki said...
I think your pants look great!
2/19/07 2:56 PM
Marji said...
Sorry they didn't work out, but aren't you glad you know now? I tell my dh and kids re cooking, if you don't get a flop now and then, then it means you aren't expanding your horizons at all. Hopefully your next effort yields really great benefits.
2/19/07 7:30 PM
AnneM said...
The end product is very nice, and looks much nicer on your than their stick-figure IMO. But it sounds like another pattern might be easier to have started with! You know, this might work for me - I have thick front legs and skinnier back legs.
4/6/07 11:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now