SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2007-140 (Handbag)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/07 9:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathi R said...
Wow - what a bag for $18....I have a taupe skirt waiting to become a bag and I love your pattern....I'll have to find a copy of BWOF. Nice job.
4/7/07 4:45 PM
Diana M said...
Stunning job!
3/25/07 10:46 PM
Dorion said...
Excellent job adapting the pattern to suit the material(s) on hand.
3/4/07 10:06 PM
Karen6790 said...
Megan - the rubber cement was used to hold seams open and flat, since you don't get much of a result from ironing leather. Getting the interfacing to stick was a project! It was also really helpful in making the strap - I spread on the adhesive and folded over the seam allowance and then just top-stitched the two flat straps together.
3/3/07 4:08 PM
MeganJ said...
Great job. I think your added seams give it the detail that piping would have, and much more economical. I would love to know how rubber cement came in to play... Did you rubber cement before you binder clipped it?
3/2/07 3:52 AM
SusiM said...
Thanks for the great review. Very nice bag!
2/28/07 10:48 AM
mrspenguin said...
Wow. What a beautiful job you did!
2/28/07 10:34 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...excellent! I would never even think of making a leather handbag! Good job and good review.
2/28/07 10:34 AM
pterion said...
Wow, I like this bag a lot. Even better that it's a great recycle job. Enjoy Paris!
2/28/07 10:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks fantastic, and the leather looks like it's so soft and buttery! Congrats on getting over your fear of leather, it's great fun to work with!
2/28/07 8:45 AM
librarylady said...
Beautiful. I think I may have to try this too. Thanks for a great review.
2/28/07 8:23 AM
Marji said...
My first reaction was "You made that?" Awesome. Great idea too for learning to sew with leather to use thrift store pants.
2/28/07 8:23 AM
j222b said...
Great, informative review!
2/28/07 8:09 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Beautiful job. I like Burda bags; they seem clever and classy. Becky
2/28/07 7:59 AM
SewSewSew said...
Fantastic - so creative. I never thought of sewing a bag but I'll be having a closer look at this pattern now! The centre seams look great and as though they were always supposed to be there.
2/28/07 4:22 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this is really inspiring! Great recycling job, and I'm envious of the final product. Quick access to the passport is a big plus these days, and you could almost put your shoes in there too :-).
2/28/07 3:38 AM
Patzee said...
Fantastic and fun review! I'm with you on the "piping" thing. Clever of you to salvage that welt pocket (LOL). The bag looks great. Bon voyage!
2/28/07 2:36 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love it.
2/28/07 1:49 AM
SandraB said...
This is so nice. I am inspired to try making this handbag. I have never sewed an handbag before, and I hope mine comes out as nicely as yours.
2/27/07 9:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 4957

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Vogue Patterns 2945

photo
by: Jrhee

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

More Info
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

More Info