SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2007-140 (Handbag)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/07 9:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said...
This is so nice. I am inspired to try making this handbag. I have never sewed an handbag before, and I hope mine comes out as nicely as yours.
2/27/07 9:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love it.
2/28/07 1:49 AM
Patzee said...
Fantastic and fun review! I'm with you on the "piping" thing. Clever of you to salvage that welt pocket (LOL). The bag looks great. Bon voyage!
2/28/07 2:36 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this is really inspiring! Great recycling job, and I'm envious of the final product. Quick access to the passport is a big plus these days, and you could almost put your shoes in there too :-).
2/28/07 3:38 AM
SewSewSew said...
Fantastic - so creative. I never thought of sewing a bag but I'll be having a closer look at this pattern now! The centre seams look great and as though they were always supposed to be there.
2/28/07 4:22 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Beautiful job. I like Burda bags; they seem clever and classy. Becky
2/28/07 7:59 AM
j222b said...
Great, informative review!
2/28/07 8:09 AM
Marji said...
My first reaction was "You made that?" Awesome. Great idea too for learning to sew with leather to use thrift store pants.
2/28/07 8:23 AM
librarylady said...
Beautiful. I think I may have to try this too. Thanks for a great review.
2/28/07 8:23 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks fantastic, and the leather looks like it's so soft and buttery! Congrats on getting over your fear of leather, it's great fun to work with!
2/28/07 8:45 AM
pterion said...
Wow, I like this bag a lot. Even better that it's a great recycle job. Enjoy Paris!
2/28/07 10:24 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...excellent! I would never even think of making a leather handbag! Good job and good review.
2/28/07 10:34 AM
mrspenguin said...
Wow. What a beautiful job you did!
2/28/07 10:34 AM
SusiM said...
Thanks for the great review. Very nice bag!
2/28/07 10:48 AM
MeganJ said...
Great job. I think your added seams give it the detail that piping would have, and much more economical. I would love to know how rubber cement came in to play... Did you rubber cement before you binder clipped it?
3/2/07 3:52 AM
Karen6790 said...
Megan - the rubber cement was used to hold seams open and flat, since you don't get much of a result from ironing leather. Getting the interfacing to stick was a project! It was also really helpful in making the strap - I spread on the adhesive and folded over the seam allowance and then just top-stitched the two flat straps together.
3/3/07 4:08 PM
Dorion said...
Excellent job adapting the pattern to suit the material(s) on hand.
3/4/07 10:06 PM
Diana M said...
Stunning job!
3/25/07 10:46 PM
Kathi R said...
Wow - what a bag for $18....I have a taupe skirt waiting to become a bag and I love your pattern....I'll have to find a copy of BWOF. Nice job.
4/7/07 4:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 5366

photo
by: Holmar

Review
New Look 6150

photo
by: Lori9999

Review
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now