Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2007-140 (Handbag) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1053 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/07 9:00 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said...
This is so nice. I am inspired to try making this handbag. I have never sewed an handbag before, and I hope mine comes out as nicely as yours.
2/27/07 9:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love it.
2/28/07 1:49 AM
Patzee said...
Fantastic and fun review! I'm with you on the "piping" thing. Clever of you to salvage that welt pocket (LOL). The bag looks great. Bon voyage!
2/28/07 2:36 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this is really inspiring! Great recycling job, and I'm envious of the final product. Quick access to the passport is a big plus these days, and you could almost put your shoes in there too :-).
2/28/07 3:38 AM
SewSewSew said...
Fantastic - so creative. I never thought of sewing a bag but I'll be having a closer look at this pattern now! The centre seams look great and as though they were always supposed to be there.
2/28/07 4:22 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Beautiful job. I like Burda bags; they seem clever and classy. Becky
2/28/07 7:59 AM
j222b said...
Great, informative review!
2/28/07 8:09 AM
Marji said...
My first reaction was "You made that?" Awesome. Great idea too for learning to sew with leather to use thrift store pants.
2/28/07 8:23 AM
librarylady said...
Beautiful. I think I may have to try this too. Thanks for a great review.
2/28/07 8:23 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks fantastic, and the leather looks like it's so soft and buttery! Congrats on getting over your fear of leather, it's great fun to work with!
2/28/07 8:45 AM
pterion said...
Wow, I like this bag a lot. Even better that it's a great recycle job. Enjoy Paris!
2/28/07 10:24 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...excellent! I would never even think of making a leather handbag! Good job and good review.
2/28/07 10:34 AM
mrspenguin said...
Wow. What a beautiful job you did!
2/28/07 10:34 AM
SusiM said...
Thanks for the great review. Very nice bag!
2/28/07 10:48 AM
MeganJ said...
Great job. I think your added seams give it the detail that piping would have, and much more economical. I would love to know how rubber cement came in to play... Did you rubber cement before you binder clipped it?
3/2/07 3:52 AM
Karen6790 said...
Megan - the rubber cement was used to hold seams open and flat, since you don't get much of a result from ironing leather. Getting the interfacing to stick was a project! It was also really helpful in making the strap - I spread on the adhesive and folded over the seam allowance and then just top-stitched the two flat straps together.
3/3/07 4:08 PM
Dorion said...
Excellent job adapting the pattern to suit the material(s) on hand.
3/4/07 10:06 PM
Diana M said...
Stunning job!
3/25/07 10:46 PM
Kathi R said...
Wow - what a bag for $18....I have a taupe skirt waiting to become a bag and I love your pattern....I'll have to find a copy of BWOF. Nice job.
4/7/07 4:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 5520 Knight Costume
photo
Review by migander on 11/6/09
Read Review

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other MailOrder705
photo
Review by Andreahg on 7/8/10
Read Review

Burda 7769 Pattern
Burda 7769 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us