SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8193 (Chefs' Hats for Sleeves)

6 more reviews
Viewed 927 times 
Reviewed by:andread
photo

 
 
About andreadstarstar
AZ USA
Member since: 1/30/06
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/07 0:25 AM
Last Updated:2/23/07 0:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
appleC said...
Thanks for reviewing this; I was just wondering which pattern you use. I really like your neckline and sleeve construction, and it seems to fit you perfectly. Beautiful work!
2/23/07 0:42 AM
Leora said...
If you watch 24, this is the same neckline as Marilyn's silky shiny blue blouse, and you are right it looks good. The sleeves... they are so interesting looking that I almost want to make one just for something different. Thanks for your entertaining review!
2/23/07 0:52 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Hmmm. You're right about the chef hat thing. And you make it look a lot better than on the pattern picture. Must be your great fabric choice :-). That was a fairly crisp cotton wasn't it? It'd have to be crips to get the chef thing going, you'd have a fallen souffle if you went drapy :-).
2/23/07 6:05 AM
Hilary said...
Your shirt turned out cute!! It looks better than the pattern cover :o) Great review, too!
2/23/07 8:35 AM
Nancywin said...
I actually think the fabric makes it look young and cute - very RTW. I would have never picked this pattern because it looks too funky on the envelope . You obviously have better vision than I do. Nice job
2/23/07 10:23 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another cute top - you have been sewing like crazy and must have an entire new wardrobe.
2/23/07 10:43 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Cute blouse.
2/23/07 2:04 PM
Markie1 said...
ARe you kidding? It's adorable on you! Don't doubt your choice of fabrics, I was trying to imagine you in the white cotton version, and I just couldn't. Keep on with your cool fabric choices!!!
2/23/07 2:20 PM
Skymom said...
I have this pattern and haven't been able to decide what fabric to use. I LOVE the bright floral version--it's so much fun. I chose the pattern originally because I once saw a fashion director from one of the big magazines wearing a white matelasse jacket that looked a lot like this, and it was really cute. I think silk organza would be pretty cool, too.
2/23/07 3:01 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I really like the neckline on this pattern - and you're right about the chef hat sleeves! Thanks for the fun review!
2/23/07 5:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
I think I made something with similar sleeves back in the eighties. Love it in the print.
2/23/07 9:24 PM
dmoonangel said...
I love your reviews, they are very entertaining. The shirt looks like it came out great!
2/23/07 11:30 PM
OP Gal said...
I think the blouse looks fine with the bright fabric. Good job.
2/24/07 10:37 AM
Sharon M said...
I love this shirt in the print you choose. I too have this pattern and just haven't found the right fabric to make it out of...
2/24/07 7:47 PM
cathy45 said...
I was really intruigued by this top in the pattern books, but was afraid the sleeves would be overwhelming. Your top looks great!
2/27/07 9:50 AM
cathy45 said...

2/27/07 9:50 AM
AnneM said...
Love your description of the pattern. I think it's cute in that fabric. I would be getting those sleeves caught in everything, though!
3/8/07 5:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

New Look 6386

photo
by: julliams

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now