Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8193 (Chefs' Hats for Sleeves) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 927 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:andread
photo
About andreadstarstar
AZ USA
Member since: 1/30/06
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/07 0:25 AM
Last Updated:2/23/07 0:25 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
appleC said...
Thanks for reviewing this; I was just wondering which pattern you use. I really like your neckline and sleeve construction, and it seems to fit you perfectly. Beautiful work!
2/23/07 0:42 AM
Leora said...
If you watch 24, this is the same neckline as Marilyn's silky shiny blue blouse, and you are right it looks good. The sleeves... they are so interesting looking that I almost want to make one just for something different. Thanks for your entertaining review!
2/23/07 0:52 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Hmmm. You're right about the chef hat thing. And you make it look a lot better than on the pattern picture. Must be your great fabric choice :-). That was a fairly crisp cotton wasn't it? It'd have to be crips to get the chef thing going, you'd have a fallen souffle if you went drapy :-).
2/23/07 6:05 AM
Hilary said...
Your shirt turned out cute!! It looks better than the pattern cover :o) Great review, too!
2/23/07 8:35 AM
Nancywin said...
I actually think the fabric makes it look young and cute - very RTW. I would have never picked this pattern because it looks too funky on the envelope . You obviously have better vision than I do. Nice job
2/23/07 10:23 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another cute top - you have been sewing like crazy and must have an entire new wardrobe.
2/23/07 10:43 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Cute blouse.
2/23/07 2:04 PM
Markie1 said...
ARe you kidding? It's adorable on you! Don't doubt your choice of fabrics, I was trying to imagine you in the white cotton version, and I just couldn't. Keep on with your cool fabric choices!!!
2/23/07 2:20 PM
Skymom said...
I have this pattern and haven't been able to decide what fabric to use. I LOVE the bright floral version--it's so much fun. I chose the pattern originally because I once saw a fashion director from one of the big magazines wearing a white matelasse jacket that looked a lot like this, and it was really cute. I think silk organza would be pretty cool, too.
2/23/07 3:01 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I really like the neckline on this pattern - and you're right about the chef hat sleeves! Thanks for the fun review!
2/23/07 5:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
I think I made something with similar sleeves back in the eighties. Love it in the print.
2/23/07 9:24 PM
dmoonangel said...
I love your reviews, they are very entertaining. The shirt looks like it came out great!
2/23/07 11:30 PM
OP Gal said...
I think the blouse looks fine with the bright fabric. Good job.
2/24/07 10:37 AM
Sharon M said...
I love this shirt in the print you choose. I too have this pattern and just haven't found the right fabric to make it out of...
2/24/07 7:47 PM
cathy45 said...
I was really intruigued by this top in the pattern books, but was afraid the sleeves would be overwhelming. Your top looks great!
2/27/07 9:50 AM
cathy45 said...

2/27/07 9:50 AM
AnneM said...
Love your description of the pattern. I think it's cute in that fabric. I would be getting those sleeves caught in everything, though!
3/8/07 5:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2377
photo
Review by Yoggod on 2/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used curtains curtains
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 1/5/10
Read Review

McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us