SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4922 (Valentino Knock-Off)

14 more reviews
Viewed 2877 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/07 10:03 AM
Last Updated:3/18/07 1:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
A great pattern never goes out of style. I photographed a fabulous princess-seamed shirt whilel in Paris last week and was looking for a pattern to use to reproduce it. Between your review and Erica's, I'm convinced. Thanks for all the detailed information and the warning about the shoulder. Can't wait to get started!
5/16/08 4:58 PM
dvazz said...
WOW!
3/20/07 2:21 PM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful blouse, much better than anything you could buy. :o)
3/20/07 3:45 AM
logan said...
Agrre with everyone else. The kind of blouse you see on someone else and envy because you don't have one like it. Well now we can and thanks for showing your beautiful work to us. Will have to give it a try, if the pattern is available, thanks.
3/19/07 2:51 PM
Ciclista said...
What a fantastic use of eyelet - there is so much of it being shown this season. Like the others I hope you don't mind that I will be liberally using your ideas for a shirt of "my own". Thanks so much for a great idea and review!
3/19/07 10:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful blouse!
3/19/07 5:21 AM
blue mooney said...
Mmm-mmm-mmm. A really nice way to use eyelet without going all femme.
3/18/07 8:30 PM
Karen8320 said...
Phyllis, this is just gorgeous! Such a beautiful piece of work. I'm very impressed by your wonderful sewing skills!
3/18/07 7:41 PM
Erica B. said...
That blouse is just beautiful. I think I may have to "knockoff" yours!
3/18/07 7:17 PM
Map said...
I love this and actually have this pattern in my stash I love your blouse. It's beautiful
3/18/07 7:17 PM
AnneM said...
Neat, neat top. Very expensive looking: People will think you went shopping on Newbury Street.
3/18/07 5:02 PM
PattyU said...
I love your shirt. Yours looks so much better than the one mcCall's did for the pattern envelope.
3/18/07 4:10 PM
cecelia said...
What a beautiful shirt--I really like the idea of the eyelet and the lace on the placket. It also looks to me like the model's shirt is a tiny bit big in the shoulders? Great knock-off!
3/18/07 2:37 PM
Georgene said...
Easy to fix that shoulder problem with a tiny pattern revision. Great pattern, great blouse! Thanks for all the details.
3/18/07 2:07 PM
OP Gal said...
Oooo, what a beautiful blouse. Very clever combination of fabrics, and it does look like the Valentino.
3/18/07 1:01 PM
carolynw said...
Oh my - what awonderful job you did - I think I must get thispattern and hope it turns out as beautiful as yours. Terrific knock off!!
3/18/07 10:06 AM
pamici said...
Gorgeous!
3/18/07 9:54 AM
Tiner W said...
I can't stop looking at this--it's so beautiful and perfectly sewn. I actually have some of that eyelet and have put that pattern on my wishlist. Thanks for the inspiration!
3/18/07 8:34 AM
Tany said...
Impeccable sewing! I love your version of this shirt!
3/18/07 7:05 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is great! Your top is beautiful and I have this pattern!! Great review, and I can't wait to get this pattern ready to go.
3/18/07 7:04 AM
Petticoat said...
Very pretty
3/18/07 3:31 AM
PVA said...
It's all been said, but I feel the need to add my $.02! Thanks for a very inspiring review -- your Valentino is absolutely the best! Such a beautiful shirt & so beautifully sewn! I must say, I think you've done an excellent job of melding your blog with this review. I went to the blog & concluded the review is complete & very informative on its own merits & the blog is a great adjunct, very nicely done! Dare I try the pattern? Hmmmmmmm
3/18/07 1:35 AM
Nancywin said...
Excellent - nice version of the Valentino
3/18/07 1:32 AM
MissCelie said...
I love your use of eyelet! What a cool way to add a trendy feature.
3/17/07 11:43 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Ooh, I want this shirt for the Calgary Stampede! There's just the right amount of eyelet, and it would be wonderful with denim and a cowboy hat!
3/17/07 10:09 PM
LindaB said...
Really nice job. I like your version a little better than the Valentino, although that is quite nice too. Beautiful work, lovely details. You Rock!
3/17/07 10:03 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful.
3/17/07 8:41 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I have been wanting to make a shirt similar to this...in fact now I may use this pattern. You did a beautiful job.
3/17/07 4:05 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Oh my!! This is so beautiful and just what I needed to see for inspiration. Thank you so much for such a wonderful review.
3/17/07 1:19 PM
Janice C. said...
What a fabulous shirt - I'd love to see what you will wear with it - and as already said, you modelling it !
3/17/07 12:13 PM
Maychi said...
Wonderful job! The shirt is stunning!
3/17/07 12:07 PM
Kristen said...
I like it far better than the Valentino! Great job!
3/17/07 11:34 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely shirt. Yes, please model it!
3/17/07 11:31 AM
Heatherrique said...
Phyllis, you did a spectacular job! Aren' t you supposed to model this???
3/17/07 11:17 AM
MarthaMcKeon said...
Stunning!
3/17/07 11:13 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Muy fabuloso! You took a pretty shirt pattern and turned it into a stunner!
3/17/07 11:12 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow! What beautiful sewing!
3/17/07 10:57 AM
sewbehind said...
That is very pretty. Great knock off!
3/17/07 10:27 AM
cindy-lou said...
Oh my word, what a beautiful couture-looking blouse! Really beautiful and creative. I love it and hope you don't mind if I steal ideas from it.
3/17/07 10:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 3588

photo
by: Jennifer s...

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now