Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4922 (Valentino Knock-Off) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2874 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/07 10:03 AM
Last Updated:3/18/07 1:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
Oh my word, what a beautiful couture-looking blouse! Really beautiful and creative. I love it and hope you don't mind if I steal ideas from it.
3/17/07 10:24 AM
sewbehind said...
That is very pretty. Great knock off!
3/17/07 10:27 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow! What beautiful sewing!
3/17/07 10:57 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Muy fabuloso! You took a pretty shirt pattern and turned it into a stunner!
3/17/07 11:12 AM
MarthaMcKeon said...
Stunning!
3/17/07 11:13 AM
Heatherrique said...
Phyllis, you did a spectacular job! Aren' t you supposed to model this???
3/17/07 11:17 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely shirt. Yes, please model it!
3/17/07 11:31 AM
Kristen said...
I like it far better than the Valentino! Great job!
3/17/07 11:34 AM
Maychi said...
Wonderful job! The shirt is stunning!
3/17/07 12:07 PM
Janice C. said...
What a fabulous shirt - I'd love to see what you will wear with it - and as already said, you modelling it !
3/17/07 12:13 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Oh my!! This is so beautiful and just what I needed to see for inspiration. Thank you so much for such a wonderful review.
3/17/07 1:19 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I have been wanting to make a shirt similar to this...in fact now I may use this pattern. You did a beautiful job.
3/17/07 4:05 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful.
3/17/07 8:41 PM
LindaB said...
Really nice job. I like your version a little better than the Valentino, although that is quite nice too. Beautiful work, lovely details. You Rock!
3/17/07 10:03 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Ooh, I want this shirt for the Calgary Stampede! There's just the right amount of eyelet, and it would be wonderful with denim and a cowboy hat!
3/17/07 10:09 PM
MissCelie said...
I love your use of eyelet! What a cool way to add a trendy feature.
3/17/07 11:43 PM
Nancywin said...
Excellent - nice version of the Valentino
3/18/07 1:32 AM
PVA said...
It's all been said, but I feel the need to add my $.02! Thanks for a very inspiring review -- your Valentino is absolutely the best! Such a beautiful shirt & so beautifully sewn! I must say, I think you've done an excellent job of melding your blog with this review. I went to the blog & concluded the review is complete & very informative on its own merits & the blog is a great adjunct, very nicely done! Dare I try the pattern? Hmmmmmmm
3/18/07 1:35 AM
Petticoat said...
Very pretty
3/18/07 3:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is great! Your top is beautiful and I have this pattern!! Great review, and I can't wait to get this pattern ready to go.
3/18/07 7:04 AM
Tany said...
Impeccable sewing! I love your version of this shirt!
3/18/07 7:05 AM
Tiner W said...
I can't stop looking at this--it's so beautiful and perfectly sewn. I actually have some of that eyelet and have put that pattern on my wishlist. Thanks for the inspiration!
3/18/07 8:34 AM
pamici said...
Gorgeous!
3/18/07 9:54 AM
carolynw said...
Oh my - what awonderful job you did - I think I must get thispattern and hope it turns out as beautiful as yours. Terrific knock off!!
3/18/07 10:06 AM
OP Gal said...
Oooo, what a beautiful blouse. Very clever combination of fabrics, and it does look like the Valentino.
3/18/07 1:01 PM
Georgene said...
Easy to fix that shoulder problem with a tiny pattern revision. Great pattern, great blouse! Thanks for all the details.
3/18/07 2:07 PM
cecelia said...
What a beautiful shirt--I really like the idea of the eyelet and the lace on the placket. It also looks to me like the model's shirt is a tiny bit big in the shoulders? Great knock-off!
3/18/07 2:37 PM
PattyU said...
I love your shirt. Yours looks so much better than the one mcCall's did for the pattern envelope.
3/18/07 4:10 PM
AnneM said...
Neat, neat top. Very expensive looking: People will think you went shopping on Newbury Street.
3/18/07 5:02 PM
Map said...
I love this and actually have this pattern in my stash I love your blouse. It's beautiful
3/18/07 7:17 PM
Erica B. said...
That blouse is just beautiful. I think I may have to "knockoff" yours!
3/18/07 7:17 PM
Karen8320 said...
Phyllis, this is just gorgeous! Such a beautiful piece of work. I'm very impressed by your wonderful sewing skills!
3/18/07 7:41 PM
blue mooney said...
Mmm-mmm-mmm. A really nice way to use eyelet without going all femme.
3/18/07 8:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful blouse!
3/19/07 5:21 AM
Ciclista said...
What a fantastic use of eyelet - there is so much of it being shown this season. Like the others I hope you don't mind that I will be liberally using your ideas for a shirt of "my own". Thanks so much for a great idea and review!
3/19/07 10:12 AM
logan said...
Agrre with everyone else. The kind of blouse you see on someone else and envy because you don't have one like it. Well now we can and thanks for showing your beautiful work to us. Will have to give it a try, if the pattern is available, thanks.
3/19/07 2:51 PM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful blouse, much better than anything you could buy. :o)
3/20/07 3:45 AM
dvazz said...
WOW!
3/20/07 2:21 PM
Karen6790 said...
A great pattern never goes out of style. I photographed a fabulous princess-seamed shirt whilel in Paris last week and was looking for a pattern to use to reproduce it. Between your review and Erica's, I'm convinced. Thanks for all the detailed information and the warning about the shoulder. Can't wait to get started!
5/16/08 4:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

StyleArc Anita Peasant Blouse
photo
Review by jannw on 5/8/12
Read Review

McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6179 Pattern
New Look 6179 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Australian Smocking & Embroidery Magazine 74-2006-emilee Emilee
photo
Review by solosmocke... on 3/2/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us