Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 282-1006 (2 Seam Twist) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 866 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/07 1:25 PM
Last Updated:3/5/07 1:27 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Very beautiful...you are so talented. I really enjoy your reviews
3/5/07 1:42 PM
Donna H said...
ANOTHER great top. It's so much fun to follow your blog and *watch* you create clothing. Thanks for inspiring.
3/5/07 2:04 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow! What an amazing undertaking. It turned out beautifully, Debbie.
3/5/07 2:37 PM
PVA said...
Another great review for another great top! I love the colors on you & of course the fit looks just perfect. I thank you for all the time & effort sharing all that experience with us. I for one wouldn't really "get it" without both the photos & the directions.
3/5/07 2:38 PM
JenSews2 said...
Great job! Thanks for all the details and even the 'oops' ones. It helps the follow the process for me!
3/5/07 2:56 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WooHoo! Great top and great work!
3/5/07 3:07 PM
AdrienneM said...
What a great top! All 4 (3.9?) of them!
3/5/07 3:40 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for sharing this project, I love your tops. The extra photos really helped to explain the processes, thanks for that.
3/5/07 4:01 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debbie, you sure have perseverance. Well worth it. This top is really cute.
3/5/07 4:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top but you are a bad girl for posting a link to your fabric. :) I don't need more fabric, I don't!
3/5/07 5:41 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I like this one best. That color blocking is slimming in the hip area. Great idea, but how did you get the flower placement so perfectly over your belly button? Just kidding, it only looks like that on the dress form, not even noticeable on you wearing it.
3/5/07 5:45 PM
Marji said...
I've loved watching this develop. Final product is fab. Hoping you are able to make a few more of these now that you have so much into the development of the pattern.
3/5/07 6:05 PM
Linda F said...
Oh my gosh, Debbie, you did it! It is stunning. I love it. Now I have figure out which pattern I can use to morph into something like this. It looks great on you. Tomorrow morning, I am taking a long coffee break and rereading all the steps on your blog. Congratulations!!
3/5/07 7:01 PM
BjP said...
I loved the knitted design on Linda's blog and here it is in fabric! I can attest to the fact that you created a beautiful design since I am that person who received the first two garments. I fell in love with the striped version (even tho it was kinda meh for you!) and with good cause - it's even more beautiful up close and personal! And don't let her fool you, folks......the inside looks great, too!
3/5/07 7:08 PM
suzanrossi said...
Loved this review! You're a stitch. Not to mention, so talented.
3/5/07 7:37 PM
Schnauzer said...
Debbie you're amazing! Always such wonderful reviews and well sewn garments-this top is lovely!
3/5/07 8:10 PM
LorelleD said...
You are very talented. I enjoyed reading this review. Thankyou.
3/6/07 1:09 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This is great. You're such a whizz with the patternmaking software :-). I kind of liked those dark stripes on you, but I have to agree about the back stripe effect :-). Ah well, it's a good thing you're perseverant, that's why you get such great results in the end. Oh, and if you like your twists higher up, give a try to Vogue 2814, where the twist is frankly above the bust...
3/6/07 2:03 AM
Elaray said...
WOW! Great job. Thanks for taking us through the whole process with you. The top looks wonderful on you.
3/6/07 7:44 AM
cecelia said...
You give me hope--it can take a few tries and muslins before one gets it right. I like all 3 tops, but green is definitely a good color for you.
3/6/07 8:20 AM
SewTwin said...
Debbie, I luuuved the striped top.You should be teaching.You don't leave out a detail, and the pics are sooo helpful..Great perseverance.
3/7/07 2:38 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful top! Love your detailed review!!!
3/10/07 8:36 AM
Membear said...
I love your top and thank you for sharing your method with us I would love to have the pattern . Are you selling it??
6/4/07 11:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 4734
photo
Review by candicer on 10/5/07
Read Review

Butterick 5923 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5923 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1929 Pattern ( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 1929 Pattern ( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson 1010
photo
Review by SueV on 5/30/06
Read Review

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us