Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2006-106A (Mock wrapover cocktail dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1663 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/07 9:47 AM
Last Updated:3/14/07 9:52 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riordan said...
The dress is exquisite!! (Your daughter is lovely, too.) Thanks for the details about your design changes.
3/14/07 11:05 AM
krinn said...
wow, I absolutely LOVE that dress. Great job!
3/14/07 11:36 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful! YOur daughter looks fab in this dress and I am impressed with your dressmaking skills!
3/14/07 12:04 PM
Linda G said...
Absolutely beautiful and wonderful construction.
3/14/07 1:20 PM
squirrellypoo said...
that looks fantastic! I've been eyeing up that dress for ages now but never got around to making it (or seeing it actually made up). It looks even better than Burda's! Oh, and FYI, you can buy this pattern off burdamode.com for 2.99 in their Downloads section, too!
3/14/07 1:41 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo Oooo Ooo! That's beautiful! The fabric is divine. Where do I place my order?
3/14/07 2:05 PM
Lynngray said...
Wow, Very pretty daughter and dress
3/14/07 4:17 PM
Zaneta said...
I love it!!! :)
3/14/07 4:53 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Gorgeous dress and daughter! I love the Burda magazine and love pattern reviews of the patterns inside. They always look so complicated and your dress turned out fabulous.
3/14/07 6:25 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress! I can understand about removing all those sequins.
3/14/07 6:52 PM
Tany said...
Just gorgeous! I love this pattern and you did a wonderful job! Thank you for this review!
3/14/07 7:01 PM
blue mooney said...
The way your DD loves this dress says it all!
3/14/07 7:21 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great job and I love your pictures.
3/14/07 7:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
Triple wow and wow again! The action shot shows off the dress and your daughter's pleasure in wearing it better than a posed photo ever could!
3/14/07 8:12 PM
Marji said...
Great dress! When I read all that you have on your plate I wonder, why do we put ourselves under this kind of pressure? Obviously, you perform well under pressure - fabulous results.
3/14/07 10:34 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Gorgeous! I admired this pattern in the November issue and after seeing the dress that you've made, I'm hooked - I'll have to make one up too. I love the fabric. Your dd loves fabulous. Well done.
3/14/07 11:01 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm not sure what's more impressive, this dress, the fact that you made it with all that chaos going on, or the fact that there are more to come! You are a madwoman, and I mean that as a compliment. I remember that fabric from PR weekend - it's perfect for this dress. Your daughter looked lovely.
3/15/07 0:41 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow! What a beautiful dress you made, with exquisite fabric, and your daughter is lovely in it!
3/15/07 1:41 AM
Petticoat said...
Really beautiful. Compliments !
3/15/07 5:07 AM
Monica G said...
The dress is beautiful. I am glad that your DD enjoyed is SO much after the effort you obviously put into the dress.
3/15/07 7:32 AM
cindy-lou said...
A beautiful gown with a beautiful model for it! How great a feeling that must be for you. Congrats!
3/15/07 10:01 AM
krystalkaes said...
Thank you. This pattern is sitting on the back burning so to speak until I have a moment. Your version is very nice. I love the choices you made.
3/15/07 10:39 AM
Erica B. said...
That dress is beautiful!
3/15/07 1:59 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I love this dress! It's so beautiful! Thanks for pointing it out - I will now move this to my 'must sew' list.
3/16/07 8:50 AM
MissCelie said...
Why oh why did I give up my WOF subscription? The dresses are just wonderful!
3/17/07 11:48 PM
yummymummy38 said...
gorgeous fabric, gorgeous dress, lucky daughter to have you make her this! I've just traced this off last week, thanks for the inspiration and review.
3/18/07 9:47 PM
Hilary said...
well, this a wee bit late, but I just had to say what a GORGEOUS dress you've made-that fabric is incredible and perfect for this (I know about the awful sequin thing-only ever sewed on them ONCE, lol). Great review!
1/7/08 2:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-107 Boucle Jacket
photo
Review by Jstarr4250 on 1/20/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5103 Blouses
photo
Review by Cheryl Ree... on 12/5/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1642 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1642 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6939 Pattern( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6939 Pattern( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us