SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2006-106A (Mock wrapover cocktail dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1665 times 
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON Canada
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/07 9:47 AM
Last Updated:3/14/07 9:52 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
well, this a wee bit late, but I just had to say what a GORGEOUS dress you've made-that fabric is incredible and perfect for this (I know about the awful sequin thing-only ever sewed on them ONCE, lol). Great review!
1/7/08 2:54 PM
yummymummy38 said...
gorgeous fabric, gorgeous dress, lucky daughter to have you make her this! I've just traced this off last week, thanks for the inspiration and review.
3/18/07 9:47 PM
MissCelie said...
Why oh why did I give up my WOF subscription? The dresses are just wonderful!
3/17/07 11:48 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I love this dress! It's so beautiful! Thanks for pointing it out - I will now move this to my 'must sew' list.
3/16/07 8:50 AM
Erica B. said...
That dress is beautiful!
3/15/07 1:59 PM
krystalkaes said...
Thank you. This pattern is sitting on the back burning so to speak until I have a moment. Your version is very nice. I love the choices you made.
3/15/07 10:39 AM
cindy-lou said...
A beautiful gown with a beautiful model for it! How great a feeling that must be for you. Congrats!
3/15/07 10:01 AM
Monica G said...
The dress is beautiful. I am glad that your DD enjoyed is SO much after the effort you obviously put into the dress.
3/15/07 7:32 AM
Petticoat said...
Really beautiful. Compliments !
3/15/07 5:07 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow! What a beautiful dress you made, with exquisite fabric, and your daughter is lovely in it!
3/15/07 1:41 AM
Karen6790 said...
I'm not sure what's more impressive, this dress, the fact that you made it with all that chaos going on, or the fact that there are more to come! You are a madwoman, and I mean that as a compliment. I remember that fabric from PR weekend - it's perfect for this dress. Your daughter looked lovely.
3/15/07 0:41 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Gorgeous! I admired this pattern in the November issue and after seeing the dress that you've made, I'm hooked - I'll have to make one up too. I love the fabric. Your dd loves fabulous. Well done.
3/14/07 11:01 PM
Marji said...
Great dress! When I read all that you have on your plate I wonder, why do we put ourselves under this kind of pressure? Obviously, you perform well under pressure - fabulous results.
3/14/07 10:34 PM
CarolynGM said...
Triple wow and wow again! The action shot shows off the dress and your daughter's pleasure in wearing it better than a posed photo ever could!
3/14/07 8:12 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great job and I love your pictures.
3/14/07 7:45 PM
blue mooney said...
The way your DD loves this dress says it all!
3/14/07 7:21 PM
Tany said...
Just gorgeous! I love this pattern and you did a wonderful job! Thank you for this review!
3/14/07 7:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress! I can understand about removing all those sequins.
3/14/07 6:52 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Gorgeous dress and daughter! I love the Burda magazine and love pattern reviews of the patterns inside. They always look so complicated and your dress turned out fabulous.
3/14/07 6:25 PM
Zaneta said...
I love it!!! :)
3/14/07 4:53 PM
Lynngray said...
Wow, Very pretty daughter and dress
3/14/07 4:17 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo Oooo Ooo! That's beautiful! The fabric is divine. Where do I place my order?
3/14/07 2:05 PM
squirrellypoo said...
that looks fantastic! I've been eyeing up that dress for ages now but never got around to making it (or seeing it actually made up). It looks even better than Burda's! Oh, and FYI, you can buy this pattern off burdamode.com for 2.99 in their Downloads section, too!
3/14/07 1:41 PM
Linda G said...
Absolutely beautiful and wonderful construction.
3/14/07 1:20 PM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful! YOur daughter looks fab in this dress and I am impressed with your dressmaking skills!
3/14/07 12:04 PM
krinn said...
wow, I absolutely LOVE that dress. Great job!
3/14/07 11:36 AM
Riordan said...
The dress is exquisite!! (Your daughter is lovely, too.) Thanks for the details about your design changes.
3/14/07 11:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8597

photo
by: Gatorbunny

Review
Ageless Patterns 1036

photo
by: piffle

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now