Online Sewing Class: Restyling with Exposed Zippers
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5198 (Fashion Accessories)

2 more reviews
Viewed 690 times 
Reviewed by:MareeAlison
photo

 
 
About MareeAlisonstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/6/05
Reviews: 14 (patterns: 3)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/07 4:05 AM
Last Updated:3/19/07 5:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kit said... (3/20/07 1:34 AM) Reply
You did a fantastic job! I have been sewing for 40+ years and I made this pattern. Although I liked the finished bag, it was NOT easy and the construction not well designed. YES! Please try to sew some clothing - you'll find it so easy after this project!
MareeAlison said... (3/20/07 0:49 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone for your very nice comments. I thought I'd start my review writing with a bag to get me into the swing of things. Let's see if I can move on to garments reviews now. I tend to sew and wear and not get to the review.
said... (3/19/07 9:38 PM) Reply
Maree - I love your bag and the price!!
Schnauzer said... (3/19/07 8:43 PM) Reply
What a lovely bag Maree! The fabric and style go well together!
Skye said... (3/19/07 5:20 PM) Reply
love the bag , great fabric thanks for the review
LiZ said... (3/19/07 2:59 PM) Reply
Your bag looks great and very stylish.
Deepika said... (3/19/07 1:00 PM) Reply
Love your bag Maree! Can't beat the price too. I don't know why pattern companies make things more complicated than they have too.
hongkongshopper said... (3/19/07 12:23 PM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review! Pretty darn cute bag!
brrmm said... (3/19/07 7:19 AM) Reply
Love it to pieces!! I'm a bag lady and have made a few in my time (try over 30!!) and this is fabulous. Definately looks like a high end designer $200 job to me. Great work.
MareeAlison said... (3/19/07 6:40 AM) Reply
Thanks Lilibet - I'm very pleased with how it turned out. I took a lot of care with it. I'd like to be able to buy some more of the fabric it's so gorgeous. I need to buy some shoes now so I can wear just a plain black outfit with the bag and shoes. The leopard print shoes are all the fashion this winter so it shouldn't be too hard.
Sew4Fun said... (3/19/07 6:35 AM) Reply
Nice bag. Congrats on your first pattern review. :)
Lilibet said... (3/19/07 5:36 AM) Reply
What a great looking bag. Love the leopard print.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 000

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-120

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review