Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5198 (Fashion Accessories)

2 more reviews
Viewed 690 times 
Reviewed by:MareeAlison
photo

 
 
About MareeAlisonstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/6/05
Reviews: 14 (patterns: 3)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/07 4:05 AM
Last Updated:3/19/07 5:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kit said... (3/20/07 1:34 AM) Reply
You did a fantastic job! I have been sewing for 40+ years and I made this pattern. Although I liked the finished bag, it was NOT easy and the construction not well designed. YES! Please try to sew some clothing - you'll find it so easy after this project!
MareeAlison said... (3/20/07 0:49 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone for your very nice comments. I thought I'd start my review writing with a bag to get me into the swing of things. Let's see if I can move on to garments reviews now. I tend to sew and wear and not get to the review.
said... (3/19/07 9:38 PM) Reply
Maree - I love your bag and the price!!
Schnauzer said... (3/19/07 8:43 PM) Reply
What a lovely bag Maree! The fabric and style go well together!
Skye said... (3/19/07 5:20 PM) Reply
love the bag , great fabric thanks for the review
LiZ said... (3/19/07 2:59 PM) Reply
Your bag looks great and very stylish.
Deepika said... (3/19/07 1:00 PM) Reply
Love your bag Maree! Can't beat the price too. I don't know why pattern companies make things more complicated than they have too.
hongkongshopper said... (3/19/07 12:23 PM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review! Pretty darn cute bag!
brrmm said... (3/19/07 7:19 AM) Reply
Love it to pieces!! I'm a bag lady and have made a few in my time (try over 30!!) and this is fabulous. Definately looks like a high end designer $200 job to me. Great work.
MareeAlison said... (3/19/07 6:40 AM) Reply
Thanks Lilibet - I'm very pleased with how it turned out. I took a lot of care with it. I'd like to be able to buy some more of the fabric it's so gorgeous. I need to buy some shoes now so I can wear just a plain black outfit with the bag and shoes. The leopard print shoes are all the fashion this winter so it shouldn't be too hard.
Sew4Fun said... (3/19/07 6:35 AM) Reply
Nice bag. Congrats on your first pattern review. :)
Lilibet said... (3/19/07 5:36 AM) Reply
What a great looking bag. Love the leopard print.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Butterick 5929

photo
by: Jenny80

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 318984-1000

photo
by: StitchyMam...

Review
Runaround Bag Paper Pattern

Runaround Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Pattern Details