Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6582 (60's Retro Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1645 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:piggyannie
photo
About piggyanniestar
TX USA
Member since: 2/21/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/07 1:23 PM
Last Updated:3/19/07 1:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mamacita said...
WOW! this is an amazing job for a beginner. I hope you go forward with more projects and I will be looking for more reviews from you. I have been sewing for 50 years....and you are an inspiration to me this morning, I remember wearing dresses like this in the 60's! You are definitely on your way to sewing up a wonderful wardrobe for yourself!!
3/19/07 2:17 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
What an incredible first project. So springy, such a lovely style. Bravo!! Do tell, in what lovely store was that photo taken?
3/19/07 2:19 PM
Elemenopeo said...
You've done a beautiful job - you must have a wonderful teacher so stick with her to learn all you can and make more beautiful creations.
3/19/07 2:28 PM
Kay Y said...
Your FIRST project??? My goodness, it is very beautiful, fits you perfectly, and is so obviously well made, including matching a floral print - yikes! After 35 or so years of sewing, matching such a print at CB would not strike me as necessary. I look forward to seeing more of your creations.
3/19/07 3:11 PM
julierama said...
Just Lovely!
3/19/07 5:50 PM
FloraNature said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!
3/19/07 6:52 PM
piggyannie said...
to Everyone: thank you for the encouraging comments. I will surely keep on working at my techniques. To answer Leslie's question: I got these fabrics at my teacher's fabrics shop in Plano, TX. The website is www.fabriquefabrics.com. She has some exclusive fabric and lace designs that you can't find anywhere. I think this particular cotton floral Jacquard might not be listed on the webite. However, if you call the shop, just tell them that you saw it on Anne's dress. This fabric is even more beautiful in person. Photos simply do not do justice for it. And it is what kept me going until the finish of the garment. Beautiful fabrics deserve the best attention they can get. :)
3/19/07 7:40 PM
Linda G said...
wow...How beautiful...also like how we could see all pics when we clicked on your little pic at the top of the review.
3/19/07 9:26 PM
Jane S said...
Your dress is fantastic. Bravo to you for putting the effort into making it so lovely. I'm finally learning that beautiful fabric does deserve such good work and effort since you have a custom garment at the end.
3/20/07 7:26 AM
fatbaby said...
You did an excellent job! I also love the fabric and it suits you to a tee! Congratulations! Isn't it fun just working with gorgeous fabric? I am so happy to see young folks sewing as it is not a subject most people your age are interested in.
3/20/07 8:47 AM
AnneM said...
Great job on your dress! Love the neckline. And beautiful belt. Good to know about the issues with the pattern, but you certainly got the best out of it. That is a lovely fabric. And clothing always looks nicer when made from a quality fabric.
3/20/07 9:18 AM
Kelly D. said...
Wait...this is your first sewing project...ever??? You are off to a flying start and your teacher sounds like a treasure. You've made a beautiful dress and given us a great review of the pattern. Thanks and congratulations on a beautiful dress.
3/20/07 1:02 PM
piggyannie said...
You all are so encouraging to a newbie like me. Yes, it is my first project ever. I know it's surprising to most of the people, but I really wanted to make something that I could really use. So I thought I would give it a try. And it worked! i was so happy when everything came together in the end.
3/20/07 4:09 PM
jnamcd said...
Absolutely Gorgeous!
3/21/07 3:58 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful dress. Excellent job for your first project.
3/25/07 8:06 AM
Hilary said...
What a beautiful dress! You look lovely in it, and (imo) it was worth all the effort!
3/28/07 1:30 PM
janella said...
Hi, dress looks wonderful...especially for a first effort! Gold star for you :) So you didn't need to alter the bodice part of the dress with respect to the waist? I only ask because it's a misses pattern and I usually have to use a misses petite..I'm 5ft 3 as well. I usually find the waist ends up too low and the bodice too long.
4/28/07 2:23 AM
piggyannie said...
Hi Janella: thank you for reading my reviews. With this pattern, I did not have to change the position of the waist. the waistline is sitting right above my waist. but if I had positioned my belt to be just 1/2 in higher, it would have looked even better.
4/29/07 10:10 AM
RetroModelSari said...
I have this dress laying cut out at home... It seems a big challenge, but it looks so cute!!! You did a fantastic job!
5/9/07 5:00 AM
VJ_Tex said...
Nice. I'm goint to make this one. Very very nice job.
8/3/07 7:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Kwik Sew 2191
photo
Review by Chris Brya... on 5/14/11
Read Review

Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Young Image Magazine Y1258 Coat Coat
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/23/13
Read Review

Newport Tote
Newport Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6903 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6903 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1620 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1620 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us