SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6582 (60's Retro Dress)

45 more reviews
Viewed 1651 times 
Reviewed by:piggyannie
photo

 
 
About piggyanniestar
TX USA
Member since: 2/21/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/07 1:23 PM
Last Updated:3/19/07 1:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mamacita said...
WOW! this is an amazing job for a beginner. I hope you go forward with more projects and I will be looking for more reviews from you. I have been sewing for 50 years....and you are an inspiration to me this morning, I remember wearing dresses like this in the 60's! You are definitely on your way to sewing up a wonderful wardrobe for yourself!!
3/19/07 2:17 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
What an incredible first project. So springy, such a lovely style. Bravo!! Do tell, in what lovely store was that photo taken?
3/19/07 2:19 PM
Elemenopeo said...
You've done a beautiful job - you must have a wonderful teacher so stick with her to learn all you can and make more beautiful creations.
3/19/07 2:28 PM
Kay Y said...
Your FIRST project??? My goodness, it is very beautiful, fits you perfectly, and is so obviously well made, including matching a floral print - yikes! After 35 or so years of sewing, matching such a print at CB would not strike me as necessary. I look forward to seeing more of your creations.
3/19/07 3:11 PM
julierama said...
Just Lovely!
3/19/07 5:50 PM
FloraNature said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!
3/19/07 6:52 PM
piggyannie said...
to Everyone: thank you for the encouraging comments. I will surely keep on working at my techniques. To answer Leslie's question: I got these fabrics at my teacher's fabrics shop in Plano, TX. The website is www.fabriquefabrics.com. She has some exclusive fabric and lace designs that you can't find anywhere. I think this particular cotton floral Jacquard might not be listed on the webite. However, if you call the shop, just tell them that you saw it on Anne's dress. This fabric is even more beautiful in person. Photos simply do not do justice for it. And it is what kept me going until the finish of the garment. Beautiful fabrics deserve the best attention they can get. :)
3/19/07 7:40 PM
Linda G said...
wow...How beautiful...also like how we could see all pics when we clicked on your little pic at the top of the review.
3/19/07 9:26 PM
Jane S said...
Your dress is fantastic. Bravo to you for putting the effort into making it so lovely. I'm finally learning that beautiful fabric does deserve such good work and effort since you have a custom garment at the end.
3/20/07 7:26 AM
fatbaby said...
You did an excellent job! I also love the fabric and it suits you to a tee! Congratulations! Isn't it fun just working with gorgeous fabric? I am so happy to see young folks sewing as it is not a subject most people your age are interested in.
3/20/07 8:47 AM
AnneM said...
Great job on your dress! Love the neckline. And beautiful belt. Good to know about the issues with the pattern, but you certainly got the best out of it. That is a lovely fabric. And clothing always looks nicer when made from a quality fabric.
3/20/07 9:18 AM
Kelly D. said...
Wait...this is your first sewing project...ever??? You are off to a flying start and your teacher sounds like a treasure. You've made a beautiful dress and given us a great review of the pattern. Thanks and congratulations on a beautiful dress.
3/20/07 1:02 PM
piggyannie said...
You all are so encouraging to a newbie like me. Yes, it is my first project ever. I know it's surprising to most of the people, but I really wanted to make something that I could really use. So I thought I would give it a try. And it worked! i was so happy when everything came together in the end.
3/20/07 4:09 PM
jnamcd said...
Absolutely Gorgeous!
3/21/07 3:58 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful dress. Excellent job for your first project.
3/25/07 8:06 AM
Hilary said...
What a beautiful dress! You look lovely in it, and (imo) it was worth all the effort!
3/28/07 1:30 PM
janella said...
Hi, dress looks wonderful...especially for a first effort! Gold star for you :) So you didn't need to alter the bodice part of the dress with respect to the waist? I only ask because it's a misses pattern and I usually have to use a misses petite..I'm 5ft 3 as well. I usually find the waist ends up too low and the bodice too long.
4/28/07 2:23 AM
piggyannie said...
Hi Janella: thank you for reading my reviews. With this pattern, I did not have to change the position of the waist. the waistline is sitting right above my waist. but if I had positioned my belt to be just 1/2 in higher, it would have looked even better.
4/29/07 10:10 AM
RetroModelSari said...
I have this dress laying cut out at home... It seems a big challenge, but it looks so cute!!! You did a fantastic job!
5/9/07 5:00 AM
VJ_Tex said...
Nice. I'm goint to make this one. Very very nice job.
8/3/07 7:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-118

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Other Moonshine

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now