SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2858 (Original 1944 Design (dress))

9 more reviews
Viewed 1708 times 
Reviewed by:loxosceles
photo

 
 
About loxoscelesstar
Member since: 6/21/06
Reviews written: 4
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/07 5:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristineX said...
Oh yes yes yes!! I love 40's style cherry-print dresses! This is very sexy. The bow-tie is a great touch.
3/22/07 10:07 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love this style and the fabric that you chose is just wonderful!
3/21/07 10:54 AM
Jane S said...
I love seeing these 40s dresses and your looks great. Wonderfully flattering neckline and cute fabric.
3/21/07 7:38 AM
AnneM said...
The neckline did come out very well! It is also my favorite part of this pattern. Nice, modern look with your fabric choice.
3/21/07 6:04 AM
madhatter said...
this is adorable! i love the fabric, it's so cute and is just the perfect choice for this dress.
3/21/07 5:55 AM
Annette1 said...
Thanks for the great review. Your dress is very flattering on you, and I love the print!
3/20/07 6:57 PM
Nancywin said...
Very cute dress - love the fabric. You're right, the neckline is just beautiful! I like your idea of using godets in the skirt. You can either match the fabric of your dress, or go with the bow fabric
3/20/07 6:17 PM
Tany said...
Beautiful!
3/20/07 4:05 PM
maryfrana said...
OOOh this is just fab. I have this pattern and now can't wait to do something with it. The cherry print is just inspired.
3/20/07 1:51 PM
ladybegood said...

3/20/07 1:39 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks so much for the review. I bought this pattern when it first came out, but I too prefer to sew with cotton, so I haven't gotten to it yet. I had the same suspicions about the skirt gathers, so I think I will follow your lead there, and maybe try to omit the waist gathers too.
3/20/07 1:36 PM
nicegirl said...
This looks great! I've looked at that pattern several times but couldn't picture it made up. Now I want!
3/20/07 10:08 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Love the retro dress - and the print works perfect with it.
3/20/07 9:47 AM
julierama said...
I love how this dress came out, well done! I think omitting the skirt rather worked well...i think it gives the dress kind of a 1950's wiggle feel. And the neck line is lovely.
3/20/07 9:46 AM
cindy-lou said...
Great retro dress-- great fabric choice!
3/20/07 9:14 AM
Lynngray said...
Very cute dress. Looks very nice on you also. Thanks for the review
3/20/07 9:02 AM
suzanrossi said...
Beautiful job! Your review is quite interesting as well.
3/20/07 8:39 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You're probably right about the side gathering being more prominent because of the crisper cotton - this vintage dress was meant for rayon. But hey, it looks really good, and going right out and buying this pattern for my stashed rayon :-). Thanks!
3/20/07 8:37 AM
MissCelie said...
I love everything about it including your very cool machine!
3/20/07 8:08 AM
JuliaS said...
Oh, I'm definitely digging your retro dress! So cute... And thank for the great review.
3/20/07 7:46 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. I like the neckline on you.
3/20/07 7:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

More Info