SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2858 (Original 1944 Design (dress))

9 more reviews
Viewed 1707 times 
Reviewed by:loxosceles
photo

 
 
About loxoscelesstar
Member since: 6/21/06
Reviews written: 4
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/07 5:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. I like the neckline on you.
3/20/07 7:28 AM
JuliaS said...
Oh, I'm definitely digging your retro dress! So cute... And thank for the great review.
3/20/07 7:46 AM
MissCelie said...
I love everything about it including your very cool machine!
3/20/07 8:08 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You're probably right about the side gathering being more prominent because of the crisper cotton - this vintage dress was meant for rayon. But hey, it looks really good, and going right out and buying this pattern for my stashed rayon :-). Thanks!
3/20/07 8:37 AM
suzanrossi said...
Beautiful job! Your review is quite interesting as well.
3/20/07 8:39 AM
Lynngray said...
Very cute dress. Looks very nice on you also. Thanks for the review
3/20/07 9:02 AM
cindy-lou said...
Great retro dress-- great fabric choice!
3/20/07 9:14 AM
julierama said...
I love how this dress came out, well done! I think omitting the skirt rather worked well...i think it gives the dress kind of a 1950's wiggle feel. And the neck line is lovely.
3/20/07 9:46 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Love the retro dress - and the print works perfect with it.
3/20/07 9:47 AM
nicegirl said...
This looks great! I've looked at that pattern several times but couldn't picture it made up. Now I want!
3/20/07 10:08 AM
ladybegood said...
Thanks so much for the review. I bought this pattern when it first came out, but I too prefer to sew with cotton, so I haven't gotten to it yet. I had the same suspicions about the skirt gathers, so I think I will follow your lead there, and maybe try to omit the waist gathers too.
3/20/07 1:36 PM
ladybegood said...

3/20/07 1:39 PM
maryfrana said...
OOOh this is just fab. I have this pattern and now can't wait to do something with it. The cherry print is just inspired.
3/20/07 1:51 PM
Tany said...
Beautiful!
3/20/07 4:05 PM
Nancywin said...
Very cute dress - love the fabric. You're right, the neckline is just beautiful! I like your idea of using godets in the skirt. You can either match the fabric of your dress, or go with the bow fabric
3/20/07 6:17 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks for the great review. Your dress is very flattering on you, and I love the print!
3/20/07 6:57 PM
madhatter said...
this is adorable! i love the fabric, it's so cute and is just the perfect choice for this dress.
3/21/07 5:55 AM
AnneM said...
The neckline did come out very well! It is also my favorite part of this pattern. Nice, modern look with your fabric choice.
3/21/07 6:04 AM
Jane S said...
I love seeing these 40s dresses and your looks great. Wonderfully flattering neckline and cute fabric.
3/21/07 7:38 AM
Em's Summer said...
I love this style and the fabric that you chose is just wonderful!
3/21/07 10:54 AM
ChristineX said...
Oh yes yes yes!! I love 40's style cherry-print dresses! This is very sexy. The bow-tie is a great touch.
3/22/07 10:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8426

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Simplicity 2894

photo
by: ccody

Review
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now