Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2858 (Original 1944 Design (dress)) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1707 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:loxosceles
photo
About loxoscelesstar
Member since: 6/21/06
Reviews written: 4
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/07 5:51 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. I like the neckline on you.
3/20/07 7:28 AM
JuliaS said...
Oh, I'm definitely digging your retro dress! So cute... And thank for the great review.
3/20/07 7:46 AM
MissCelie said...
I love everything about it including your very cool machine!
3/20/07 8:08 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You're probably right about the side gathering being more prominent because of the crisper cotton - this vintage dress was meant for rayon. But hey, it looks really good, and going right out and buying this pattern for my stashed rayon :-). Thanks!
3/20/07 8:37 AM
suzanrossi said...
Beautiful job! Your review is quite interesting as well.
3/20/07 8:39 AM
Lynngray said...
Very cute dress. Looks very nice on you also. Thanks for the review
3/20/07 9:02 AM
cindy-lou said...
Great retro dress-- great fabric choice!
3/20/07 9:14 AM
julierama said...
I love how this dress came out, well done! I think omitting the skirt rather worked well...i think it gives the dress kind of a 1950's wiggle feel. And the neck line is lovely.
3/20/07 9:46 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Love the retro dress - and the print works perfect with it.
3/20/07 9:47 AM
nicegirl said...
This looks great! I've looked at that pattern several times but couldn't picture it made up. Now I want!
3/20/07 10:08 AM
ladybegood said...
Thanks so much for the review. I bought this pattern when it first came out, but I too prefer to sew with cotton, so I haven't gotten to it yet. I had the same suspicions about the skirt gathers, so I think I will follow your lead there, and maybe try to omit the waist gathers too.
3/20/07 1:36 PM
ladybegood said...

3/20/07 1:39 PM
maryfrana said...
OOOh this is just fab. I have this pattern and now can't wait to do something with it. The cherry print is just inspired.
3/20/07 1:51 PM
Tany said...
Beautiful!
3/20/07 4:05 PM
Nancywin said...
Very cute dress - love the fabric. You're right, the neckline is just beautiful! I like your idea of using godets in the skirt. You can either match the fabric of your dress, or go with the bow fabric
3/20/07 6:17 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks for the great review. Your dress is very flattering on you, and I love the print!
3/20/07 6:57 PM
madhatter said...
this is adorable! i love the fabric, it's so cute and is just the perfect choice for this dress.
3/21/07 5:55 AM
AnneM said...
The neckline did come out very well! It is also my favorite part of this pattern. Nice, modern look with your fabric choice.
3/21/07 6:04 AM
Jane S said...
I love seeing these 40s dresses and your looks great. Wonderfully flattering neckline and cute fabric.
3/21/07 7:38 AM
Em's Summer said...
I love this style and the fabric that you chose is just wonderful!
3/21/07 10:54 AM
ChristineX said...
Oh yes yes yes!! I love 40's style cherry-print dresses! This is very sexy. The bow-tie is a great touch.
3/22/07 10:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-102
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 1/12/10
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5050
photo
Review by velosewer on 11/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us