SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2966 

12 more reviews
Viewed 972 times 
Reviewed by:Terri Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Smithstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/07 2:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gold said...
You did a lot of hard work and it came out wonderful. Great job.
3/21/07 3:05 PM
Kay Y said...
I think you achieved a really lovely-looking top, despite your trouble with it. Maybe a FBA would make a difference in the front, but I think the back looks like it fits well. Enjoy wearing it!
3/21/07 4:34 PM
JenSews2 said...
Looks pretty, despite your trouble!
3/21/07 5:19 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, charmeuse was probably way too slippery, drapey, everything for this top. You might have been able to improve the darts by curving them a bit, or can't you press them better? Anyway, you should definitely give up when you start doing this many alterations :-)..
3/21/07 5:35 PM
carolynw said...
Terri I have been in the process of making a silk charmeuse blouse and the dart thing was a real problem - I ended up extending the dart over my bust point to try and not look too whatever. The pattern I used is one I had made three blouses from so it was a TNT - I think this silk charmeuse must have a tendency to show off darts in a most unflattering way!! I hope you will stick with this and work it out - expensive material and you have already put a lot of effort into it - revisit after a few days.
3/21/07 6:33 PM
Karen8320 said...
Terri, I understand your frustration about having to address so many issues with this top. However, I think it looks quite lovely and I would even go so far as to say glamorous. Sometimes we are far more critical of our work than others ever are. Thanks for your review. I found it helpful.
3/21/07 7:37 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a beautiful top.
3/21/07 11:18 PM
Jane S said...
I'm sorry that this didn't work out as planned but I'm grateful for your review. I have this pattern on my to sew pile and now have to consider how much effort it may take to make it work.
3/22/07 7:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
Really an excellent review. I've never sewn with silk charmeuse, but now I know to avoid anything with darts! Still, in spite of your troubles, the top is very pretty.
3/22/07 8:37 AM
AnneM said...
Tuck this in the closet for a bit and you will suddenly find it very wearable. Charmeuse can be difficult to work with, and likes unstructured construction. I tend to agree w/ fuzzygalore - if a pattern requires too many alterations, you are better off using a different one as your base.
3/25/07 5:08 PM
KateS said...
Besides the dart issues I think this is a really beautiful top- I can understand why you wanted to use this fabric. Pity the fabric is not as lovely to sew as it is to look at. I will be keeping this in mind if I ever feel like coughing up the money for real silk....
12/1/08 8:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now