Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6732 (Five blouse variations in one) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 900 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:LornaJay
photo
About LornaJaystar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 9/30/06
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/07 4:23 PM
Last Updated:3/25/07 4:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cinnamon_toast said...
The fit is lovely!! Nice job.
3/25/07 9:34 PM
Patzee said...
Excellent review. I truly appreciate learning about the changes you made to fit this top. Maybe the top wasn't drafted to give a better fit. Nice job-- and terrific perseverance!
3/26/07 2:40 AM
LornaJay said...
Thanks for the compliments - it has been a mission getting this to fit, complicated by a body that keeps chainging shape on me!
3/26/07 4:46 AM
SimsSews said...
Looks tailor fitted, great job. My current project had the same "odd bulge" caused by to much fabric in the front piece. My fix was to push the excess fabric into the armschthe then realign the front and back seam. I've lost 50 lbs in the last year, so I've no clothes, and like you, fitting is like trying to hit a moving target. Best wishes and I'd love to see your finalized top in a beautiful fabric. Best wishes.
3/26/07 9:04 AM
Donna H said...
Great job with the fitting. It looks really nice!
3/26/07 10:59 AM
j222b said...
Hope this works for you in non-sheeting fabric. It looks like this blouse (Nordstrom) & I like the necklace the model is wearing with it.
3/26/07 11:18 AM
j222b said...
Here are some thoughts for another pattern. My library copy of Sam Saboura's "Real Style" says if you have a full bust --wear V necks and scoop neck tops (more scoop than this top you're working on)--"these draw vertical or slanted lines down the center of your body, minimizing your bust". Cheers!
3/26/07 12:30 PM
LornaJay said...
Wow, that Nordstrom blouse is a) very expensive and b) in acrylic. I tend to do my catalogue shopping with Next or La Redoute, neither of which move in such stratospheric price points! I agree that a scoop or Vneck will look better, and am trying to find a look which is professional enough to help me avoid unwanted attention in the pub while still being flattering. Perhaps a keyhole neckline?
3/26/07 4:56 PM
j222b said...
A keyhole neckline sounds interesting...so many of those v necks are cut too low anyway (from the many comments on PR...)
3/26/07 7:27 PM
LornaJay said...
I think the low V-neck thing is a US v. Europe different a lot of the time. If you draw a line from underarm to underarm, any neckline above that is unlikely to show any cleavage at all - and I and many of my fellow Europeans see that as a slightly frumpy look. No offence intended!
3/29/07 9:43 AM
CM_Sews said...
Re: Waist Darts: I have a RTW button-down-the-front blouse that fits me wonderfully due to waist darts. It has a total of 8 darts, each one measures 1/4 inch wide (so each removes 1/2 inch of fabric). About 7 inches long, mid-point of the dart at the waist line, 2 under each bust (about 1 1/2 inches apart) and 2 under each shoulder blade (about 2 inches apart). That's 4 inches removed from the waist and a bit of shaping over the hips. Each dart is topstitched right next to the stitching line and is a 1/4 inch fold on the inside of the blouse, tapered at both ends. Best fitting blouse I own. No dart bubbles, either -- each individual dart is very small.
4/1/07 2:34 PM
AnneM said...
I gave up on my New Look top - although I'm not top heavy at all. Maybe some decorative and function vertical darts or pin-tucks under the bust / at the waist? If you don't like a higher v-neck, perhaps one w/ that height but some decorative stitching would un-frump it? (Haven't tried that myself.) (I see that CM_Sews made a similar suggestion.)
4/4/07 1:39 PM
Vintage Joan said...
(Note: This and the other two 6732 reviews by Dr LJN are apparently for a different pattern than the one shown in the NL pattern info. above, which is a buttoned shirt, not a pullover top.)
2/8/08 9:30 PM
LornaJay said...
I think NL have reused the pattern number from an old pattern. It showed the correct pattern when I first posted the review, but now doesn't!
2/24/08 10:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 8328
photo
Review by Natasha B on 8/18/08
Read Review

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6802
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 7/4/10
Read Review

Jalie 2921 Pattern
Jalie 2921 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us