SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2006-121 (Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1015 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 275
Favored by: 122 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/26/07 8:43 PM
Last Updated:3/26/07 8:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristineX said...
The pants look great--they were already on my list of things to make. Thanks for the review!
3/28/07 12:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sizzling pants!
3/28/07 0:53 AM
Nancywin said...
SS - thanks, I'll give it a try!
3/27/07 1:43 PM
cindy-lou said...
Love the pants and the review! Personally, I think these will be great travel-to-Hawaii pants because 1) it's hot there, and 2) all hotels have irons now. If you're camping out, you might have to re-think them; otherwise, pack 'em, baby! BEAUTIFUL WORK!
3/27/07 1:18 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Thanks for a great review..
3/27/07 1:05 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
This looks like a good basic trousers pattern. I might be able to help with the fit. According to the wrinkle chart in the Minott Method book on skirts and pants, the diagonal wrinkles at the back are caused by the inseam being positioned too far out. To address it you should cut the pattern off just above the knee, slide the lower leg inward, and redraw the inseam and outseams. They say this is common for women with wide hips because unless we stand with our legs apart, the line of the fabric must bend inward, creating the lower half of a diamond between our hips and ankles. HTH.
3/27/07 10:42 AM
Nancywin said...
I think this is going to have to be a "practice" travel wardrobe since this fabric is such a bear. It will be perfect for here anyway since it gets so hot in the summer. Our trip to Hawaii is not until December, so I have plenty of time to do it again!
3/27/07 9:43 AM
JuliaS said...
You crack me up! :) I think it's very funny that the fabric you picked for your travel wardrobe wrinkles terribly. So sorry about that! Maybe it would be better suited to staying close to home where the iron lives...
3/27/07 8:19 AM
mochalover said...
Your pants look great. You have inspired me to try this pattern for myself.
3/27/07 6:00 AM
Margie T said...
Great looking pants. Excellent review-thank you.
3/27/07 3:51 AM
RuthieSews said...
The pants look great. Not sure if you really want them in your travel wardrobe if they wrinkle terribly. I try to wash and wear everything for trips before going and anything that crinkles or creases gets left at home.
3/27/07 3:34 AM
ElsaD said...
The pants look very good. Congratulations!
3/27/07 0:30 AM
Kay Romo said...
Just wondering if back crotch part of U needs to be hollowed out?
3/27/07 0:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-135

photo
by: maya47

Review
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now