SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 82600-1002 (Pieced pillow with handwork)

Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:MeganJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MeganJstar
OR USA
Member since: 12/22/06
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/07 2:30 PM
Last Updated:3/30/07 2:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
That is gorgeous!!!
4/1/07 8:47 PM
MeganJ said...
Thank you for the wonderful comments everybody! To do the maple leaves (there are lots at my mom's house), I downloaded a line drwaing of a maple leaf from a clip art website. I traced it onto the dissolvable stabilizer and then pinned it onto the fabric. Every time I started a new line, I started the stitch length at 0, and then beefed it up to 2, then reduced it to 0 at the end of a line. I did this to anchor the stitch without backstitching. Just when I was about to lose it, I finished. When the stabilizer was torn off, seeing the finished product was awesome!!! But... no pictures of the backside, lol! What a tangle.
3/31/07 2:16 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow! Your pillow is beautiful and the freehand stitched design is beautiful. I don't know how you did it! What a lovely present for your mom.
3/31/07 9:06 AM
Diana M said...
Stunning pillow! Wonderful work, and thanks for the great review.
3/30/07 8:38 PM
Linda G said...
They are beautiful...I may have to "copy" your idea, I love the soft colors that you made them from...when I think of wool pillow, I think wintery...but yours could be used all year around...I love them.
3/30/07 8:37 PM
sewbehind said...
That is beautiful. I am rather partial to the maple leaf, being a Canadian. I love what you have done. Your mom will love it too, I am sure.
3/30/07 6:47 PM
j222b said...
Love your work. Who is the designer (other than you).
3/30/07 4:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking pillow. What beautiful handwork in those leaves. Gorgeous and I'm sure it will be loved because it is beautiful and certainly unique.
3/30/07 3:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2584

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now