Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5102 (Retro Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1415 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:KempCorr
photo
About KempCorrstar
Member since: 12/21/06
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 10
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/07 10:22 PM
Last Updated:4/2/07 10:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karine said...
Thanks for all of your comments on this pattern. I've been sitting on it for some time and it's so helpful to hear how it's making up for others. Would love to see your jacket - hope you get your upload.
4/2/07 8:15 AM
seeinspotz said...
Thanks for the thorough review. Your jacket looks great on you!! I think sometimes we over analyze. It is sometimes good to see it through someone elses eyes!!
4/2/07 11:31 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I agree with you about lining a jacket. The lining makes it nicer to put on and take off, and seems to improve the hang. The colour you chose is very practical and likely to get a lot of wear. Nice job.
4/2/07 11:36 PM
rivergum said...
Your suit looks really nice. Very dressy and I would not worry about the wrinkles, I think sewists are paranoid when nobody cares with RTW.
4/3/07 2:25 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This jacket looks very good on you, stop worrying :-). The double-breasted thing just gives it the look of princess lines, which work very well. That said, keep in mind that the original is of very lightweight drapey fabric, say rayon blends, which is partly why linings aren't necessary, they don't stick like wool. And a jacket that was neither interfaced nor lined would feel and act lighter. I totally agree with lining wool, but maybe you should give this a second chance with the fabric and Armani-like construction it was meant to have? You might be happier?
4/3/07 3:40 AM
carolynw said...
Forget the wrinkles you look absolutely smashing in this!!
4/3/07 7:44 AM
dbsewer said...
I really like this on you. It's very classy. I agree about lining, I usually line my LH projects or at least underline. Loes lives in a warm climate and her designs are meant to be very casual slip on and off with little tailoring. These are more instant gratification patterns. Still, I like to line and your outfit looks great.
4/3/07 8:27 AM
SarahWeb said...
You look great! You did a nice job on the suit. As to the concerns you have, such as wide sleeve, I agree with other comments that perhaps the drapier fabrics would behave a little more to your liking for this style. I hear that LH designs her patterns to be used with very drapey fabrics. Maybe it's worth a second try, just to find out. Anyway, in the meantime, enjoy this very classy outfit!
4/3/07 9:09 AM
Hilary said...
Your suit is gorgeous, and very pretty on you!
4/3/07 5:05 PM
Annette1 said...
You know, I didn't even notice any wrinkles, except in your description. :o) I only noticed a very classy lady standing there in a very classy suit! As for the double-breasted style, I think it's very flattering, due to the fact that you don't actually have two rows of buttons running down the front, but just have the graceful drape across the front. This is a keeper!
4/4/07 2:26 AM
cecelia said...
Very attractive "suit." The jacket really looks nice on you, and I hope you'll make it again. Congrats on your wgt. loss!
4/4/07 8:49 AM
AnneM said...
A digital camera is a great sewing tool. I really like your suit. It looks very nice while being a little different - and more feminine - than many other jackets. I think because of this, the double-breasted look works just fine for you.
4/12/07 5:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Burda 7140 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by WinterQuee... on 11/14/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6231
photo
Review by Dellia45 on 1/19/14
Read Review

Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us