SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 408 (Draw String Dress)

Viewed 644 times 
Reviewed by:jeanbluecat
photo

 
 
About jeanbluecatstar
IL USA
Member since: 10/4/05
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/07 11:32 PM
Last Updated:4/5/07 7:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moss said...
I think it looks good on you. Does that pattern company still exist?
4/5/07 8:29 AM
Jane S said...
I get so disappointed when a project doesn't work for my body type, too. Sometimes I go snoop shopping to revive my interest and try on designs just to see what does look good on me at this age. It also helps me do a better job of matching fabric and styles, another one of my downfalls. As a much loved sewing instructor told me, you just ahd a sewing lesson, not a wadder.
4/5/07 8:46 AM
jeanbluecat said...
To moss, yes the company still exists, just google the name and it will take you to where you can order the patterns. They have a lot of traditional girls and women's clothing patterns there.
4/5/07 9:49 AM
Nancywin said...
Nice job. I agree that this may not be the best look for you, (altough it would probably look worse on me) but you may be able to recycle it into something you really love. Sometimes we just have to relish the process and not the product (I seem to have had quite a few of those lately)
4/6/07 3:33 AM
Annette1 said...
As I know only too well, it's the pits when you've looked forward to making something and then don't like the result. But just think: You may end up with your favorite skirt out of the deal. Great idea!
4/10/07 2:07 PM
jeanbluecat said...
I removed the bodice of the dress, recut the skirt into 4 gores and the extra fabric into 2 more gores and made a nice elasitc waist gored skirt that I wore on Easter! Love the skirt and trashed the rest of the dress. Happy happy.:o)
4/11/07 9:13 AM
AnneM said...
The dress is very pretty with your fabric. It might not be the best style for you, but really it looks like a nice summer dress. I expect you will get more wear out of your new skirt, though. Thanks for reviewing the pattern & pattern company.
4/15/07 11:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-114

photo
by: Lena Merri...

Review
McCall's 6606

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now