SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5317 (Easy McCall's)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1264 times 
Reviewed by:rosannec
photo

 
 
About rosannecstar
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/07 2:33 AM
Last Updated:4/6/07 8:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (4/18/07 8:02 PM) Reply
I think most of us have done the stretch-the-wrong-way thing. Congrats on your efforts and learning, and good luck on your future endeavors.
Soliel said... (4/7/07 11:37 AM) Reply
From what I heard about bubble skirts is they can't be too long or too short. If they are too long, they look to sackish. If they are too short they can make one look heavy. I can see it not being easy to find just the right length.
OP Gal said... (4/7/07 11:09 AM) Reply
Oh so sorry you can't wear this dress. It sounds adorable. Thanks for all the information in the review. Very helpful.
Elana said... (4/6/07 12:56 PM) Reply
Thank you for treview . I have this pattern in my stash and it's really helpful to get the idea of the bubble dress. It looks nice on the table though.
Christina Sonja said... (4/6/07 12:31 PM) Reply
Thanks for the reminder about getting the direction of the stretch right. It looks nice though, I hope it fits your friend!
Hilary said... (4/6/07 11:43 AM) Reply
Excellent review! I am so sorry it didn't work out for you, but look at all you learned! I'm trying to look on the bright side :oP (yes I know those horrible stretch stitches you are talking about! I have been there too, and I agree, scissors are the best remedy!) Maybe your friend can wear it or at least you'll be able to reuse the fabric. You saved me from trying this one, so thank you :o) It does look pretty on the table, though!
Hilary said... (4/6/07 11:41 AM) Reply
Excellent review! I am so sorry it didn't work out for you, but look at all you learned! I'm trying to look on the bright side :oP (yes I know those horrible stretch stitches you are talking about! I have been there too, and I agree, scissors are the best remedy!) Maybe your friend can wear it or at least you'll be able to reuse the fabric. You saved me from trying this one, so thank you :o) It does look pretty on the table, though!
Em's Summer said... (4/6/07 10:08 AM) Reply
I'm so sorry it didn't work for you, but since you love the fabric, have you thought about cutting it to blouse length? A top in this style would be great for summer! I think it could work because to make a top, you'd cut the bubble design out, which means you could also cut the lining out. While this dress doesn't fit you, a top sans lining might. If you end giving it to your friend, I hope it fits. Whatever you do, what you made looks great!
carolynw said... (4/6/07 9:19 AM) Reply
Very helpful review and am so sorry it did not work out for you. It is a lovely color red so if your petiute size 0 friend can not wear it please re-cycle for yourself. Good luck!
cinnamon_toast said... (4/6/07 8:04 AM) Reply
Excellent review. Sorry the dress didn't work out for you, though. Oh, I am off to Joann's to see if mine has that knit!!
marjenann said... (4/6/07 6:51 AM) Reply
This is a great review. You have provided lots of great information for all of us. Too bad, with all of your hardwork, you will not have a new dress for the spring. Thanks for you honesty!!!
Nancywin said... (4/6/07 3:05 AM) Reply
Nice review. I have made both of those mistakes before and just today cut a skirt off the bodice rather than ripping the stitched, serged, and stabilized seam. We all learn from these mistakes, and unfortunately, sometimes repeat them. It looks like you did a nice job on the pattern, which seems a little complicated. I hope your friend can use the dress.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

New Look 6823

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Simplicity 2211

photo
by: bennomusik

Review
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Pattern Details